We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (213)
Filter reviews
213 results
Traveller rating
112
58
12
15
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
112
58
12
15
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bowling alley front porch indoor pool family reunion hiking trails hole golf course three meals a day family get together the main house on premises living room great place for a wedding low key get away volleyball court beautiful waterfall outdoor activities
Filter
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 213 reviews
Reviewed 29 June 2017

Winter Clove is a very old but gracious Catskill Mountain Inn. My husband and I and my sister stayed in separate rooms for 2 nights to be in the area for a high school reunion. Although the physical plant needs some attention - e.g. old, un-insulated windows in some areas, the solarium roof of the indoor pool building - the costs must be astronomical to keep the inn up to code given its age. Rooms and the bathrooms were clean and comfortable. I was afraid the mattress would be too hard, but I slept well, regardless. The in-window air conditioner was in good working order. The plumbing has obviously been updated as water pressure was good and there was an abundance of hot water even during peak times in the morning. In our particular room, the tub mixing valve was tricky to use and could probably use replacement.

The staff were pleasant and accommodating, and the dining staff and kitchen are to be complemented on providing tasty, home-style dining options and excellent service. The public areas of the inn are wonderful with a beautiful front porch and nice old parlor and sitting areas. There are numerous hiking trails on the grounds, and the views of the surrounding Catskill Mtns are gorgeous. Take the small easy to hike to Artists Falls on the Winter Clove grounds; you will be glad you did.

If you are expecting a five star luxury hotel, this is not for you. If you appreciate history, charm and pleasant interactions with staff and other guests, then by all means, book a room.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank We_love_CNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wintercloveinn, Owner at Winter Clove Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2017

Greetings,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of Winter Clove and we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We take great pride in being a place were families can come to relax, reconnect, and take in the beautiful Catskill Mountains and it seems like that is exactly what you did.
As you mentioned Winter Clove is a historic inn and therefore maintenance is never ending. While we have made great strides over the past few years in updating parts of the resort we remain dedicated to constant improvement. The roof in the solarium is certainly one of the areas we intend on updating before this winter and we will look into replacing some of the older faucets as well.
I will be certain to pass your kind words onto our kitchen staff as they work hard to ensure all of our guest have the best vacation possible and compliments are always a welcomed reward.
We hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,
Lenore Whitcomb, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2017

What a beautiful place to visit, from the fabulous food, friendly staff, scenery on the hiking trails and so many fun things to do. This vacation we shared with our friends will be a heartwarming wonderful memory. Cannot wait to re-visit the Winter Clove Inn.

Room Tip: Vacationed with several friends. We all had our own rooms and they were all beautiful.
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Connie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wintercloveinn, Owner at Winter Clove Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2017

Hi Connie,

We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay at Winter Clove and hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2017

Family get together for the Easter weekend. Great location with plenty to do. Indoor pool, outdoor activities and good food. Third year and have already reserved for next year. Not real fancy but a great place to get away to be with family.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wintercloveinn, Owner at Winter Clove Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2017

Hi John,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at Winter Clove Inn. We are thrilled to hear that you and your family have enjoyed your time spent with us. We take great pride in being a place were families can come to relax, reconnect and have fun together and it sounds like that is exactly what your family did. We look forward to seeing you again.

Sincerely,
Lenore Whitcomb, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2017

This was my first visit in a very long time to Winter Clove. My friends first introduced me to this place when their kids were young. Now I was there for the wedding of their son. 3 generations have visited this place. It's such a nice and relaxing place nicely placed in the Catskills.

The staff is amazing. Every trip I've been they've been like that. It's just a nice getaway.

It's a great place for a wedding. They held it on the golf course with an amazing backdrop view. The place is big enough to hold a large group. Besides the main house, they house another building across the road to accommodate. There's a bowling alley there in the same building.

They also have several hiking trails on the property which I took advantage of a few. Just another enjoyable weekend. I look forward to revisiting yet again in the future.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank QuentB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wintercloveinn, Owner at Winter Clove Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2017

Greetings,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your past stays at Winter Clove. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and more importantly your friend's wedding. We take pride in being a place where you can relax and reconnect with nature, family and friends and it seems like you enjoyed and appreciated those aspects of Winter Clove. We hope there won't be a such a long absence between now and your next visit and look forward to serving you again soon.

Sincerely,
Lenore Whitcomb, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2017 via mobile

We were visiting from Queens, NY with an 11 and 7 year old and were looking for a mountain retreat. We enjoyed the relaxed pace at the Inn. We rocked & read on the veranda; sledded down the hills just outside the front door; we roasted marshmallows and star gazed after bowling at night; we swam and played cards and hiked; and some days went off-grounds to go snow tubing and ice skating. You got the feeling that many of the guests were coming for generations and the staff accommodated all requests in a friendly manner. For the price and the pace and the history and the old school charm they deserve 5 stars.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
Thank Gordon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wintercloveinn, Owner at Winter Clove Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2017

Hi Gordon,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and we are thrilled to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay. We take great pride in being a place where families can come to relax and reconnect with each other while having fun and it seems like this is exactly what your family did. We hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,
Lenore Whitcomb, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews