We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (106)
Filter reviews
106 results
Traveller rating
36
35
16
10
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
36
35
16
10
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmunicipal lotexercise roomin townold buildingfront desk staffclean hotelbeautiful woodworkconvenient locationthis past weekendcomfortable bedthe main streetshops and restaurantsattention to detailmarloweshowerfireplacelinens
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 106 reviews
Reviewed 30 June 2018

We spent a night here after a long drive. The location is good and the front desk was perfectly welcoming, but the hotel needs a little push over the edge to go from OK to great. Walking up the stairs to our room, the first thing you notice is the smell -- like grandma's house, and not in a home cooked meal kind of way. If only they would spend the extra $$ and re-do the beautiful woodwork, that problem could be solved. The room was nicely decorated, but again, when you go into the bathroom and are confronted by a thin film of slime mold on the painted walls, you really start to wonder what else is growing in the space that you can't see....shame on the contractor for installing the wrong sized exhaust fans, and shame on housekeeping (or management) for not spending a few minutes to clean the walls....finally, the front desk leaves at 8 and doesn't show up again until after 9 the next morning. That's not the end of the world, but it did feel a little creepy and neglected. In short, the place could use a little $$ to go that last mile from feeling like it was renovated by a new owner short of cash, to a place that feels like an oasis.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
2  Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russell G, Owner at The Barlow, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2018

Michael - thanks for your comments. Sorry for the delay in responding but I wanted to research the problems you found with the hotel to be able to address each of your issues. First, though, let's start with the positive: glad you enjoyed our central location. The hotel is ideally located right in the center of Hudson; no need for a long walk or having to wait for a shuttle bus to get to everything in town. We appreciate your comments about our welcoming staff as well. You're correct that the Front Desk is, like most European style boutique hotels, not staffed around the clock. However, there is a 24-Hour emergency number for guests use should they need it. If you weren't made aware of this at check-in please accept my apologies.
Now, as for "the smell": that's new to all of us. Quite frankly we have had guests comment on how nice the hotel smells, thanks in part to a diffuser in the Lobby provided by Source Adage filled with their signature "Hudson" fragrance. Guests I spoke with didn't notice anything other than a pleasant light fragrance. Regarding "the wood": while we did, and continue to, use wood oil and Murphy's Oil Soap to clean and maintain the almost 100 year-old hallways and staircase, we did not "re-do" the woodwork, as you suggest, not due to a lack of funds but to maintain as much of the historic charm of the building as possible. The exhaust fans in the bathroom were installed to building code specifications provided by the City of Hudson and the Department of Health and are inspected annually. While I don't doubt you, it would have been helpful to our Housekeeping staff if you had pointed out the "slime" on the walls while you were here as none of us could find any (after two weeks of searching each room, including the room in which you stayed). Sorry, but we all gave it our best effort.
There is a newly built chain hotel in town that did spend millions of dollars in renovation. It is still (at the end of the day) a chain hotel, but maybe that might be a better choice for your next visit. The Barlow is, instead, an independently owned and locally operated hotel with a character that very much reflects Hudson's unique charm. Again, thanks for the comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2018 via mobile

Conveniently located on Warren. Comfortable bed but the room (#106) is a bit too hot with the window A/C.

Free parking in the municipal lot behind the hotel. They practice a confusing alternate side parking overnight for cleaning the lot.

Nice hotel but a bit too pricey for what you get.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Karl F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russell G, Owner at The Barlow, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2018

We genuinely appreciate your business and for taking the time to share your experience with us at The Barlow. We're sorry to hear the window unit in your room wasn't cooling enough and would have been happy to replace it had we known. The hotel's location is ideal and just steps from everything in Hudson - no need for a shuttle to take you back and forth - and the complimentary parking is really convenient. We absolutely agree about the "alternate side" rules and have been trying for years to get the City of Hudson to change it to no avail. With all the amenities we provide our guests from complimentary in-room Keurig coffeemakers including KCups, our wonderful spa showers and aromatherapy bath amenities to complimentary DirecTV and WiFi and our fully equipped fitness center we feel our room rates offer great value and are fairly priced; sorry to hear you don't agree. Regardless, we thank you for choosing The Barlow for your visit to Hudson and the great comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2018

We stayed two nights at The Barlow during a short trip to Hudson. The hotel is ideally located in the centre of town, close to shops and restaurants. They offer free wifi and parking. Staff were very helpful and attentive, answering my many questions about various topics.

Soon after we moved in, the guest upstairs took a shower and waste water started dripping into our shower. We were promptly moved to another room. There were various small issues with that room: dripping tap in bath, bed reading light not working, clock alarm that buzzed during the evening as set by a previous guest. Although not individually significant, such issues suggest that housekeeping/management could apply greater attention to detail in servicing the rooms.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Kevin51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russell G, Owner at The Barlow, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2018

Thanks so much for your review and all the positive comments! We're certainly disappointed to hear about the various issues you encountered during your stay - that is unacceptable and all of the problems you mention will be addressed immediately. In addition to our personalized service, we pride ourselves on our attention to detail; be assured that the things you mentioned will all be corrected. The Hotel's central location and blend of historic character and modern amenities reflect the wonderful charm of the city of Hudson and our staff works diligently to provide our guests with local tips and suggestions that you won't find in a big box, chain hotel. Again, we apologize for the issues you encountered and sincerely appreciate both your comments and your business and thank you for choosing The Barlow for your recent stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2018 via mobile

The Barlow turned out to be great place to spend the night within walking distance of Helsinki Hudson. Clean, quiet, secure and free parking. Right on Warren St where there are many places to eat and shop.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russell G, Owner at The Barlow, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2018

On behalf of the entire staff of The Barlow thanks for the 5 Stars! As an independently and locally owned an operated hotel we don't rely on corporate marketing departments and large chain loyalty programs. It's guests like you who help spread the word about The Barlow. Entering our 5th year we are proud of our reputation for providing "a local viewpoint" of all there is to do, see and eat(!) in Hudson and our central location means guests are just steps away from it all. We're so happy to see you've already booked your next stay with us - awesome! We look forward to having you back. Thanks again - we really appreciate it!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2017 via mobile

Booked into The Barlow for one night getaway from nyc. Arrived to find the place cold and unwelcoming, with indifferent, bored staff (the receptionist’s sister sat next to her with legs splayed, slumped in a chair as I tried to check in).
The lobby area was cold and deserted, the room only just OK.
I felt so uncomfortable and unwelcome (not great when you are a solo traveller), that I cut my losses and checked out to go uptown to The Rivertown Lodge (which was beautiful with warm, kind staff).
As I left, I saw a woman arrive to check in and I almost warned her not to, as The Barlow staff were so cold and off-putting

Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
2  Thank origanum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russell G, Owner at The Barlow, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2018

Not sure how to respond to this...only because none of our Front Desk staff have a sister (and how would you know that was her sister? Did she introduce herself?). Also, if there were two people in the Lobby at the Front Desk how could it be "cold and deserted"? Finally, what specifically made you feel uncomfortable? Sorry, but there's just so much that is strange about your comments. We're glad you found Rivertown Lodging more to your liking and hope that, if you return to Hudson, they will have the pleasure of seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews