We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Look Past the Weathered Exterior”
Review of 3rd State Hudson

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hudson
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
3rd State Hudson
Ranked #16 of 17 Hudson B&B and Inns
Reviewed 23 August 2017

Stayed at 3rd State Hudson with 15 family members and friends. While it would definitely benefit from some upgrades, we had a great stay. The opportunity to all be under one roof for an affordable price was priceless. We enjoyed our stay at 3rd State Hudson very much!

Stayed: August 2017
Thank BMAC4035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 5 reviews

Reviewed 28 October 2016

We stayed there while attending a week end wedding, and it was a very nice place. The kitchens and big tables were handy when we needed a snack or a breakfast. Beds were comfortable, and we were able to squeeze a good number of people in each apartment without feeling crowded. The owners seemed to be very accommodating.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Sally T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2016

My boyfriend and I went to visit friends in Coxsackie on New Years Eve and stayed at 3rd street hudson. This is a great little B&B like hotel (I say like because there is no breakfast:)) We stayed in the Travelers Suite and had a kitchen and our own bathroom. It was such a quaint little hotel! The hosts (Kiley and Roxanne) are so friendly and will make sure you have everything you need!

We stayed for 2 nights and would recommend this place, IF this is the type of hotel you are interested in staying at. It's not a Marriott or Hilton...there's no concierge lounge or daily maid service, or even TV's for that matter. But it is a great, clean and comfortable place to stay. Hudson is a great little town with lots of antique shopping, and this place fits right in.

Great experience at a great cost. I would definately recommend and will be back!

Room Tip: Travellers suite was very spacious (3 bedrooms, 1 very small off the kitchen), kitchen, dining area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Susan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2015 via mobile

Love the previous review. Stayed in both Audubon & Star Wars. Both are fantastic but I must say Star Wars is my favorite. I was pretty sick the last time I was there & Kiley made sure I had everything I needed.
He is a very good host & I highly recommend staying at 3rd State. I also agree, don't let the exterior deter you.. give him time, he's doing all the renovations himself.
They even have wifi now. :-)

Stayed: April 2015, travelled with friends
Thank Logan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2015

We're not sure what was our favorite part - the inspirational vibe you immediately get when you enter the apartment, the incredible deal, or hanging out with the host.

THE VIBE:
It's like Ikea meets vintage – vibrant, plush chairs and contemporary wooden furniture are tastefully accented with hints of olden time magazines, antique tea cups, and renovated 1930’s structuring. The wispy curtains in the incredibly spacious foyer cast a light & airy vibe that will inspire you to do all the things you keep putting off back home.

THE DEAL:
You get an entire apartment with 4 thoughtfully decorated bedrooms (3 twin beds + 1 huge master bedroom), each with its own look and feel, a classic kitchenette (fridge, microwave, coffee maker, gas oven, sink, & cabinets), a modest bathroom with a separate 1930's clawfoot tub/wash room, and a spacious, avant-garde foyer/living area – all for less than $100/night.

THE HOST:
When you meet Kiley, the host/owner of this oasis of ingenious lodging that he calls 3rd State, you'll understand why you're getting such a great deal. He's down to earth and just wants you to have a good time. He's business savvy yet completely in tune with the residents and passionate about helping the community.

TIPS:
Hudson “city” in general, is very small; therefore the tourist area and the regular residential area are very close in proximity. 3rd State is located right on the edge of one of the residential areas, however, just 2 blocks away is the town’s main attraction (Warren Street), which will lead you to all of the antique shops, art galleries, & DIY businesses to your heart’s content. You’ll pay at least double for a hotel on the tourist street, but as we see it, it’s totally not worth it.

Oh yeah, and don’t let 3rd State’s outside appearance fool you – the inside is completely renovated and as noted above, VERY nicely decorated.

Room Tip: The Audubon Suite is definitely the way to go if you want a lot of space and/or you're traveling...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Hannah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KileyThompson, Owner at 3rd State Hudson, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2015

Thank you so much for such a wonderful review! We try our best to make everything affordable and accessible to everyone, and I'm so glad you "GOT" it!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hudson hotels
1 km away
St. Charles Hotel
St. Charles Hotel
#1 of 3 in Hudson
202 reviews
0.6 km away
Wm Farmer and Sons Boarding & Barroom
0.5 km away
26 Warren B & B
26 Warren B & B
#3 of 17 in Hudson
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
The Croff House Bed and Breakfast
0.4 km away
The Inn At 34
The Inn At 34
#4 of 17 in Hudson
63 reviews
0.6 km away
Westcott House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 3rd State Hudson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 3rd State Hudson

Address: 260 State St, on the corner of 3rd St & State Street, Hudson, NY 12534-1814
Region: United States > New York > Hudson
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Hudson
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
3rd State Hudson was an old mansion built in 1864 designed to entertain potential clients for a contracting company based on Warren Street in Hudson, which is two, short blocks away. The grandson of the original owner, during the 1930s Depression, moved the company to their home, and subdivided the building so they could survive in such hard times. By 2014, we own it, and are restoring the mansion back to its glory, but keeping the subdivisions to accommodate the incredible number of visitors Hudson has been seeing due to antiquing, agritourism, art, music, and the surrounding natural wonders. When we first started looking for property in upstate NY, we fell in love with Hudson. Everyone was welcoming and the food was comparable to fine dining in NYC, but with a country mindset. We discovered it was impossible to stay in Hudson on a modest budget, though, due to BnBs not allowing children, or charging outlandish prices to "see" their antique driven homes. We just needed an affordable place to stay for a family. Years later, after we bought a farm built in 1755 in Green County, the opportunity came to purchase 3rd State Hudson. The first thing we thought was to provide a place for people just like us: people that love Hudson, but can't afford an expensive bnb in town. Presently, even during our renovation, we provide multiple single rooms and suites that range in price from $50/night to $99/night. If there is an amenity you want and its not listed,, we try our hardest to make it happen for you. We are not a bnb, but a gng (go and get it). Only one apartment is animal friendly, we have our own parking lot (monitored and shared with our ethnically diverse neighbors - Jamaican, Bangladeshi, Pakistani), and please excuse the exterior of the building. Its the last thing we plan on renovating as we bring the old mansion back to her beautiful self. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing