We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (32)
Filter reviews
32 results
Traveller rating
13
12
2
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
13
12
2
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews german music hiking trails meal times outdoor pool golf driving range basketball court beer garden german style great family hot tub playground internet pools tennis game fixtures woods
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 32 reviews
Reviewed 7 October 2014

The proprietor may know the meaning of gemutlichkeit but not its application. We did not have a reservation. An "accommodation" was made to seat four seniors for dinner. Dinner was available from 6:30 until 8. We were informed by an employee that the family style meal was $15 per person. The problem arose when there was an insufficient amount of food to feed four adults. When I stated that 2 wursts and a small amount of ham was insufficient for our party of four, I was informed by the female owner that there was plenty of food in the kitchen. HOWEVER, the problem was we were not IN THE KITCHEN but at the dining room table. The owner stated that they ran out of meat. It was hardly believable when we were handed a bill whereby she charged us $20 each. We refused to pay the $20 per person and paid the $15 as originally stated. It certainly was not worth $15. We were still hungry and went to the Brauhaus for a delicious dinner!

Date of stay: October 2014
Trip type: Travelled with friends
4  Thank L H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2014

Rustic living - I enjoy backpacking, but not lodging in a place this primitive. Rooms are clean, but simple and old. Walls are paper thin. Facility is tired. Food is OK - better than summer camp. They have a bar with good German beer...

Room tip: An end room will be quieter than others.
Date of stay: June 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank BillS942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Stayed with several couples for their cabin fever weekend.Meals were good,people were friendly and easy to get to.Went to windham skiing and tubing(about 20 min drive).It's not a five star luxury hotel-its a quaint rustic feeling german themed family run resort.Rooms were clean and large.Simple menu.Pool and hot tub were great after skiing and tubing.Had dj sat nite.My first time.and would go back again.They do have other weekend events so look at calendar.

Date of stay: January 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank brighteyes67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2012

Somehow Diana doesn't get it.. Riedlbauers is not your modern resort. It's a resort run by a caring family who makes friends with the guests, and tries their best to make certain you have a great time.

I was on a motorcycle trip through the Catskills, and had been to Riedlbauers years ago.. I decided it might be just the thing I needed to truely relax.

Lemon for your tea? How hard was it to take the 4 wedges out of the cup? Really..

Riedlbauers offers a comfortable, quiet (no phone, no TV except in the main building, no WIFI except in the main building) and clean stay, with 3 wonderful meals a day for less then the price of dinner at a lesser resort. It's a full American plan stay - everything you need is there, and if you don't see it - ask, they'll try as hard as they can to make you happy. Henry (the owner) goes out of his way to meet and get to know each guest. He makes you feel welcome and as part of the resort family.

I was going to stay one night originally, but switched to two as soon as I got there. A friend came the 2nd night, not quite "getting it" at first, but after about 4 hours he said he was going to come back at the next motorcycle trip we have planned for the Catskills.

Dining "family" style is a treat - instead of not having anyone to talk to, you have a table of friendly people to get to briefly know and interact with. There are guests (hi Arty!) who have been coming for decades, as often as every weekend. The owners plan events for both kids and adults, but never force them on you - they offer them, encourage you to participate, and make you welcome if you do.

Suitable for families with children, adults needing to get away from it all, couples, singles - really doesn't matter. Just reset your expectations of a glizy motel room to a welcoming warm environment and you'll be very happy.

BTW - the food is hearty German cooking (meatloaf on Thursday night was outstanding!) served family style, unlimited refills - don't go when you're on a diet. Good German beers are available in the small friendly bar on tap, as is convivial conversation with both other guests, staff and some local people who stop by.

Room tip: All the rooms are good. Henry and his staff made sure of that.
Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Don E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2012

My family and I had a fantastic time at this resort from July 2-4, 2012. All of the staff we encountered were very friendly and helpful (Henry, Ursula and Anita) at this family run resort. Our room was large and clean and the the food was outstanding - terrific home cooked German style meals. We loved the pools (both indoor and outdoor) and the hot tubs. We utilized both the tennis and basketball court (which are both in good shape), as well as the shuffle board. My kids loved the playground too. We didn't have a chance to explore the hiking trails since we were with friends staying outside of the resort during the day, but will next time we visit. Over all it was a great experience, we will definitely go back.

Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Nucleozoid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews