We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (32)
Filter reviews
32 results
Traveller rating
13
12
2
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
13
12
2
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgerman musichiking trailsgolf driving rangeindoor pool and hot tubbeer gardengerman stylegreat familyinternetplaygroundpoolscourttennisgamewoodsskiingaccommodationsweekend
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 32 reviews
Reviewed 16 February 2015

Arrival and check-in was a quick process. We happened to arrive of what is likely the coldest weekend of the winter season. Our room was cold but I must say that the staff were able to provide us with a space heater to deal with this minor inconvenience. Staff are attentive and made every effort to ensure that the stay was pleasant. Menu is limited but tasty. Breakfast is typical buffet style. Overall an enjoyable stay.

Stayed: February 2015, travelled with family
4  Thank W L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2015

Riedlbauer's definitely isn't for anyone who doesn't appreciate the charm of going back to a simpler time. It is a wonderful throwback to the years of family vacations in the Catskills. The accommodations are simple but clean and comfortable. They have spruced up the rooms with new brighter decor, at least in the Alpenhaus where we stayed, and there are now flat screen TV's. We could even access the WiFi from the main house from our room. But if you spend your time in the room, you are missing the point.

The grounds are beautiful and well kept and the hiking trails through the woods very enjoyable. We stayed in the winter but there hadn't yet been snow for the advertised snow shoeing or sleigh rides. But we did go skiing at nearby Windham and the discount tickets bought at the resort saved us money. The breakfast included in the room rate was simple but plentiful, home cooked and better than anything I've ever had at any name brand hotel chain for the included breakfast.

We stayed and enjoyed the New Years Party. It was great fun,but only if you were willing to throw yourself in and enjoy the kitsch. German band with traditional music, families in lederhosen and German dress, but all having sincere fun and enjoying each other's company. We left our cynicism at the door and even our teens, who could also go hang with others playing pool or foosball when they were tired of hanging with the old people, had fun.

Overall, this was the most enjoyable family vacation we had in a while and a great value. The teens immediately asked to come back next year and we probably will. Like many things, this place isn't for everyone, but it certainly was for us!

  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Theresa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2014

This is my most favorite resort in the Catskill Mountains. I have been coming here for about 15 - 20 years. The food is family style which is plentiful and delicious. The staff are friendly and treat me like family. They have plenty of outdoor activities including an Outdoor and Indoor Pool and Hot Tubs. They recently installed TV's in the rooms if you decide to skip all the fun at the bar or the weekly dance party or show in the evening.

Room Tip: All rooms are recommended.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank Heffe97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2014

The proprietor may know the meaning of gemutlichkeit but not its application. We did not have a reservation. An "accommodation" was made to seat four seniors for dinner. Dinner was available from 6:30 until 8. We were informed by an employee that the family style meal was $15 per person. The problem arose when there was an insufficient amount of food to feed four adults. When I stated that 2 wursts and a small amount of ham was insufficient for our party of four, I was informed by the female owner that there was plenty of food in the kitchen. HOWEVER, the problem was we were not IN THE KITCHEN but at the dining room table. The owner stated that they ran out of meat. It was hardly believable when we were handed a bill whereby she charged us $20 each. We refused to pay the $20 per person and paid the $15 as originally stated. It certainly was not worth $15. We were still hungry and went to the Brauhaus for a delicious dinner!

Stayed: October 2014, travelled with friends
4  Thank L H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2014

Rustic living - I enjoy backpacking, but not lodging in a place this primitive. Rooms are clean, but simple and old. Walls are paper thin. Facility is tired. Food is OK - better than summer camp. They have a bar with good German beer...

Room Tip: An end room will be quieter than others.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Bill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews