We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“one more winery with a Minnesota connection”
Review of Hosmer Winery

Hosmer Winery
Ranked #6 of 12 things to do in Ovid
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Here at Hosmer Winery, we try and keep tradition alive. Each bottle of wine starts from the ground up, literally. We use our breathtaking surroundings not only as inspiration but for a reason to do what we do. As one of the original wineries on Cayuga Lake we proudly represent some of the oldest vinifera in the Finger Lakes. We are a fully functioning estate winery; everything from growing, to picking, to pressing, to bottling is done on site. As a farm, we cultivate over 70 acres of grapes with over 10 varieties and growing. Our belief in winemaking and grape growing are parallel and continuing, we strive to maintain preservation of the land and the fruit form vine to table. Our passion for what we do is exemplified through the creation of our memorable wines.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase, Wheelchair access
Reviewed 4 October 2016

we had a very nice tasting.they were not busy and when we said we were from MN they said the winemaker was also..they went and got her..we had a nice chat, talked about MN grape varities and how several NY growers are trying them and seeing if they can make desired wine from them - Marquett is the one they are the most interested in. we talked about Cornell grapes and tried some of the wine made from them.. Definatly a 5 star experience or us..perhaps not if you are not fromm MN.

1  Thank MinnScooter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (55)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"wine club"
in 2 reviews
"cabernet franc"
in 2 reviews
"the finger lakes region"
in 2 reviews
"carousel"
in 2 reviews
"wines"
in 34 reviews
"tasting"
in 15 reviews
"winery"
in 22 reviews
"wineries"
in 13 reviews
"case"
in 3 reviews
Filter

12 - 16 of 55 reviews

Reviewed 23 September 2016

Our wine tasting experience was professional, thorough and enjoyable. The tastings included 5 wines for $5.00 per person. The tasting room had the typical items and goodies for sale. Our tasting representative was knowledgeable and friendly. We were camping nearby and enjoyed our visit. Clean, ample parking and personal. Area available to have a picnic and hang out. Thank You.

Thank Travelpapi153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie R, Public Relations Manager at Hosmer Winery, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2016

Sounds like enjoyed all the amenities we have to offer on your trip to the Finger Lakes! That sure makes the crew at Hosmer Winery happy. We hope you will visit us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2016

Hosmer was a nice visit. Most of wine is not bad (too sweet for us) and the staff was fun and engaging. A few of the wines were well worth trying.

Thank TravelBoomerang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie R, Public Relations Manager at Hosmer Winery, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2016

Very good to hear you enjoyed your visit and you found some wines you like! I hope you continued to enjoy your travels through the Finger Lakes!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2016

What a Challenge!
Living in the midst of the Wine Trail region of the Finger Lakes, you would think it would be easy to please yourself!
Well, it IS easy to join the search for good wine, and the space between opportunities is not far. The joy of the search does not escape us either.
However, keeping the focus on finding a stable and affordable 'everyday wine' is where the effort begins! There is no lack of places making delicious and varied wines available to experience.
It is that particular blend of delicious and affordable we found in the Hosmer Estate Red.
It was a particular bonus to us that they know how to make the discovery process enjoyable as well as rewarding.
Our visit was scheduled around one of their many 'events', this one including music suitable for dancing and certainly recognizable tunes...
Wine tastings have a broad variety of 'atmospheres'... from the serious to the seriously fun. We have begun to realize that we want to buy wines from an 'environment' that parallels the one we host in our home. Hosmer was exactly that for us.

Thank Journeyman51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HosmerWinery, Public Relations Manager at Hosmer Winery, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2016

Wow, what beautiful words! We thank you for your appreciation and we are thrilled you found an event, atmosphere and, most of all, a wine that you enjoyed on your journey through the Finger Lakes. It is indeed our mission to make high quality of wine at an affordable price... something for everyone! Hope to see you again on your next trip to area. Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 8 September 2016

Went on a long drive from Rochester around the lakes and stopped by Hosmer Winery for wine tasting. Nice wines and tasting costs 5$ each for 6 wines. Kids were offered popsicles. We brought wine and nice cheese from here

Thank Gazal P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie R, Public Relations Manager at Hosmer Winery, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2016

We love it when guests use our picnic facilities and relax by the vineyard, it makes us happy that you found our facility comfortable for the whole family. Thank you and we hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hosmer Winery also viewed

 

Been to Hosmer Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing