We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time Memorial Day Weekend at Crystal Brook Resort & Mountain Bauhaus in Round Top, New York”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Crystal Brook Resort & Mountain Brauhaus
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Round Top
Reviewed 30 May 2017

A quick historical history on the NY Catskill Mountains; first it's a beautiful country/mountainous area where for over 60 years New Yorkers and NYC dwellers spent their summertime vacations. (now an all year vacation resort area). So, they always, and still do, had the Italian, German, Irish and Jewish "Catskills", all separated by regional town areas. The German Resorts were around Green County, NY and mainly around the Round Top, NY area, as is Crystal Brook Resort & Mountain Bauhaus.
Now, we have been to many of the Catskills Italian and Irish Resorts and here's our first time review of a Catskill German Crystal Brook & Mountain Bauhaus Resort:
GO THERE FOR GREAT FOOD AND ENTERTAINMENT AT A REASONABLE PRICE

• The lodgings at Crystal Brook were super clean and not fancy/modern but very comfortable. We had easy access to Wi-Fi too. The grounds were very comfortable to include a pool, hot tube, volley ball, bocce, etc.
• The meals were awesome, what a surprise at Sunday breakfast, they added a super buffet table of extra foods for our long return trip home.
• The table settings for our dinners were delicately quaint and professional; nice china settings and white tablecloths. And our waiter was very nice and accommodating.
• The main house has a very inviting and warm with a lounge area, fireplaces ,bar and seating for afternoon or dinner lounging or evening fun.
• The Mountain Bauhaus is a separate public access building across the street that is designed as a rustic German beer hall with great music and food menu, plus an array of German draft beers and good reasonable food. The bands for our stay; The Cabaret Dup, The Adler's German Band and DJ/Singer Paul was great for listening or dancing. Note; the music played was for some German waltz's or pokers, etc. as well and any modern day dances. Now..... after you had a great time dancing and or drinking you can walk back, about one short city block in distance, to your room. Check their web site for upcoming festivals and events.
• The area and grounds around Crystal Brood was very countrified filled with hiking trails and within a very short distance beautiful waterfalls and mountain creeks.
• Wendy of Crystal Brook was our host and treated us royalty as first-timers. She's a good dancer too. if you see her at the Mountain Brauhas you may be lucky enough to dance with her.
• Should mention; there's a lot of men & woman dancer's at the Mountain Brauhas that can make easy dancing partners'; the new dance etiquette for men or women is just ask " would you like to dance?", (doesn't need to be complicated, ask me too, just say to my wife " can I have one dance with your partner?"). We all love to dance!

Room Tip: Balcony or ground floor, what ever you like
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank INKY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (44)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 44 reviews

Reviewed 9 November 2016 via mobile

For a great selection of German beer, authentic German food and a feeling of being transported to a Brauhaus somewhere in the German Alps this is where you should be! Add to that dancing and a German band!

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
2  Thank Richard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2016

We love coming to Crystal Brook Resort for a quiet get away in the mountains! We've enjoyed a peaceful couples stay in the winter and summer months, and we love coming with groups of friends and family. The rooms are simple but comfortable and very clean. The decor is certainly old fashioned, but it's charming and homey, just like a good country resort should be. The star of our stay is always the delicious home cooked meals. Everything is rich, delicious comfort food! We also love the adjacent Mountain Brauhaus and have passed many fun nights dancing and drinking. We find their prices to be very reasonable, especially when you consider the three hearty meals included in your stay, and the drinks at the bar are refreshingly affordable. The grounds are beautiful, lots of room to run around, lots of comfy chairs (indoors and out) to read a good book, a great pool, and lots of picnic tables to play one of the many board games available at the resort. And there are plenty of hikes you can take right from the resort, easy 15 minute strolls, or full day hikes across the mountain. Crystal Brook is everything we want in a relaxing, revitalizing stay in the mountains.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank JMPets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2016

A very nice place to spend a long weekend. The staff is great and friendly. The resort, although old and dated is very clean and well maintained. The German-American food ( three meals included daily ) was good and wholesome. My King room was very large and comfortable. Mountain views, nice pool and very relaxing. Has activity areas to keep the kids occupied. Hiking trails, biking, golf, canoeing,kayaking all available. A relatively short trip from NYC but far enough to get away from it all. Prices very reasonable. Recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Captges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2016

We have gone almost every year for the past 15 years. A wonderful family owned place with old style everything. The family that runs it has always been accommodating and helpful. Eddie (owner's son) cooks so well my kids wanted to bring him home with us. His wife, Wendy, is so nice, she helped rotate the kids clothes near the fireplace to make sure everything was dry for their next romp outside. She also works as the fun bartender. Their boys are the nicest and have grown into accomplished, handsome young men. The owner is up in years and gets confused sometimes but it is a family place and you see how well they take care of her and still run the place so well.
No one comes here for 21st C. hotel level rooms. The rooms are like when I grew up. Clean and comfortable with a bathroom and tv. Works for me and kids were happy. We never watched tv. We were there to play games and enjoy each other's company. Wendy did puzzles with the kids and made shirley temples and hot chocolates galore. The weekends had a great German band and a fun group in the bar. Some of the folks did German dancing. Very impressive. The kids used their tobaggans on the hill outside for hours then we went hiking. We went skiing and they sent us with a bagged lunch.
We love it here and enjoy the family feeling we get.

Room Tip: The bigger rooms are in the rear building. With small kids, I stayed in the main building so I didn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DebbieSteuben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Round Top
17.5 km away
Hotel Vienna
Hotel Vienna
#2 of 7 in Windham
303 reviews
9.2 km away
Catskill Mountain Lodge
Catskill Mountain Lodge
#1 of 1 in Palenville
150 reviews
17.9 km away
Albergo Allegria
Albergo Allegria
#1 of 7 in Windham
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 km away
Hunter Inn
Hunter Inn
#3 of 5 in Hunter
129 reviews
20.2 km away
Diamond Mills Hotel
Diamond Mills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Saugerties
174 reviews
0.6 km away
Winter Clove Inn
Winter Clove Inn
#1 of 4 in Round Top
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crystal Brook Resort & Mountain Brauhaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crystal Brook Resort & Mountain Brauhaus

Address: 430 Winter Clove Rd, Round Top, NY 12473-5025
Region: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Round Top
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Round Top
Price Range: HK$1,297 - HK$4,494 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Crystal Brook Resort & Mountain Brauhaus 2.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1960, The Crystal Brook Resort and Mountain Brauhaus has been a family-owned and operated resort. Remaining a favorite destination for generations of families and friends. The German-American cuisine is of the highest quality to satisfy the most discriminating palate. Come take in the beautiful scenic soundings on a relaxing family vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Crystal Brook Resort & Mountain Brauhaus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crystal Brook Mountain Brauhaus Hotel Round Top

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing