We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice place!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riedlbauer's Resort
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Round Top
Reviewed 27 May 2015

Great family resort. Modest rooms, well kept. Indoor and outdoor pool. Meals are served at set times for breakfast, lunch and dinner. While you are eating breakfast by the time you get back to your room, everything is cleaned up, beds made etc. entertainment in the evenings at 9PM. This is a multi-generational run resort and you can see the pride and dedication each family member invests in the motel. We stayed here during the Irish Festival. We liked how this resort is quiet and you can do things at your own pace. The guests range in all ages and that adds flavor to staying here. Nice to mix and talk with all ages of folks. This is a resort of the traditional type. So, if you desire the big hotel experience and not getting to mingle with your fellow guests, this is not a place for you. Everyone is open, sincere and fun. This is a good way for the iPhone generation to find out what it takes to develop rapport with a wide array of folk. Yes, the do have WiFi and TV but once there it is not an important thing. Get out walk, look at the night sky without city light pollution. Resorts like this may be far and between but do try it for a change, you may like it like I did!

Room Tip: We stayed in the chalet and not the main building. Four individual rooms in the chalet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Flinty76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (28)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 28 reviews

Reviewed 16 February 2015

Arrival and check-in was a quick process. We happened to arrive of what is likely the coldest weekend of the winter season. Our room was cold but I must say that the staff were able to provide us with a space heater to deal with this minor inconvenience. Staff are attentive and made every effort to ensure that the stay was pleasant. Menu is limited but tasty. Breakfast is typical buffet style. Overall an enjoyable stay.

Stayed: February 2015, travelled with family
4  Thank W L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2015

Riedlbauer's definitely isn't for anyone who doesn't appreciate the charm of going back to a simpler time. It is a wonderful throwback to the years of family vacations in the Catskills. The accommodations are simple but clean and comfortable. They have spruced up the rooms with new brighter decor, at least in the Alpenhaus where we stayed, and there are now flat screen TV's. We could even access the WiFi from the main house from our room. But if you spend your time in the room, you are missing the point.

The grounds are beautiful and well kept and the hiking trails through the woods very enjoyable. We stayed in the winter but there hadn't yet been snow for the advertised snow shoeing or sleigh rides. But we did go skiing at nearby Windham and the discount tickets bought at the resort saved us money. The breakfast included in the room rate was simple but plentiful, home cooked and better than anything I've ever had at any name brand hotel chain for the included breakfast.

We stayed and enjoyed the New Years Party. It was great fun,but only if you were willing to throw yourself in and enjoy the kitsch. German band with traditional music, families in lederhosen and German dress, but all having sincere fun and enjoying each other's company. We left our cynicism at the door and even our teens, who could also go hang with others playing pool or foosball when they were tired of hanging with the old people, had fun.

Overall, this was the most enjoyable family vacation we had in a while and a great value. The teens immediately asked to come back next year and we probably will. Like many things, this place isn't for everyone, but it certainly was for us!

  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Theresa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2014

This is my most favorite resort in the Catskill Mountains. I have been coming here for about 15 - 20 years. The food is family style which is plentiful and delicious. The staff are friendly and treat me like family. They have plenty of outdoor activities including an Outdoor and Indoor Pool and Hot Tubs. They recently installed TV's in the rooms if you decide to skip all the fun at the bar or the weekly dance party or show in the evening.

Room Tip: All rooms are recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank Heffe97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2014

The proprietor may know the meaning of gemutlichkeit but not its application. We did not have a reservation. An "accommodation" was made to seat four seniors for dinner. Dinner was available from 6:30 until 8. We were informed by an employee that the family style meal was $15 per person. The problem arose when there was an insufficient amount of food to feed four adults. When I stated that 2 wursts and a small amount of ham was insufficient for our party of four, I was informed by the female owner that there was plenty of food in the kitchen. HOWEVER, the problem was we were not IN THE KITCHEN but at the dining room table. The owner stated that they ran out of meat. It was hardly believable when we were handed a bill whereby she charged us $20 each. We refused to pay the $20 per person and paid the $15 as originally stated. It certainly was not worth $15. We were still hungry and went to the Brauhaus for a delicious dinner!

Stayed: October 2014, travelled with friends
3  Thank L H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Round Top
17.8 km away
Hotel Vienna
Hotel Vienna
#2 of 7 in Windham
303 reviews
9.8 km away
Catskill Mountain Lodge
Catskill Mountain Lodge
#1 of 1 in Palenville
150 reviews
18.2 km away
Albergo Allegria
Albergo Allegria
#1 of 7 in Windham
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Crystal Brook Resort & Mountain Brauhaus
12 km away
Villa Vosilla
Villa Vosilla
#1 of 3 in Tannersville
441 reviews
1.4 km away
Winter Clove Inn
Winter Clove Inn
#1 of 4 in Round Top
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riedlbauer's Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riedlbauer's Resort

Address: 57 Ravine Dr, Round Top, NY 12473
Region: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Round Top
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Round Top
Price Range: HK$1,174 - HK$1,181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Riedlbauer's Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing