We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dinner at sunset”
Review of Fanari Restaurant

Fanari Restaurant
Ranked #47 of 99 Restaurants in Oia
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 29 June 2018 via mobile

This restaurant was highly rated by our hotel to watch the sunset at dinner. We had a reservation at 8pm and were seated at 755pm. By 825pm, we got up and left because no one had even come to take a drink order and acknowledge we were there. That plus we were battling 30mph winds. The way back was even worse due to the overwhelming crowds lined up on the narrow street to watch the sunset. Not worth the trip to this restaurant due to the service. Sadly I can’t rate the food because we were never served.

Thank Nyujax522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FANARI, Director of Sales at Fanari Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2018

Dear Traveler,
We can not describe enough our regretfulness and disappointment as we were reading your comment. Please accept our sincere apologies for the unpleasant experience you had with us and the frustration we caused you. There are no excuses for a guest who leaves our place disappointed. However I am sure that no one being on the island these days, will forget the strong winds, especially on 28/06/18 when you visited us. As an open-area restaurant, we are completely exposed to nature. Most of the days this is a blessing with sea sun and sky forming a wonderful scenery but there are these few days through the season that rain or wind (as in this case) makes our work really hard especially for the service. Please do not get us wrong, this is not an excuse, you had to get the service you deserved even under these extreme conditions.
We are not perfect but we try very hard to be very-very good. Always when a problem appears we give a solution immediately to satisfy our guests and to be happy when they leave our place. Of course we respect your decision to leave silently but providing us retrospectively with your feedback, is beneficial only for us and not for you and for our team the priority is always the guest.
It was also sad to read that your evening did not get any better afterwards as you were returning to your hotel. Although this has nothing to do with us, we understand your irritation but please do not forget that all these people are travelers like you that came to watch a world famous natural spectacle.
If our response finds you in Oia, we will be more than glad to have a second chance to welcome you in our restaurant and offer you the dinner experience you expect and deserve.
Always at our guest’s disposal,
The Fanari Restaurant Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (245)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 24 of 245 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2018

To be honest, this restaurant gets 5 out of 5 from me based on the view alone. If you're going to dine while watching the sunset in Oia, this is a great choice.

The food was enjoyable, and allowing for the fact that Santorini is expensive in general, I thought the prices were pretty reasonable. There were several choices for vegetarians. The service was good, and the staff were friendly.

If you're going during the summer months, do book ahead to make sure you get a table at the edge with the best view.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank sometimesong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FANARI, Υπεύθυνος Σχέσεων με Πελάτες at Fanari Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2018

Dear Traveler,
Every single time we are receiving such wonderful feedback on our guests' experience, we feel fulfilled. We are trying very hard to provide our guests with highest possible quality of food and service, always with respect towards their food choices and preferences. Concerning your excitement on our view, we strongly believe that beauty becomes beautiful only when it is shared, so for us It is all you that make this place unique.
Always at our guest’s disposal,
The Fanari Restaurant Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2018

This is an excellent place to have a dinner with loved ones and to chill out while watching the sun slowly set over the sea. The food is excellent with good service provided by the friendly staff. The prices though a little high but its worth it.

Reservations are recommended as it is always fully occupied.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Chan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FANARI, Υπεύθυνος Σχέσεων με Πελάτες at Fanari Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2018


Dear Traveler,
We would like to thank you for your kind comment. We are truly blessed to have this view and enjoy the sunset with our guests every day but believe me we are working very hard in order our food and service to be equal to the scenery. Reviews like this one are the greatest reward and motivation. As for our prices I kindly inform you that are lowest we can offer to sustainably continue running our business with all the taxes, vat and costs that burden us and which , unfortunately, keep on augmenting for the business sector of the island.
Always at our guest’s disposal,
The Fanari Restaurant Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2018 via mobile

I read the reviews but really wanted somewhere to enjoy a bite and have a view. First clue that I should have ran the other way was they had tables available just hours before sunset. My view was great for about 20 minutes then the sun set behind the wall I was sat next to. Probably half the tables the sunset gets obstructed by the walls on one side. The shrimo risotto was mediocre whit a whopping 3 shrimp in it. Bread seemed it had been sliced awhile ago since it was already drying out. Why 2 stars. They cute cst that laid under my table and had dinner with me, staff were pleasant and the first 20 minutes of sunset. If your in a hurry good luck. I asked for the bill at 755pm and finally got my change from paying at 833pm. Save your time, money and taste buds for somewhere worth it.

Thank erawson77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FANARI, Υπεύθυνος Σχέσεων με Πελάτες at Fanari Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2018

Dear Traveler,
We are very grateful to all of our guests who take the time tо commend on their dinner experience with us. All comments, advises and opinions are vital to continue achieving our daily target which is to make people happy by offering them the highest possible quality of food and service. Therefore we are truly sorry that in your case we failed to meet your expectations but please let us clarify some important points and solve at least the misunderstandings.
Our boutique restaurant is working mostly with reservations, tables are booked even months in advance and this is the safest way to secure a front line table with uninterrupted view to the aegean sea and the santorinean sunset. However, when our availability permits it, we are glad to welcome guests without reservations and offer them the best available table at that moment. This is what exactly happened and with you, the rest tables were not available, they were just reserved for sunset time, for the famous golden hour. I am sure you noticed how quickly reservations were arriving as the sunset time was approaching.
We also regret that you did not enjoy your risotto with shrimps and asparagus but we wonder why you did not let us know. Unfortunately leaving a comment retrospectively as a feedback, is benefiting only us and not you and for us you are the priority. Always when a problem appears we try to give a solution immediately to satisfy our guests and to be happy when they leave our place.
First of all we want our guests to experience the real Greek hospitality which is reflected to our desire to offer to the once foreigner the best we have and then let him leave as a friend, exactly like what happened when you kindly offered some of your food to the cute cat and she reciprocated it with her company and friendship.
If our response finds you on the island of Santorini, we will be more than glad to have a second chance to welcome you in our restaurant and prove to you that actually IS worth it. Thank you once again for the review, your honesty is highly appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2018

As recommended we reserved a table just prior to sunset and from that point of view this restaurant is perfect. You get uninterupted views of the sunset whilst enjoying your meal.

The service was good and the staff very friendly and helpful.The menu offered some very tempting dishes but when the food arrived I thought it was bland and I have to say for the price very disappointing. The portions, as you would expect, from an a la carte menu were not large, but the salmon and rice that I had was bland and to be honest the fish could have come out of a supermarket packet.

The prices are a little high compared to other Greek restaurants and some of this can be put down to the fact that tax on the islands is greater than the mainland. I still give The Fanari 4 stars though just for the service and the views and it is a shame that the standard of the food did not meet up to expectations.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank wakey47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FANARI, Υπεύθυνος Σχέσεων με Πελάτες at Fanari Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2018

Dear Traveller,
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with a feedback about your dining experience. It is really a blessing to share the same excitement and love for our place with people from all over the world.
However we are truly sorry that we did not fulfill your expectations and you were not completely satisfied with your dinner. We strongly believe that besides the beauty of the view or the quality of service, the star in a dinner should always be the food and this is our main concern. Our portions are defined according to the principles of EFET (Hellenic Food Authority) and our professional staff is always taking care so that every single plate offered to our guests will always meet all standards, including the portion. As for the salmon’s quality, I kindly inform you that we are one of the very few restaurants on the island that are using fresh salmon. We always respect our visitors and we always inform them if something is local or not and If it is fresh or frozen. It was a surprise for us to read that you found the salmon fillet “bland” given that this plate stands high in guest preference, it happens also to be our chef’s inspiration and the feedback we receive is more than positive all these 5 years that is included in our menu. Of course your opinion has been taken under very serious consideration and has been shared with the chef and with the rest team of the restaurant.
Finally we couldn’t without mentioning how impressed we are with your awareness on the augmented tax that burdens our island. This is something that most travelers do not know and often tend to consider prices a bit excessive. If someone calculates in short vat plus all different taxes and add the costs of running a business in Santorini and especially here in Oia, will notice that the profit is not great at all but this is how it is in almost all popular destinations worldwide.
It was our pleasure to visit us and we hope that you left Oia, Santorini and Greece with the best of memories!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fanari Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Fanari Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing