We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressive wines!! ”
Review of Hosmer Winery

Hosmer Winery
Ranked #5 of 12 things to do in Ovid
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Here at Hosmer Winery, we try and keep tradition alive. Each bottle of wine starts from the ground up, literally. We use our breathtaking surroundings not only as inspiration but for a reason to do what we do. As one of the original wineries on Cayuga Lake we proudly represent some of the oldest vinifera in the Finger Lakes. We are a fully functioning estate winery; everything from growing, to picking, to pressing, to bottling is done on site. As a farm, we cultivate over 60 acres of grapes with over 10 varieties and growing. Our belief in winemaking and grape growing are parallel and continuing, we strive to maintain preservation of the land and the fruit form vine to table. Our passion for what we do is exemplified through the creation of our memorable wines.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase
Reviewed 23 May 2017 via mobile

Stumbled upon this winery on our way to Ithaca farm market. The wines were very high quality and John was an absolute joy to do our tasting with as he educated while enticing us with stories of delicious pairings. Needless to say we stopped in for a tasting but left with several bottles of wine!! Will definitely visit again

Thank wrossi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie R, Public Relations Manager at Hosmer Winery, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2017

Wine tasting and a trip to the Ithaca Farmers Market, sounds like a delightful day!! Thank you for stopping by the winery, so glad you had fun with John, he is pretty wonderful! We look forward to seeing you next time :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (55)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 55 reviews

Reviewed 15 May 2017

My husband and I absolutely love stopping by wineries. We went to Hosmer as part of a wine tour, and this was by far our favorite spot, solely because of the people working there.

I knew Hosmer's Chardonnay was my favorite -- it is so distinct, and it really stands out above all other Chardonnays in the region. Ashley, who was doing our tasting, took a "time out" from our tasting to go get me a chilled glass of the Limited Release chardonnay. She went above and beyond to make sure I had a chance to try it.She immediately got our business. my husband and I made definitive plans to come back and get a case, and in doing so, becoming a member and enjoying the many perks Hosmer has to offer.

We genuinely enjoyed hanging out at the winery, meeting the staff, and trying their delicious wine selection. It was so laid back and memorable. Major kudos to Ashley and the rest of the staff -- you folks are excellent and deserve recognition.

We can't wait to come back!

Thank Liz K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HosmerWinery, Public Relations Manager at Hosmer Winery, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2017

Wow...this is so nice to read, thank you for taking the time to let us know you enjoyed your trip to Hosmer, we are so lucky to have such wonderful employees and customers. We can't wait for you to come back to the winery this summer! We have a lot of fun events going on at the winery all summer long, and we will have plenty of Chardonnay by the glass for you :) Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2017

This is a family owned and operated estate winery in the heart of the Finger Lakes Region. They are exceptionally welcoming to visitors and are noted for their award winning wines and their commitment to the environment. A good example of their community-minded attitude is the fact that they recently hosted a craft sale to benefit a local charity.

Thank FLTraveler08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HosmerWinery, Public Relations Manager at Hosmer Winery, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2017

It is always great to hear from someone that appreciates our commitment to the Finger Lakes wine region by making thoughtful, premium wine with our estate fruit and our commitment to sustainable grape farming. Thank you for your kind words and have a great Spring!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2017

Awesome raspberry wine and sparkling! Wines for all tastes at this stop. Great gift shop includes cheeses, chocolates, t-shirts, candles, loved it! The wine called Carousel was my favorite!

1  Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HosmerWinery, Public Relations Manager at Hosmer Winery, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2017

Thank you for stopping at Hosmer, we are thrilled you like the Carousel Blush! It is such a fun wine, especially as we prepare to welcome spring! We hope you come back and visit us soon :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2017

various wine styles here with emphasis on quality. The artwork on the bottles is also a plus. Join the wine club so you can always know what is new as well as the happenings and free wine tastings. Its all good here.

Thank William B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HosmerWinery, Public Relations Manager at Hosmer Winery, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2017

Thank you for taking notice to the emphasis we put on quality, both inside and outside of the bottle! We hope you had a great holiday with delicious wine and we look forward to seeing you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hosmer Winery also viewed

 
Ovid, Finger Lakes
Interlaken, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Hosmer Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing