We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$127
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$228
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Barlow(Hudson)(Great Value!)
US$145
Expedia
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tiger House(Hudson)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (209)
Filter reviews
209 results
Traveller rating
39
55
54
28
33
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
39
55
54
28
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmake your own wafflesmicrowave and refrigeratorthe breakfast areawalking distanceenjoyed my stayroom was clean and comfortablea great place to staythe main streettrain stationyogurtsamnyvintagegallerieswarren
Filter
Updating list...
180 - 185 of 209 reviews
Reviewed 9 September 2011

My room in this historic hotel was very clean, with all amenities in place. They even use a washable remote! It's covered with a plastic coating so it can be disinfected between users. The breakfast was not exciting--but adequate. This hotel is perfectly situated at the top of Warren Street which features 19 art galleries, numerous antique stores, and all kinds of food and entertainment. This interesting, walkable street ends at a park at the bottom on the banks of the Hudson River, and the train station.

Downside: I have never experienced this before: You have to pay MORE if you want a nonsmoking room. Seems unfair--why not make smokers pay a premium if they want to ruin a nice room? Also, though there is coffee down at breakfast, there's no coffeepot in the room.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ScarletOHara-14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2011

Very Clean room, modern decor - nothing like picture shown, ample parking,
within walking distance of all Restaurants, galleries and shops in Hudson.
Strong air conditioner, I recommend if in the area for biking, skiing or escape from the city. Will definitely book again at the St. Charles Hotel on my next visit to the Hudson valley area.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank getawaycyclist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2011

Very nice place with good rates and a friendly staff.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SKCYCLES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2011

We are great fans of historic properties. We have appreciated our stays at the St. Charles for several years. We have been there many times over the years and have seen it through a few owners/managers and different restaurants. We have always enjoyed it. At times the dining room had beautiful artwork by local artists and we dined with people who had flown in from Canada and trained up from the City (NYC) for weekend events. One of our fondest memories is of the front suite overlooking the park. The first time we were thrilled by twinkling white lights enlivening the park as evening came. Snow had fallen and it was a winter wonderland. Imagine our excitement when a train passed right through the middle of the park beneath us! It was like a Dept. 56 Christmas in the City Village scene come to life. We loved waiting for the train to pass through. We also enjoyed walking the length of the main drag visiting restaurants, coffee shops, antique shops, etc. A great place in a beautiful historic tiny city. Of quaint historic hotels with great location and view and atmosphere and fun things to do in the area, and ideal price, we rate this a five. (Not 5 to compete with a 5 diamond hotel...but 5 in and of its own closs.)

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank explorer3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2011

Nice hotel, great price, friendly staff, good size room, nice furniture and decorating. Reasonably clean. Walls were not well insulated for sound, could hear every word from neighboring rooms. Use earplugs if you want to sleep late. Check your bill carefully for accuracy. continental breakfast was cereal, danish, or waffles.

Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
2  Thank VacationerMaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews