We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"GETAWAY"”
Review of Winter Clove Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Winter Clove Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Round Top
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 June 2017

Had a wonderful experience with friends! Winter Clove is a beautiful atmosphere with very friendly people. The food was fabulous and plentiful. The grounds are so well kept I can not wait to visit again and see the beautiful mountains. Winter Clove has plenty of activities for family or you can just take in the views and relax. I would recommend a stay at Winter Clove any Time!
B. Forbes

Room Tip: Main Building
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Bernadette F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wintercloveinn, Owner at Winter Clove Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2017

Hi Bernadette,

We are thrilled to hear that you and your friends enjoyed your stay at Winter Clove Inn and thank you for taking the time to write a review. Winter Clove is a place were family and friends can come together to relax and reconnect while taking in the beautiful mountain scenery and it sounds like that is exactly what you did. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (198)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 198 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2017

Winter Clove is a very old but gracious Catskill Mountain Inn. My husband and I and my sister stayed in separate rooms for 2 nights to be in the area for a high school reunion. Although the physical plant needs some attention - e.g. old, un-insulated windows in some areas, the solarium roof of the indoor pool building - the costs must be astronomical to keep the inn up to code given its age. Rooms and the bathrooms were clean and comfortable. I was afraid the mattress would be too hard, but I slept well, regardless. The in-window air conditioner was in good working order. The plumbing has obviously been updated as water pressure was good and there was an abundance of hot water even during peak times in the morning. In our particular room, the tub mixing valve was tricky to use and could probably use replacement.

The staff were pleasant and accommodating, and the dining staff and kitchen are to be complemented on providing tasty, home-style dining options and excellent service. The public areas of the inn are wonderful with a beautiful front porch and nice old parlor and sitting areas. There are numerous hiking trails on the grounds, and the views of the surrounding Catskill Mtns are gorgeous. Take the small easy to hike to Artists Falls on the Winter Clove grounds; you will be glad you did.

If you are expecting a five star luxury hotel, this is not for you. If you appreciate history, charm and pleasant interactions with staff and other guests, then by all means, book a room.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank We_love_CNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wintercloveinn, Owner at Winter Clove Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2017

Greetings,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of Winter Clove and we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We take great pride in being a place were families can come to relax, reconnect, and take in the beautiful Catskill Mountains and it seems like that is exactly what you did.
As you mentioned Winter Clove is a historic inn and therefore maintenance is never ending. While we have made great strides over the past few years in updating parts of the resort we remain dedicated to constant improvement. The roof in the solarium is certainly one of the areas we intend on updating before this winter and we will look into replacing some of the older faucets as well.
I will be certain to pass your kind words onto our kitchen staff as they work hard to ensure all of our guest have the best vacation possible and compliments are always a welcomed reward.
We hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,
Lenore Whitcomb, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2017

What a beautiful place to visit, from the fabulous food, friendly staff, scenery on the hiking trails and so many fun things to do. This vacation we shared with our friends will be a heartwarming wonderful memory. Cannot wait to re-visit the Winter Clove Inn.

Room Tip: Vacationed with several friends. We all had our own rooms and they were all beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Connie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wintercloveinn, Owner at Winter Clove Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2017

Hi Connie,

We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay at Winter Clove and hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2017

Family get together for the Easter weekend. Great location with plenty to do. Indoor pool, outdoor activities and good food. Third year and have already reserved for next year. Not real fancy but a great place to get away to be with family.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wintercloveinn, Owner at Winter Clove Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2017

Hi John,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at Winter Clove Inn. We are thrilled to hear that you and your family have enjoyed your time spent with us. We take great pride in being a place were families can come to relax, reconnect and have fun together and it sounds like that is exactly what your family did. We look forward to seeing you again.

Sincerely,
Lenore Whitcomb, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2017

This was my first visit in a very long time to Winter Clove. My friends first introduced me to this place when their kids were young. Now I was there for the wedding of their son. 3 generations have visited this place. It's such a nice and relaxing place nicely placed in the Catskills.

The staff is amazing. Every trip I've been they've been like that. It's just a nice getaway.

It's a great place for a wedding. They held it on the golf course with an amazing backdrop view. The place is big enough to hold a large group. Besides the main house, they house another building across the road to accommodate. There's a bowling alley there in the same building.

They also have several hiking trails on the property which I took advantage of a few. Just another enjoyable weekend. I look forward to revisiting yet again in the future.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank QuentB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wintercloveinn, Owner at Winter Clove Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2017

Greetings,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your past stays at Winter Clove. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and more importantly your friend's wedding. We take pride in being a place where you can relax and reconnect with nature, family and friends and it seems like you enjoyed and appreciated those aspects of Winter Clove. We hope there won't be a such a long absence between now and your next visit and look forward to serving you again soon.

Sincerely,
Lenore Whitcomb, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Round Top
17.4 km away
Hotel Vienna
Hotel Vienna
#2 of 7 in Windham
303 reviews
17.9 km away
Albergo Allegria
Albergo Allegria
#1 of 7 in Windham
512 reviews
8.8 km away
Catskill Mountain Lodge
Catskill Mountain Lodge
#1 of 1 in Palenville
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.3 km away
Hunter Inn
Hunter Inn
#3 of 5 in Hunter
129 reviews
19.8 km away
Diamond Mills Hotel
Diamond Mills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Saugerties
174 reviews
0.6 km away
Crystal Brook Resort & Mountain Brauhaus
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Winter Clove Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Winter Clove Inn

Address: Winter Clove Rd, Round Top, NY 12473-0067
Region: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Round Top
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Round Top
Price Range: HK$1,892 - HK$4,058 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on over 300 pristine acres and nestled at the base of North Mountain Winter Clove Inn is an all inclusive family resort offering three delicious meals served daily, indoor/outdoor heated pools, bar/lounge area, bowling alley, 9-hole golf course, miles of hiking trails, waterfalls, fitness center, tennis, basketball, volleyball, and much more. YOU'LL LOVE IT HERE!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Winter Clove Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Winter Clove Hotel Round Top

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing