We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Expedia
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Expedia
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tiger House(Hudson)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Expedia
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (210)
Filter reviews
210 results
Traveller rating
39
55
54
28
34
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
39
55
54
28
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe breakfast areatown squaremake your own waffleswalking distancebreakfast includedfamily eventrestaurants and shoppingcomfortable bedmini fridgelight sleeperthe main streetsmall townhudson nytrain stationyogurtsamexcitement
Filter
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 210 reviews
Reviewed 5 July 2017

Hudson is an artistic, eclectic little town on the Hudson River. We found the hotel to go along well with our stay in this town. The 1 queen bed room was clean with adequate room for the 2 of us, the bed was comfortable, the décor was nice in an understated way, and there was plenty of hot water. We enjoyed the view of the park and a couple of passing trains from our window. The window, unlike in most hotels, could be opened to feel the summer breeze and hear the fountain and the buzz of activity below. We also enjoyed the colorful flowers in the window-box. We found the staff to be attentive and helpful. The continental breakfast was basic and got us going. The only critique we could offer is basic maintenance points such as: our door closed hard/loudly, the showerhead sprayed a little to the side/out the shower, and the bathroom grout could be re-done. These didn't diminish our experience, though. This is a cool old hotel with character, which is something you can't get in mainstream hotel chains.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank 4wardmotion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam A, General Manager at St. Charles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2017

Dear4wardmotion,

Thank you so much for the wonderful review, We are so pleased to read that you enjoyed
our clean room, comfortable bed and nice view of park with trains passing. Your comments about the staff is appreciated. We will definitely improve the maintenance issues you have noted. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We will see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2017

My husband and I decided to try this hotel, hoping to find a quaint and charming old hotel. We stayed here one night a few weeks ago on a Friday. It's an old, slightly run down, tired hotel on the square in Hudson.The staff were pleasant, the room and beds were clean and comfortable, but I've stayed in chain hotels for half the cost and had better breakfast. If we had paid $120 instead of $220, I would probably not complain. It was just not what we had hoped.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank CDepkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam A, General Manager at St. Charles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2017

Dear CDepkin,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience about our hotel. First of all I am happy to learn that you found our staff pleasant , clean comfortable room and beds.
We definitely have $120 rates during the weekdays at this time and also during weekend from Nov to April.
Our only high season is on weekend from May to October and the rates ranges from $170 to $220, But I can still assure you we have the best rates in the area.

We encourage all to call hotel directly and get the best possible rates , We offer varieties of discounts for AAA, AARP and Military members. We do also offer group discount and more than 3 nights discount package.

I am sorry to hear we were not what you hoped this time and hope you give us another opportunity to serve again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2017 via mobile

Basic accommodation. We had a very early arrival (5:30 am). Nothing was open for breakfast. The desk staff member offered to make us sandwiches. Our room was adequate size, very comfortable, and very clean. Breakfast was good and can be included with the reservation or purchased separately. When we checked out we had an easy 20 minute walk to Connolly Station. We were also a short distance from several points of interest. The staff are very friendly and helpful. I'd stay again without hesitation.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank JeraldoH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam A, General Manager at St. Charles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2017

Dear JeraldoH,

When you mentioned about breakfast that can be purchased separately and 20 minute walk to Connolly station, I doubt this review was for us. However if you choose to visit nice little charming town Hudson, NY near future, I would like to invite you to stay with us at HISTORIC ST CHARLES HOTEL.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2017 via mobile

This hotel is centrally located with
Plenty of parking
Nothing fancy just a good clean place
To lay your head at night. The staff is friendly and very helpful
The continental breakfast is just as you would expect, limited but just enough to get you going in the morning

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Thank Traveler02476
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam A, General Manager at St. Charles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2017

Dear Traveler02476,

Thank you for your review of our hotel on TripAdvisor. We appreciate you sharing your thoughts with us. Thank you for your kind words about our friendly and helpful Staff, as well as good clean place. Thank you again , and we look forward to serving you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2017

Bathroom sink had large, yet sealed crack in it, very unseemly.Toilet kept running, had to jiggle the handle to reset the valve in back of toilet tank, irritating especially in the night. only one chair in room meant we had to rotate sitting on the bed and the chair. plenty of room for another chair but none there. arrived and window was stuck open, after a rain. it was several hours until someone came to fix it, and he did not speak english. i had to use sign language to communicate with him what the problem was. breakfast satisfactory, bes satisfactory. no follow through from management regarding prescription glasses left in the desk. they sent an obligatory acknowledgement of the email, but that's all i got. new glasses were needed and no response from the hotel. how long does it take to send an email saying,yes,no, or i don't know, if the glasses were in room. scary neighborhood after dark and outside appearance of hotel and surrounding area run down.

Room Tip: spring for a better hotel/motel.@130 a night this was a rip off
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeffrey T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam A, General Manager at St. Charles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2017

Dear Jeffrey T,

Thank you for your review of our hotel on TripAdvisor. We strive to provide each guest with a memorable and enjoyable experience at our hotel, and unfortunately it seems that in this case, we fell short of our goal. Please accept my sincerest apologies. I have sent you a private e-mail regarding your issue, Again Thank you again for your review, and we do hope that you give us another chance the next time that you are in Hudson,NY.



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews