We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lack of amenities offered”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Catskill Mountain Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Palenville
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 20 July 2017

No free breakfast, no Wi Fi, no blow dryer. Was not worth the money without theses amenties
Could never find anyone to complain to. Says free breakfast ,free wi fi and blow dryer but none of this was available. A lot of garbage around the grounds that is just laziness

Room Tip: Check amenties before booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
2  Thank clarice72017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (150)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 150 reviews

Reviewed 30 January 2017 via mobile

They have a child working at the restaurant. When I asked her how old she was, she told me that she was only 12 years old. The rest of the staff is rude. I left my phone on the table at dinner and went back to get it and the staff told me that they didn't find a phone there. I know that I left it there. The workers STOLE my iPhone. Never going back. Untrustworthy staff. I was only here for one night but who knows what else would have been stolen if I had stayed longer and left my things in my room while I was gone.

Stayed: February 2016
18  Thank kaitlyn m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2016 via mobile

The room was satisfactory. The WiFi was a bit spotty, and the television had very poor sound quality, but when I choose to stay in a non-chain establishment, I don't necessarily expect more. We would have had a pleasant stay, but unfortunately the lodge's business practices left a bad taste in my mouth.
We called for reservations about six months before our arrival and were quoted a price that was about 66% of the lodge's advertised rates. We were booking two rooms and staying three nights, so thought we were given a special rate. We called one week before our reservation, and our stay of three nights with two rooms was confirmed.
We arrived at the lodge around 10pm after a thirteen hour drive looking forward to turning in after a long day. The clerk had difficulty finding our reservation, but was able to locate it after five minutes or so of nervous searching. One person from each room then handed over our cards, she ran them, and we were given receipts from the cc machine (not an itemized receipt, just the total). The amount my card was charged was in line with the original quote, so I thought nothing more of it.
Alas, when we returned for our last night's stay, a note had been left in our rooms (our uncleared rooms) requesting we stop at the desk upon departure to pay for an unscheduled third night! What an unpleasant surprise! We were on the hook for half again more than we anticipated!
If we had received clear communication at any of the three points of contact (our initial reservation, the confirmation, or at check-in) the whole mess could have been avoided. Instead we were left to deal with an unsympathetic lodge keeper at 6am demanding 50% more money than we had originally expected.
After 15 minutes of negotiating he was willing to discount my room by a whopping 8.5%. Wow. It's amazing the lengths to which this small business owner will go to assure happy guests.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
9  Thank meandastilbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2016 via mobile

The hotel looks spacious and clean. You got toothbrush, toothpaste, soap and coffee for free. I brought my dog with me and there's no extra charge. They offered free breakfast too, but with only yogurt, cereal, some cookies and coffee. Overall I was satisfied with my stay.

Stayed: October 2016
Thank Siu P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2016

The Catskill Mountain Lodge was a nice facility generally, somewhat dated but very clean and spacious rooms. However, we waited 20 minutes to get checked in because no one was at the desk. They initially checked us in to a first floor room, near the street. When we asked for a change, we got it. There was no reason to not give us the better room because 95% of the place was empty. No one notified housekeeping of the change, so our room was not cleaned and there was no coffee the next day. I took three attempts to locate any staff member to get the coffee the next day. I can not really recommend this place ( which was not cheap) based on our experience.

Room Tip: Rooms in the main lodge are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Thomas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palenville
23.6 km away
Hotel Vienna
Hotel Vienna
#2 of 7 in Windham
303 reviews
24.1 km away
Albergo Allegria
Albergo Allegria
#1 of 7 in Windham
512 reviews
16.1 km away
Hunter Inn
Hunter Inn
#3 of 5 in Hunter
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.6 km away
Hampton Inn Kingston
Hampton Inn Kingston
#1 of 10 in Kingston
934 reviews
9.2 km away
Crystal Brook Resort & Mountain Brauhaus
10.2 km away
The Sun View
The Sun View
#3 of 3 in Tannersville
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catskill Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catskill Mountain Lodge

Address: 334 Route 32a, Palenville, NY 12463-2726
Region: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Palenville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Palenville
Price Range: HK$758 - HK$1,555 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Catskill Mountain Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A classic year-round lodge set on the banks of the famed Kaaterskill Creek with spacious, comfortable rooms, some with fireplaces, and several cabins. Close to Hunter & Windham Ski resports, Woodstock, Saugerties and Horse Shows in the Sun. Full service steakhouse & pub on site open daily with Off Track Betting Parlor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Catskill Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catskill Mountain Hotel Palenville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing