We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (49)
Filter reviews
49 results
Traveller rating
24
15
4
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
24
15
4
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews german beer nice family place to stay hiking trails wiener schnitzel rathaus dancing festival wendy ny weekend brook singer waterfall catskill fireplace
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 49 reviews
Reviewed 22 September 2017 via mobile

Went to the Brauhaus Festival in July. The entertainment was lots of fun. German music and dancing with lots of beer and good food. I didn't stay in the hotel but the bar is amazing, makes you feel like you were in Germany. Can't wait to come back again for next year's festival

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank Chris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph H, Owner at Crystal Brook Resort & Mountain Brauhaus, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2017

Glad you had a great time, we take pride in trying to make everyone's experience enjoyable

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2017 via mobile

We've been there 5 times and will keep coming back . We were just at there 2 weekend festival and are coming back for next weekend . Awesome place and such a nice family . The food is great as is the live music. Wish we would have found this place years ago. Clean reasonable rooms with AC and TV , swimming pool and Jacuzzi and such a friendly accommodating staff .

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Stew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2017 via mobile

Upon arrival, we were so excited to see all the events going on in the music in the background. The children had such an amazing time they didn't want to leave the food was well priced and very delicious that's if we could get the kids out of the pool wonderful and friendly staff truly a gem in the mountain, comfortable and quiet accommodations,can't wait to go again next weekend!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank familyFunNY12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2017

Had planned to stay for two nights at this resort since they were having a 2-day German festival. When we arrived we were taken care of by the owner, a woman who was not friendly at all and who didn't even make eye contact with us. When I asked if she took American Express, her curt answer was "only if I have to". She was definitely a tough type of a person - not at all welcoming. We were given the key and drove the block to our room. The front door of the room faced the exhaust fan of their restaurant and we were going to have to smell the exhaust and look at their soiled mops hanging to dry for two days. Right next to our room were 12 porta-potties they had set up for their festival and the room was 20 feet from the main stage of their festival (she had told us that music would be going to about 1:30am in the morning but no mention that we'd be 20 feet from it). We were already turned off by all of this but when we entered the room we were literally shocked. Filthy, dingy, super old 1960's furniture that was all scratched and chipped, some with giant hunks of wood missing. (The owner later said to me "Sorry you don't appreciate antiques") which left me speechless and laughing. The chairs were soiled, the carpets were filthy and very soiled, even the window A/C was 50 years old. It was disgusting, so we immediately went to the desk and asked if she had anything else. She answered that she did have, but also said, ""you won't like it, since the room I gave you was actually one of our better and newer rooms. That was enough for me and we did received a full refund. I will never go back to stay at this place although they do have a separate restaurant/beer house down the road that is actually very good. Of course we now had no place to stay so we went to the Winterclove Inn right down the road and we got very nice accommodations at a fair price. I'm writing this from the beautiful front porch of the Winterclove and can already highly recommend it. As far as the Crystal Brook resort, however. don't waste a nickel of your money.

Room Tip: My best advice is to stay elsewhere.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank BobM914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph H, Owner at Crystal Brook Resort & Mountain Brauhaus, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2017

I am very sorry you had a bad experience, I will talk to my mother and address the issues, thank you for the feedback. The experience you describe is unlike one any of our other guests have had and I will ensure it is addressed promptly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2017

We didn't stay here but did have Father's Day Dinner here and it was excellent. The atmosphere was just as I remembered when I lived in Germany for 2 years. The food was great except the spatezel I had which was fried . We meet the owner and she was very pleasant and accomdating. You get plenty of food for the money. We would drive here again..took us a little over 2 hours but we enjoyed it that much.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank barbara73146nj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews