We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Winter Clove Inn(Round Top)
Book now, pay at stay
US$240
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Riedlbauer's Resort(Round Top)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$145
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$115
Expedia
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
B&B Lounge of Catskill(Catskill)(Great Value!)
US$70
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Catskill Motor Court(Catskill)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$70
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$65
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Red Ranch Motel(Catskill)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$84
Expedia
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Sun View(Tannersville)
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$149
US$145
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Internet
US$145
US$123
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (45)
Filter reviews
45 results
Traveller rating
21
15
4
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
21
15
4
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgerman beernice familyplace to stayhiking trailsrathausdancingfestivalwendynyweekendsingeraccommodationswaterfallcatskillfireplace
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 45 reviews
Reviewed 20 June 2017

We didn't stay here but did have Father's Day Dinner here and it was excellent. The atmosphere was just as I remembered when I lived in Germany for 2 years. The food was great except the spatezel I had which was fried . We meet the owner and she was very pleasant and accomdating. You get plenty of food for the money. We would drive here again..took us a little over 2 hours but we enjoyed it that much.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank barbara73146nj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2017

A quick historical history on the NY Catskill Mountains; first it's a beautiful country/mountainous area where for over 60 years New Yorkers and NYC dwellers spent their summertime vacations. (now an all year vacation resort area). So, they always, and still do, had the Italian, German, Irish and Jewish "Catskills", all separated by regional town areas. The German Resorts were around Green County, NY and mainly around the Round Top, NY area, as is Crystal Brook Resort & Mountain Bauhaus.
Now, we have been to many of the Catskills Italian and Irish Resorts and here's our first time review of a Catskill German Crystal Brook & Mountain Bauhaus Resort:
GO THERE FOR GREAT FOOD AND ENTERTAINMENT AT A REASONABLE PRICE

• The lodgings at Crystal Brook were super clean and not fancy/modern but very comfortable. We had easy access to Wi-Fi too. The grounds were very comfortable to include a pool, hot tube, volley ball, bocce, etc.
• The meals were awesome, what a surprise at Sunday breakfast, they added a super buffet table of extra foods for our long return trip home.
• The table settings for our dinners were delicately quaint and professional; nice china settings and white tablecloths. And our waiter was very nice and accommodating.
• The main house has a very inviting and warm with a lounge area, fireplaces ,bar and seating for afternoon or dinner lounging or evening fun.
• The Mountain Bauhaus is a separate public access building across the street that is designed as a rustic German beer hall with great music and food menu, plus an array of German draft beers and good reasonable food. The bands for our stay; The Cabaret Dup, The Adler's German Band and DJ/Singer Paul was great for listening or dancing. Note; the music played was for some German waltz's or pokers, etc. as well and any modern day dances. Now..... after you had a great time dancing and or drinking you can walk back, about one short city block in distance, to your room. Check their web site for upcoming festivals and events.
• The area and grounds around Crystal Brood was very countrified filled with hiking trails and within a very short distance beautiful waterfalls and mountain creeks.
• Wendy of Crystal Brook was our host and treated us royalty as first-timers. She's a good dancer too. if you see her at the Mountain Brauhas you may be lucky enough to dance with her.
• Should mention; there's a lot of men & woman dancer's at the Mountain Brauhas that can make easy dancing partners'; the new dance etiquette for men or women is just ask " would you like to dance?", (doesn't need to be complicated, ask me too, just say to my wife " can I have one dance with your partner?"). We all love to dance!

Room Tip: Balcony or ground floor, what ever you like
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank INKY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2016 via mobile

For a great selection of German beer, authentic German food and a feeling of being transported to a Brauhaus somewhere in the German Alps this is where you should be! Add to that dancing and a German band!

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
2  Thank Richard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2016

We love coming to Crystal Brook Resort for a quiet get away in the mountains! We've enjoyed a peaceful couples stay in the winter and summer months, and we love coming with groups of friends and family. The rooms are simple but comfortable and very clean. The decor is certainly old fashioned, but it's charming and homey, just like a good country resort should be. The star of our stay is always the delicious home cooked meals. Everything is rich, delicious comfort food! We also love the adjacent Mountain Brauhaus and have passed many fun nights dancing and drinking. We find their prices to be very reasonable, especially when you consider the three hearty meals included in your stay, and the drinks at the bar are refreshingly affordable. The grounds are beautiful, lots of room to run around, lots of comfy chairs (indoors and out) to read a good book, a great pool, and lots of picnic tables to play one of the many board games available at the resort. And there are plenty of hikes you can take right from the resort, easy 15 minute strolls, or full day hikes across the mountain. Crystal Brook is everything we want in a relaxing, revitalizing stay in the mountains.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank JMPets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2016

A very nice place to spend a long weekend. The staff is great and friendly. The resort, although old and dated is very clean and well maintained. The German-American food ( three meals included daily ) was good and wholesome. My King room was very large and comfortable. Mountain views, nice pool and very relaxing. Has activity areas to keep the kids occupied. Hiking trails, biking, golf, canoeing,kayaking all available. A relatively short trip from NYC but far enough to get away from it all. Prices very reasonable. Recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Captges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews