We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$115
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Riedlbauer's Resort(Round Top)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$145
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
B&B Lounge of Catskill(Catskill)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$70
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Catskill Motor Court(Catskill)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$70
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$65
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Red Ranch Motel(Catskill)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$84
Expedia
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Sun View(Tannersville)
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$149
US$145
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Internet
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (207)
Filter reviews
207 results
Traveller rating
110
56
12
14
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
110
56
12
14
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbowling alleyfront porchfamily reunionindoor poolhiking trailsmaple syrupfamily get togetherthree meals a daythe main housegolf coursecatskill mountainsold schoolswimming holeon premisesliving roomeach meallow key
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 207 reviews
Reviewed 23 October 2017 via mobile

It has been several years (early 2000s) since my family’s last stay at Winter Clove. We had been regulars in the 60s and 70s.

There have been some very notable improvements since my last visit. The now have a very nice exercise room in the main house as well as a beautiful intimate bar with fireplace right off of the main house veranda. Meal choices we excellent and well prepared.

But above everything that is new, Winter Clove continues to be a fantastic property with some great walking and hiking trails, beautiful views and countless waterfalls and streams.

This is a great family resort where the younger ones can safely go exploring, the parents can relax and the entire family can play and eat together. The amenities are countless.

It also a romantic setting for couples or friends with several quiet hiking spots and great places for a quite and secluded picnic perhaps with a nice wine.

Great staff and hands on owners. Start a great tradition for your family. Go visit.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
Thank Peahead59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wintercloveinn, Owner at Winter Clove Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2017

Greetings,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your recent stay with us and we are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your time at Winter Clove Inn. Thank you for mentioning some of the improvements we have made since your last visit as we are constantly working to improve our property and ultimately the enjoyment of our guest. We hope you will not wait so long for your next visit to Winter Clove.
Sincerely,
Lenore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2017

We are very happy with the Winter Clove Inn. We (a Norwegian couple in our sixties) are rather picky as for accomodations, and we greatly enjoyed our stay. A large, rather rambling facility full of charm and old-fashioned atmosphere. Just perfect for hiking in the Catskills, all kinds of lovely paths in the woods and on the hill tops. Lot's of outdoor activities, a good swimming pool, a nice and rather rough little nine hole golf course on the property. Friendly and helpful people at the front desk.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Petter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wintercloveinn, Owner at Winter Clove Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

Greetings,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Winter Clove and taking the time to leave a review. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and were able to take in the natural beauty of the Catskills. We hope to see you again soon!
Sincerely,
Lenore Whitcomb

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2017

This is a magical destination.

From the moment I stepped foot into this sweeping estate, I felt at home. I loved the people - warm and friendly and genuinely kind - staff and guests all-around - and I loved the ambiance - warm, cozy, and peaceful - a getaway from the pollution and the mundane, the Winter Clove Inn was like stepping back in time. It hosts spacious rooms with cherry-wood floors and dressers and old-world photographs and paintings; it also has WiFi and a television in a large family room and a piano and a beautiful dining room and many more things than I can remember to include here.


I love the location. It's nested in the hush of green mountaintops. The enveloping landscape invites a lot of hiking, retreating, and recharging. The beauty surrounding and the beauty of the inn itself is so breath-taking and embracing that pictures don't do it justice. Additionally, It affords you the opportunity for several hiking trails on-site, at least two pools (one inside and one outside), an exercise room, bowling, and several nearby activities like horseback riding.

When it was time for me to head home, I was sad to leave. I will certainly look to return as soon as opportunity knocks. A big thank you to everybody - the staff and owners and the guests - of the Winter Clove Inn for making this experience a magical retreat and a paradise.

Room Tip: book two or three weeks in advance to get the best rooms.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Michellr2828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wintercloveinn, Owner at Winter Clove Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2017

Greetings,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at Winter Clove Inn and we are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. We take great pride in being a destination where families and friends can come together to relax and recharge while reconnecting with each other and nature and it sounds like this is exactly what you did.

We hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,
Lenore Whitcomb, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2017

My family has been visiting The Winter Clove Inn year for 37 years and have had a great time each visit. They are constantly adding new touches to make the experience even better, such as a lounge, a work out center and a small store. The setting in the mountains is beautiful, restful and the food is delicious. There is a tennis court, a picturesque golf course, which we walk on just to enjoy the beautiful views when no one is playing, a bowling alley, game room and an indoor and outdoor pool. There are also great hiking trails that start on the property which we hike on every year. Our grown children love it too and return with their families, in fact, our youngest son got married there and we all had a wonderful weekend with all 100 wedding guests. It is the best place for family vacation or just a quiet getaway for 2. We have visited in the spring, summer, fall and winter.

Room Tip: There are no elevators so if stairs are a problem choose the first floor.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank oliviajohn5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wintercloveinn, Owner at Winter Clove Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2017

Greetings,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at Winter Clove Inn and we are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your time with us. We are always amazed to hear how Winter Clove has become a family tradition for so many. Also thank you for pointing out the many additions and renovations we have made over the years as we remain dedicated to constantly improving.

We hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,
Lenore Whitcomb

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2017

My husband, teenaged daughter and I just spent a week at Winter Clove. Our room had a separate attached room for my daughter, which gave us all privacy and room to spread out while still being together. The beds were comfortable, the a/c worked well, and as others have noted there was plenty of water pressure and hot water, even over the weekend when the inn was full. We went hiking during the day for 4 days, and for 3 of them didn't have to drive to the trailhead - many, many trails and options for hikes take off from the grounds. We also spent 2 days playing tourist in the area, with short drives to FDR's home and homes of Hudson Valley School painters. We thoroughly enjoyed the three meals a day (although we weren't always there for lunch). In the evenings we went bowling, or sat out on the front porch soaking in the ambiance (and listened to the live music on Tuesday night). No television or phones in the room - it was a proper get-away! They had a number of amenities we didn't partake of: outdoor and indoor swimming pools, a tennis court, a children's playground, and a volleyball court. The library has a good mix of "summer reading" books. Perhaps most importantly, the Wi-Fi worked really well in the room - you didn't have to go to the lobby for it. There was always hot coffee and ice water in the lobby. The staff were very friendly. Not super-fancy, but very comfortable and relaxing. We had a wonderful time.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Betty T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wintercloveinn, Owner at Winter Clove Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2017

Dear Betty,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your recent stay at Winter Clove Inn and we are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. We are always happy to hear when our guest get outdoors and enjoy our hiking trails and the scenic and historic hudson valley and catskill mountains as these are things we take great pride in as well. We are currently working on many of our trails and adding new ones so we hope you will come back soon and continue to let Winter Clove be your base camp for hiking and exploring the Norther Catskills.

Sincerely,
Lenore Whitcomb, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews