We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yearly family winter getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Crystal Brook Resort & Mountain Brauhaus
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Round Top
Reviewed 13 February 2016

We have gone almost every year for the past 15 years. A wonderful family owned place with old style everything. The family that runs it has always been accommodating and helpful. Eddie (owner's son) cooks so well my kids wanted to bring him home with us. His wife, Wendy, is so nice, she helped rotate the kids clothes near the fireplace to make sure everything was dry for their next romp outside. She also works as the fun bartender. Their boys are the nicest and have grown into accomplished, handsome young men. The owner is up in years and gets confused sometimes but it is a family place and you see how well they take care of her and still run the place so well.
No one comes here for 21st C. hotel level rooms. The rooms are like when I grew up. Clean and comfortable with a bathroom and tv. Works for me and kids were happy. We never watched tv. We were there to play games and enjoy each other's company. Wendy did puzzles with the kids and made shirley temples and hot chocolates galore. The weekends had a great German band and a fun group in the bar. Some of the folks did German dancing. Very impressive. The kids used their tobaggans on the hill outside for hours then we went hiking. We went skiing and they sent us with a bagged lunch.
We love it here and enjoy the family feeling we get.

Room Tip: The bigger rooms are in the rear building. With small kids, I stayed in the main building so I didn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DebbieSteuben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (44)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 44 reviews

Reviewed 12 December 2015

Stayed in Aug 2015 with extended family for a week. Like anything when leaving your home community - life it what you make it. The staff at Crystal Brook are friendly, welcoming and hardworking. The food was wonderful and the accommodations, while dated, were clean and comfortable.
The hiking was amazing, and the option to take a bagged lunch was helpful to our family. The owner offers optional evening activities (bingo, movie night, etc).
Several of the evening meals are taken at the Brauhaus - a seperate building across the street. Live music and dancing with the locals was lots of fun.
We drove 6+ hours, and would gladly return. The Crystal Brook Resort is not "The Ritz" but if you like great food, comfortable accommodations, friendly staff and lots of fun day trips/hiking out your front door - plus a pool, games, piano in the foyer, take a book/leave a book, it's great family spot.

Room Tip: We stayed in the detached rooms - with balcony facing over the property. The space to dry towels, an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank d f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2015

Had a great weekend stay with some friends . They call it schlock fest, it meant everything from the pig. The German meals were great, and each meal had german dishes in abundant portions, such as weiner schnitzel ,roll mops, jaeger schnitzel, fresh ham, etc.
That evening music for dancing was in the capacity filled Brauhaus beer hall across the road.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank seasonedtraveler40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2015 via mobile

always been a great get away been going there since the 60dys ,to bad there are some undesirables out there trying to book aroma for one night with five children . people like that might as well go to a shelter.

Stayed: July 2015, travelled with friends
1  Thank Karl W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2015

Three delicious and generous meals a day included in the low daily or weekend price. An authentic German Brauhaus attended by all the locals on Friday and Saturday nights. Live music.
Family owned and operated. Secluded location.

Room Tip: The lodge or motel are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank George J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Round Top
17.5 km away
Hotel Vienna
Hotel Vienna
#2 of 7 in Windham
303 reviews
9.2 km away
Catskill Mountain Lodge
Catskill Mountain Lodge
#1 of 1 in Palenville
150 reviews
17.9 km away
Albergo Allegria
Albergo Allegria
#1 of 7 in Windham
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 km away
Hunter Inn
Hunter Inn
#3 of 5 in Hunter
129 reviews
20.2 km away
Diamond Mills Hotel
Diamond Mills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Saugerties
174 reviews
0.6 km away
Winter Clove Inn
Winter Clove Inn
#1 of 4 in Round Top
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crystal Brook Resort & Mountain Brauhaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crystal Brook Resort & Mountain Brauhaus

Address: 430 Winter Clove Rd, Round Top, NY 12473-5025
Region: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Round Top
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Round Top
Price Range: HK$1,297 - HK$4,494 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Crystal Brook Resort & Mountain Brauhaus 2.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1960, The Crystal Brook Resort and Mountain Brauhaus has been a family-owned and operated resort. Remaining a favorite destination for generations of families and friends. The German-American cuisine is of the highest quality to satisfy the most discriminating palate. Come take in the beautiful scenic soundings on a relaxing family vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Crystal Brook Resort & Mountain Brauhaus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crystal Brook Mountain Brauhaus Hotel Round Top

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing