We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place generally, but terrible Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Catskill Mountain Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Palenville
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 30 September 2016

The Catskill Mountain Lodge was a nice facility generally, somewhat dated but very clean and spacious rooms. However, we waited 20 minutes to get checked in because no one was at the desk. They initially checked us in to a first floor room, near the street. When we asked for a change, we got it. There was no reason to not give us the better room because 95% of the place was empty. No one notified housekeeping of the change, so our room was not cleaned and there was no coffee the next day. I took three attempts to locate any staff member to get the coffee the next day. I can not really recommend this place ( which was not cheap) based on our experience.

Room Tip: Rooms in the main lodge are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Thomas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (150)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 150 reviews

Reviewed 26 September 2016

This facility is much nicer on the inside than on the outside. There is no one at the desk. We did not have our room cleaned, which we could live with. However, we could find no one to give us coffee packets for the morning. Too much money for the basics to be ignored. Also the food in the restaurant was HORRIBLE. Great place for a drink, but do not eat there.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank dbsearch2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2016

We stayed at this property for two nights - Friday through Sunday. Access to NY Thruway and surrounding attractions is excellent - Saugerties, Woodstock, etc. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Rooms are clean, but in serious need of an update. Just a few small touches would go a long way. We spent very little time in the room, so didn't really impact our experience.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank nycjda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2016

Stayed here 2 weeks ago. Waited over 15 minutes to get checked in. No one at desk. Called numbers per written instruction on counter for service, 4 times. Finally got the bar tender from the restaurant in separate building near road. He checked us in. Next morning went to front desk, empty again, rang bell, called 2 #'s posted, and a man walked in and I asked him my question, he answered, not sure if he was the owner or not. Never saw any other employee. Room spacious and clean. Windows to the patio door were smudged with nasty stuff. Garbage all over ground outside our patio door. Old microwave and screens leaning against building next room or two down. Not what I want to see when on vacation. Parking lot not lit at night. Outdoor sitting areas near rooms could be swept of stone for more welcoming feeling. Spend your money somewhere else. Luxury room has a 20"(?) TV.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank cnytraveler2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2016

Owners nice people. Staff in restaurant too. Rooms in main lodge spacious, and clean. Virtually no cell phone service, or Internet. Had to go to office area for "spotty" internet. Cell phone, wander around outside, possible, at times to get one bar. No weekday breakfast, or coffee made by staff. No in room coffee maker. Food in restaurant very good. Limited hours. Some in our group said room doors left wide open, when we returned from day trip. Everyone has different thoughts and needs, this location does not meet mine. Especially at $185 per night.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank followthecoffee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palenville
23.6 km away
Hotel Vienna
Hotel Vienna
#2 of 7 in Windham
303 reviews
24.1 km away
Albergo Allegria
Albergo Allegria
#1 of 7 in Windham
512 reviews
16.1 km away
Hunter Inn
Hunter Inn
#3 of 5 in Hunter
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.6 km away
Hampton Inn Kingston
Hampton Inn Kingston
#1 of 10 in Kingston
936 reviews
9.2 km away
Crystal Brook Resort & Mountain Brauhaus
10.2 km away
The Sun View
The Sun View
#3 of 3 in Tannersville
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catskill Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catskill Mountain Lodge

Address: 334 Route 32a, Palenville, NY 12463-2726
Region: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Palenville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Palenville
Price Range: HK$758 - HK$1,556 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Catskill Mountain Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A classic year-round lodge set on the banks of the famed Kaaterskill Creek with spacious, comfortable rooms, some with fireplaces, and several cabins. Close to Hunter & Windham Ski resports, Woodstock, Saugerties and Horse Shows in the Sun. Full service steakhouse & pub on site open daily with Off Track Betting Parlor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Catskill Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catskill Mountain Hotel Palenville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing