We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Winter Clove Inn
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Red Ranch Motel(Catskill)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Average 3/5
    View Hotel
    Very Good 4/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Reviews (202)
    Filter reviews
    202 results
    Traveller rating
    110
    52
    12
    13
    15
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    110
    52
    12
    13
    15
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewsbowling alleyfront porchindoor poolfamily reunionhiking trailslarge living roomfamily get togetherthe main housethree meals a dayvideo gamesgolf courseold schoolcatskill mountainson premisesswimming holefriendly mannermenu choices
    FilterAll languages
    Updating list...
    10 - 15 of 202 reviews
    Reviewed 7 October 2017

    We are very happy with the Winter Clove Inn. We (a Norwegian couple in our sixties) are rather picky as for accomodations, and we greatly enjoyed our stay. A large, rather rambling facility full of charm and old-fashioned atmosphere. Just perfect for hiking in the Catskills, all kinds of lovely paths in the woods and on the hill tops. Lot's of outdoor activities, a good swimming pool, a nice and rather rough little nine hole golf course on the property. Friendly and helpful people at the front desk.

    • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Service
    Thank Petter H
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Wintercloveinn, Owner at Winter Clove Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

    Greetings,

    Thank you for choosing to stay at Winter Clove and taking the time to leave a review. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and were able to take in the natural beauty of the Catskills. We hope to see you again soon!
    Sincerely,
    Lenore Whitcomb

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 1 September 2017

    This is a magical destination.

    From the moment I stepped foot into this sweeping estate, I felt at home. I loved the people - warm and friendly and genuinely kind - staff and guests all-around - and I loved the ambiance - warm, cozy, and peaceful - a getaway from the pollution and the mundane, the Winter Clove Inn was like stepping back in time. It hosts spacious rooms with cherry-wood floors and dressers and old-world photographs and paintings; it also has WiFi and a television in a large family room and a piano and a beautiful dining room and many more things than I can remember to include here.


    I love the location. It's nested in the hush of green mountaintops. The enveloping landscape invites a lot of hiking, retreating, and recharging. The beauty surrounding and the beauty of the inn itself is so breath-taking and embracing that pictures don't do it justice. Additionally, It affords you the opportunity for several hiking trails on-site, at least two pools (one inside and one outside), an exercise room, bowling, and several nearby activities like horseback riding.

    When it was time for me to head home, I was sad to leave. I will certainly look to return as soon as opportunity knocks. A big thank you to everybody - the staff and owners and the guests - of the Winter Clove Inn for making this experience a magical retreat and a paradise.

    Room Tip: book two or three weeks in advance to get the best rooms.
    • Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    Thank Michellr2828
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Wintercloveinn, Owner at Winter Clove Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2017

    Greetings,

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at Winter Clove Inn and we are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. We take great pride in being a destination where families and friends can come together to relax and recharge while reconnecting with each other and nature and it sounds like this is exactly what you did.

    We hope to see you again soon.

    Sincerely,
    Lenore Whitcomb, Owner

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 25 August 2017

    My family has been visiting The Winter Clove Inn year for 37 years and have had a great time each visit. They are constantly adding new touches to make the experience even better, such as a lounge, a work out center and a small store. The setting in the mountains is beautiful, restful and the food is delicious. There is a tennis court, a picturesque golf course, which we walk on just to enjoy the beautiful views when no one is playing, a bowling alley, game room and an indoor and outdoor pool. There are also great hiking trails that start on the property which we hike on every year. Our grown children love it too and return with their families, in fact, our youngest son got married there and we all had a wonderful weekend with all 100 wedding guests. It is the best place for family vacation or just a quiet getaway for 2. We have visited in the spring, summer, fall and winter.

    Room Tip: There are no elevators so if stairs are a problem choose the first floor.
    • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Service
    Thank oliviajohn5
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Wintercloveinn, Owner at Winter Clove Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2017

    Greetings,

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at Winter Clove Inn and we are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your time with us. We are always amazed to hear how Winter Clove has become a family tradition for so many. Also thank you for pointing out the many additions and renovations we have made over the years as we remain dedicated to constantly improving.

    We hope to see you again soon.

    Sincerely,
    Lenore Whitcomb

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 23 August 2017

    My husband, teenaged daughter and I just spent a week at Winter Clove. Our room had a separate attached room for my daughter, which gave us all privacy and room to spread out while still being together. The beds were comfortable, the a/c worked well, and as others have noted there was plenty of water pressure and hot water, even over the weekend when the inn was full. We went hiking during the day for 4 days, and for 3 of them didn't have to drive to the trailhead - many, many trails and options for hikes take off from the grounds. We also spent 2 days playing tourist in the area, with short drives to FDR's home and homes of Hudson Valley School painters. We thoroughly enjoyed the three meals a day (although we weren't always there for lunch). In the evenings we went bowling, or sat out on the front porch soaking in the ambiance (and listened to the live music on Tuesday night). No television or phones in the room - it was a proper get-away! They had a number of amenities we didn't partake of: outdoor and indoor swimming pools, a tennis court, a children's playground, and a volleyball court. The library has a good mix of "summer reading" books. Perhaps most importantly, the Wi-Fi worked really well in the room - you didn't have to go to the lobby for it. There was always hot coffee and ice water in the lobby. The staff were very friendly. Not super-fancy, but very comfortable and relaxing. We had a wonderful time.

    • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
      • Location
      • Rooms
      • Service
    Thank Betty T
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Wintercloveinn, Owner at Winter Clove Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2017

    Dear Betty,

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your recent stay at Winter Clove Inn and we are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. We are always happy to hear when our guest get outdoors and enjoy our hiking trails and the scenic and historic hudson valley and catskill mountains as these are things we take great pride in as well. We are currently working on many of our trails and adding new ones so we hope you will come back soon and continue to let Winter Clove be your base camp for hiking and exploring the Norther Catskills.

    Sincerely,
    Lenore Whitcomb, Owner

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 22 August 2017

    Looking for a sparkling clean, brand-new hotel with fast WiFi and big-screen TVs in every room? Go somewhere else, this is not for you. This place has been an inn for ~200 years, and if you look carefully in some of the wood floors you will find hand-forged nails. The rooms are old, and some things are not quite square, although it's quite clean. There is a very large porch, with enough room for most of the inn's guests on it at once, which often happens in the evenings. The food is of four-star quality and 3 meals a day are included in the reservation price. (Mealtimes are limited, check the hours.) Winter Clove Inn is in a rural area tucked right next to the base of The Escarpment of the Catskill Mountains. The inn owns a fair bit of wildland and it abuts the official Catskill Windham-Blackhead Range Wilderness Area. On the inn's property and the wilderness area above it are several miles of beautiful trails, enough for several days of exploration. Caution: these are not like Shenandoah National Park's CCC constructed heavily-blazed trails, some are more like good bushwhacking routes through open and mostly easy-to-traverse mature woodland with little underbrush. As with many Catskill trails, be prepared to use your hands and do some rock scrambling at points. Those trails near the inn are well-marked, those further out are not, though the inn has fairly good hike descriptions. No trail map is available, so take your GPS and compass. It's close to other trails for mountain biking or hiking. If it rains, go touristing to nearby historical sites or play pool or use the inn's own bowling alley. If you want a rustic hideaway for hiking and mountain biking, this is the place for you!

    • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
      • Sleep Quality
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Keith C
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Wintercloveinn, Owner at Winter Clove Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2017

    Dear Keith,

    Thank you for your recent stay at Winter Clove Inn and for taking the time to write a review. We are thrilled to hear that you and your family enjoyed your time with us and it sounds like you were able to reconnect with family and nature while taking a break from the hustle of everyday life which is what Winter Clove is all about.

    We hope to see you again soon!

    Sincerely,
    Lenore Whitcomb

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews