We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good”
Review of St. Charles Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
St. Charles Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Hudson
Reviewed 14 November 2017

I could hear people talking as they were walking down the halls. We all enjoyed the breakfast that was offered for free. There were scrambled eggs, toast,make your own waffles, fruit, cereal, yogurt, unlimited coffee, juice, The staff was very accommodating with all our requests. I would definitely stay again if I was visiting the area.

Room Tip: Rooms were very clean. They offered all the amenities of home.
See more room tips
Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank clarestarink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (201)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 201 reviews

Reviewed 12 November 2017

Clean, accommodating, and very reasonable. Plus, they don't have a two night minimum on weekends like most places in Hudson. Recently renovated, this hotel is located perfectly at the top of Warrant street, which is perfect for walking. Parking is ample and right near the front door.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Bill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2017

This hotel is old but is anything but "quaint" or "charming." With the exception of the cheaply renovated lobby and the new elevator, this is a sadly run down hotel. The windows are small, making the dreary rooms even more so and the artificial lighting is marginal. One particularly undesirable feature is the fact that the sink is not in the bathroom, beyond having antiquated, pitted and rusted fixtures. When we could not get the small room safe to work, the young man at the front desk advised that all of the guestroom safes were inoperable. It is evident that this facility lacks a maintenance man or the person who tries to do this is incompetent. Many things do not work. What has been "repaired" is done in a very sloppy, slap dash manner and if you have a problem with something in your room, good luck getting it fixed. As a prime example, see the photo of the toilet tissue dispenser in the lobby men's room being held together with several strips of scotch tape that appear to have been there for quite some time. The chairs in the breakfast room have all bottomed out. We were in two rooms, one of which had very poor sound insulation, and both were very dusty and dirty. It appears that the cleaning staff does the minimum, and that the rooms have not had a good cleaning, possibly in years. There are virtually no rooms with views other than of the old, odd Hudson buildings, however, I cannot fault the hotel for this, and I frankly don't care. The rooms are grossly overpriced considering the geographic location and the poor condition of the facility. Had I known this hotel was in such bad shape, I would have booked a local B & B or driven a distance to a descent place. We were in Hudson for the wedding of a relative at The Hill, and the local hotels were booked up. I cannot recommend this hotel unless you are truly desperate.

Room Tip: Choose a room in another hotel or inn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HAD232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam A, General Manager at St. Charles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2017

Dear HAD232,
Thank you so much for sharing your experience about your recent stay at our Hotel. We take all guest feedback's very positively and seriously. I am sorry to hear your stay didn't meet your expectations. Your comments will be discussed with the appropriate departments for future improvements. I wish you all the best for your future travels.

Sincerely,
Sam A - G.M .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2017

This was my second visit at the St Charles. The staff is super friendly and makes a special effort to make sure you are comfortable. The rooms are basic, but I found them to be clean and pleasant. I'm staying here again in the near future. The hotel is located within walkin distance to Warren Street. This is a big plus to me.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank agallo72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam A, General Manager at St. Charles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2017

Dear agallo72,
We are so thrilled that you had such a positive stay all the time at our hotel.We appreciate your frequent business and Thank you so much for sharing your experience with the Staffs. We do hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,
Sam A. - GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2017

First the good things:
- The hotel is centrally located in downtown Hudson.
- The reception staff were very friendly. We were there for a wedding and one of the reception staff called our room to let us know that the wedding shuttle had arrived and would be leaving in 15 minutes.

Now, the not so good:
- There was mold on the shower curtain in the room. I asked for them to replace the curtain, but instead housekeeping just came and wiped it down. Doing so did not get rid of all of the mold. I just skipped my morning shower instead. There is no excuse for not replacing the curtain.
- The rooms are worn out and in need of repair. Our wall had a dent in it, the door was chipped, and the beds just felt old.
- The pipes area old and noisy. In the middle of the night we would hear when our neighbors used the bathroom or ran the water. The walls are also pretty thin. I live in NYC and am not a light sleeper but this was enough to wake me on multiple occasions.
- It's relatively inexpensive, but it's still expensive for what it is.

Bottom line: This hotel is less expensive than other hotels in Hudson, but it's still very expensive for dated rooms, dirty bathrooms, and thin walls. Next time I'd pay a little more to get much more elsewhere.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jere1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam A, General Manager at St. Charles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2017

Dear Jere1,
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments and submit a review of our hotel. I appreciate the comments about our Friendly Staff , However I am sorry to read of your disappointment with your recent stay. We strive to take care of all our guests and it is our goal to ensure they enjoy their stay. Again, I'm sorry that we missed the mark here. We hope to see you again soon next time.

Cheers,
Sam - GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hudson
0.3 km away
The Barlow
The Barlow
#2 of 3 in Hudson
102 reviews
20.9 km away
Catskill Mountain Lodge
Catskill Mountain Lodge
#1 of 1 in Palenville
150 reviews
16.2 km away
Best Western New Baltimore Inn
Best Western New Baltimore Inn
#1 of 2 in West Coxsackie
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
35.3 km away
Hampton Inn Kingston
Hampton Inn Kingston
#1 of 10 in Kingston
934 reviews
1 km away
The Croff House Bed and Breakfast
1.4 km away
26 Warren B & B
26 Warren B & B
#3 of 17 in Hudson
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Charles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Charles Hotel

Address: 16 - 18 Park Place, Hudson, NY 12534-2532
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Hudson
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Ski-In / Ski-Out Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Hudson
Price Range: HK$774 - HK$1,736 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — St. Charles Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free continental breakfast, free onsite parking, free Wi-Fi, fitness center, meeting room, ballroom, Victorian ceilings, antiques, new lobby with fireplaces. All rooms come with attached bathroom, 32 + " flat screen TV, AC/heat, microwave, refrigerator, hair dryer, iron and board. 24 Hour front desk staff, Located in the center of the town by Warren Street.beautiful view of park. More amenities available at front desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your St. Charles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Charles Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing