We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (50)
Filter reviews
50 results
Traveller rating
24
15
5
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
24
15
5
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews german beer nice family family owned and operated place to stay hiking trails new york wiener schnitzel rathaus dancing festival wendy weekend brook singer waterfall catskill nyc
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 50 reviews
Reviewed 15 July 2016

We love coming to Crystal Brook Resort for a quiet get away in the mountains! We've enjoyed a peaceful couples stay in the winter and summer months, and we love coming with groups of friends and family. The rooms are simple but comfortable and very clean. The decor is certainly old fashioned, but it's charming and homey, just like a good country resort should be. The star of our stay is always the delicious home cooked meals. Everything is rich, delicious comfort food! We also love the adjacent Mountain Brauhaus and have passed many fun nights dancing and drinking. We find their prices to be very reasonable, especially when you consider the three hearty meals included in your stay, and the drinks at the bar are refreshingly affordable. The grounds are beautiful, lots of room to run around, lots of comfy chairs (indoors and out) to read a good book, a great pool, and lots of picnic tables to play one of the many board games available at the resort. And there are plenty of hikes you can take right from the resort, easy 15 minute strolls, or full day hikes across the mountain. Crystal Brook is everything we want in a relaxing, revitalizing stay in the mountains.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank JMPets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2016

A very nice place to spend a long weekend. The staff is great and friendly. The resort, although old and dated is very clean and well maintained. The German-American food ( three meals included daily ) was good and wholesome. My King room was very large and comfortable. Mountain views, nice pool and very relaxing. Has activity areas to keep the kids occupied. Hiking trails, biking, golf, canoeing,kayaking all available. A relatively short trip from NYC but far enough to get away from it all. Prices very reasonable. Recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Captges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2016

We have gone almost every year for the past 15 years. A wonderful family owned place with old style everything. The family that runs it has always been accommodating and helpful. Eddie (owner's son) cooks so well my kids wanted to bring him home with us. His wife, Wendy, is so nice, she helped rotate the kids clothes near the fireplace to make sure everything was dry for their next romp outside. She also works as the fun bartender. Their boys are the nicest and have grown into accomplished, handsome young men. The owner is up in years and gets confused sometimes but it is a family place and you see how well they take care of her and still run the place so well.
No one comes here for 21st C. hotel level rooms. The rooms are like when I grew up. Clean and comfortable with a bathroom and tv. Works for me and kids were happy. We never watched tv. We were there to play games and enjoy each other's company. Wendy did puzzles with the kids and made shirley temples and hot chocolates galore. The weekends had a great German band and a fun group in the bar. Some of the folks did German dancing. Very impressive. The kids used their tobaggans on the hill outside for hours then we went hiking. We went skiing and they sent us with a bagged lunch.
We love it here and enjoy the family feeling we get.

Room Tip: The bigger rooms are in the rear building. With small kids, I stayed in the main building so I didn't have to dress them for meals
  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DebbieSteuben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2015

Stayed in Aug 2015 with extended family for a week. Like anything when leaving your home community - life it what you make it. The staff at Crystal Brook are friendly, welcoming and hardworking. The food was wonderful and the accommodations, while dated, were clean and comfortable.
The hiking was amazing, and the option to take a bagged lunch was helpful to our family. The owner offers optional evening activities (bingo, movie night, etc).
Several of the evening meals are taken at the Brauhaus - a seperate building across the street. Live music and dancing with the locals was lots of fun.
We drove 6+ hours, and would gladly return. The Crystal Brook Resort is not "The Ritz" but if you like great food, comfortable accommodations, friendly staff and lots of fun day trips/hiking out your front door - plus a pool, games, piano in the foyer, take a book/leave a book, it's great family spot.

Room Tip: We stayed in the detached rooms - with balcony facing over the property. The space to dry towels, and sit outside was nice.
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank d f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2015

Had a great weekend stay with some friends . They call it schlock fest, it meant everything from the pig. The German meals were great, and each meal had german dishes in abundant portions, such as weiner schnitzel ,roll mops, jaeger schnitzel, fresh ham, etc.
That evening music for dancing was in the capacity filled Brauhaus beer hall across the road.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank seasonedtraveler40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews