We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Barlow
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Peloke's Motel(Catskill)
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Yorkshire Motel(Claverack)
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Elm Tree Motel(Craryville)
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (102)
Filter reviews
102 results
Traveller rating
36
33
15
10
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
36
33
15
10
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsexercise roomin townold buildingpublic lotnice boutique hotelking suitefront desk staffwarren stwithin walking distanceconvenient locationthis past weekendspacious bathroomcup of coffeethe main streetshops and restaurantsattention to detailmarlowe
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 102 reviews
Reviewed 14 October 2017 via mobile

We chose this place because it is located on the main street where the shops and restaurants are. We also wanted to be in a guest room that has a more modern decor not a place with a lot of flowers on fabrics and antiques. This place is showing wear and tear in the hallways and needs some touch up of the wood work and paint. The guest room was very comfortable and the bathroom was large with a great shower. The only suggestion for the bathroom is to add a little table to be able to put our cosmetic bags. There is plenty of room for that. It is a nice place.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank FLB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russell G, Owner at The Barlow, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2017

Hey - thanks for the great review! We all work hard to provide guests of The Barlow with a great experience. Unlike a cookie cutter, chain hotel (that could be anywhere in the world) The Barlow is locally owned and independently operated hotel and - we admit - does show some "wear and tear" in the hallways from little "dings" that the walls have developed over its 100 years from people bumping into them, even though we touch up the paint every other month). That's what we feel gives the hotel its historic charm and unique character. We have shelves in the bathrooms for makeup bags, etc., and we'll make sure yours was there, but we left space in the bathroom so that two people can comfortably use it without crowding each other. We hope to see you back soon and thank you, again, for the terrific comments!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2017

This was my second stay at The Barlow for business travel. I really enjoy the well appointed and sizeable rooms. Most notably, the showers are amazing and help relax after a long day at work. The beds and pillows are, along with the fireplace my favourite things about the rooms at The Barlow.
A slight negative was being stuck outside the hotel after an intercontinental flight. It appears that the door bell isn't quite loud enough for the front desk staff to hear when they are in the basement. Luckily we were 'rescued' by other guests after a few minutes.
I love that the hotel has some cracks and squeaks - it shows it's old building charm with beautiful woodwork. I can understand that some people don't understand this kind of charm, but I much rather have a few oddities then stay in a hotel that could be anywhere on the globe and is without character.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JFranziska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russell G, Owner at The Barlow, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2017

On behalf of the management and staff of The Barlow thank you for the great review. As an locally owned and independently operated property we're proud of the personality of the hotel (and its quirks) and how the hotel reflects Hudson's historic charm and modern character. Sorry to hear about the SNAFU with the front desk - sometimes when they are in the basement it is hard to hear the front door bell; glad to hear it wasn't a major issue. Thanks for your continued loyalty to The Barlow. We appreciate your business, thank you for your fantastic comments and look forward to having to back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2017 via mobile

A pleasant but underwhelming place to stay for a night. Obviously a renovated historic building, fairly well done but some additional attention could've been paid to the details. Room had a large portable air unit and uncomfortable settee. No views. Best amenities were the pillows and shower. Good location downtown. But we regret choosing Hudson for our overnight stop. Pretty run down and the citizens were more skanky than swanky. Lots of bad dressers and tats. Judgmental yes; but I'm writing a review so you're getting my judgment.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Donnmein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russell G, Owner at The Barlow, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2017

Thanks so much for your comments. Converting a former downtown (thus no views) office building into a hotel was, as you can imagine, no easy task but we tried to balance keeping the historic details and charm of the building with ensuring guests are provided all the modern touches they expect. Being limited by the square footage of the existing property we inevitably missed some minor details, but overall the hotel reflects both Hudson's past and its present; a present that includes a wonderful diversity of cultures, generations, artisans and entrepreneurs - a diversity that, quite frankly, we celebrate. Hudson continues to, as it has done for decades, redefine itself and - yes- there are areas that could use some TLC, but the same could be said for almost every city and town throughout the country. Perhaps a little more research on your part about Hudson would have helped you avoid disappointment. Good luck in your future travels finding what you are looking for. Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2017

Our expectations were rather low when we saw the building and the dark wainscoting in the entrance hall. But things quickly improved. We were met by a friendly, helpful manager and we found our room to be delightful. The beds and linens were first-class; there was a refrigerator and large HD TV and Keurig coffeemaker. The bathroom was large and beautifully appointed. There was a large, dynamic, multifunctional shower, which included the best rain shower we've experienced.
Surprisingly, there is an exercise room which has all the basics, including a treadmill.
There is also a large, modern elevator.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russell G, Owner at The Barlow, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2017

We so happy you enjoyed your stay at The Barlow and thank you very much for your positive comments. We're just a little confused: your comments don't seem to match the individual category ratings. Regardless, we appreciate your review and hope to see you again in the future! Merci bien!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2017

There is not a lot of option (yet) of places to stay in Hudson, so this seemed reasonable and conveniently located. We had to pay the full amount on checking in - a first for me - and now I know why! From there, any service stopped. I'm not sure what the girls on reception did. I asked for some information on a local museum no was told to 'call them to find out'. I replied that I only have an English cell phone, perhaps she could make the call? 'You are welcome to use one of ours'. I asked if she could get me the number. And by the time she had Googled the number, told me how to use the switchboard syestm on her desk etc, she may as well have done it for me in the first place?! How about - 'I don't know the answer to your question, let me find out for you'. As a stranger in her town, this would have been well received. Gloomy decor, not at all like the pictures, grim, bad light, unappealing. My sister arrived back at her room late afternoon to find it unmade up. Only thing going for it was its location.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank MisterPug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russell G, Owner at The Barlow, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2017

So you're reading this review and thinking, "How can this person rate The Barlow 1 Star and the previous reviewer rate it 4 Stars? What's the deal?". Quite simply, expectations. The Barlow is a European style boutique hotel, as we state on our website, not a Marriott or Hyatt or other chain hotel. We have neither a dedicated concierge on staff or 24/7 Housekeeping (actually I don't think the chain hotels even offer that). This guest wanted the person handling check-ins to plan their entire stay (including making dinner reservations) while other guests were waiting in line to check in. Our Front Desk staff is willing to provide assistance to the best of their ability, time permitting, but when there are other people waiting to check in (as was the case in this situation) their priority is getting these guests checked into their rooms. As most experienced travelers know charging the balance of your stay at check in is standard operating procedure at any hotel, so not sure why this person was so surprised. Finally, the comments about the decor of the hotel seem only to serve as justification for the poor rating. All we suggest to potential guests is to read The Barlow's website thoroughly, understand what the hotel does and doesn't provide and manage your expectations accordingly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews