We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Conveniently located, well appointed rooms.”
Review of The Barlow

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Barlow
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Hudson
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 4 August 2017

Our expectations were rather low when we saw the building and the dark wainscoting in the entrance hall. But things quickly improved. We were met by a friendly, helpful manager and we found our room to be delightful. The beds and linens were first-class; there was a refrigerator and large HD TV and Keurig coffeemaker. The bathroom was large and beautifully appointed. There was a large, dynamic, multifunctional shower, which included the best rain shower we've experienced.
Surprisingly, there is an exercise room which has all the basics, including a treadmill.
There is also a large, modern elevator.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russell G, Owner at The Barlow, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2017

We so happy you enjoyed your stay at The Barlow and thank you very much for your positive comments. We're just a little confused: your comments don't seem to match the individual category ratings. Regardless, we appreciate your review and hope to see you again in the future! Merci bien!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (102)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 102 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2017

There is not a lot of option (yet) of places to stay in Hudson, so this seemed reasonable and conveniently located. We had to pay the full amount on checking in - a first for me - and now I know why! From there, any service stopped. I'm not sure what the girls on reception did. I asked for some information on a local museum no was told to 'call them to find out'. I replied that I only have an English cell phone, perhaps she could make the call? 'You are welcome to use one of ours'. I asked if she could get me the number. And by the time she had Googled the number, told me how to use the switchboard syestm on her desk etc, she may as well have done it for me in the first place?! How about - 'I don't know the answer to your question, let me find out for you'. As a stranger in her town, this would have been well received. Gloomy decor, not at all like the pictures, grim, bad light, unappealing. My sister arrived back at her room late afternoon to find it unmade up. Only thing going for it was its location.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank MisterPug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russell G, Owner at The Barlow, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2017

So you're reading this review and thinking, "How can this person rate The Barlow 1 Star and the previous reviewer rate it 4 Stars? What's the deal?". Quite simply, expectations. The Barlow is a European style boutique hotel, as we state on our website, not a Marriott or Hyatt or other chain hotel. We have neither a dedicated concierge on staff or 24/7 Housekeeping (actually I don't think the chain hotels even offer that). This guest wanted the person handling check-ins to plan their entire stay (including making dinner reservations) while other guests were waiting in line to check in. Our Front Desk staff is willing to provide assistance to the best of their ability, time permitting, but when there are other people waiting to check in (as was the case in this situation) their priority is getting these guests checked into their rooms. As most experienced travelers know charging the balance of your stay at check in is standard operating procedure at any hotel, so not sure why this person was so surprised. Finally, the comments about the decor of the hotel seem only to serve as justification for the poor rating. All we suggest to potential guests is to read The Barlow's website thoroughly, understand what the hotel does and doesn't provide and manage your expectations accordingly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2017

I stayed at the Barlow for two nights over this past weekend. We had a lovely time. Our accommodations were the Queen Deluxe Room. It was quiet and the room was clean. It was exactly what we were looking for. My one minor note is that there was no hand soap. We mentioned at the front desk. The lovely girl at the desk said she would speak to the cleaning staff. We arrived back and our room still did not have hand soap. We just wound up taking it off of the cleaning staff's cart. In the grand scheme of things, it was not a big deal. I would definitely stay here again. The location was perfect.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russell G, Owner at The Barlow, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2017

Thanks so much for the great comments, although not sure what happened with the soap. Sometimes the front desk and the housekeeping staff don't connect, which we think is what happened, but we've talked to everyone and they all are sorry something so simple was overlooked. We appreciate you bringing it to our attention and are happy to hear you didn't think it wasn't a major issue. Until next time, thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2017

We were hopeful when we checked in - centrally located in town, the lobby was nice and the staff welcoming. Then we made our way to the room. The stairs and hallways feel like a boarding house. Our room was small which is ok, but everything felt run down. And you can hear conversations in the rooms next to you.

My husband had a terrible night sleep because the fragrance of the detergent used on the bedding was very strong. The front desk was empathetic but said there wasn't anything they could do about it - that it was in the actual dryer. That didn't make sense but I wasn't going to argue. We decided to move to another hotel for our final night in town.

We left a message asking for the Manager to call us and that we were wondering if we could pay for the one night we stayed and 1/2 price for the night we were canceling. We never heard from the Manager, and of course we were charged.

Room Tip: The Inn at Hudson is much much more elegant!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank _moochi007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russell G, Owner at The Barlow, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2017

We're sorry you didn't give us the opportunity to address your issues before leaving so abruptly. We use commercial hypoallergenic detergents in all our laundry, so are not sure where the "fragrance" was coming from, but our Head Housekeeper ran a set of sheets and towels through the wash again with just water, which she was going to replace in your room. As you had your "Privacy" sign up she couldn't do so until you left the room, which was when you "checked out". Our Manager did, in fact, call you to offer you a credit for the unused night and never heard back. Unfortunately, as with most hotels, at The Barlow guests are required to pay for the entire stay once they check in, which is clearly stated on our Registration card that you signed. Again, we're sorry you didn't give us the opportunity to makes things right and hope that, if you come back to Hudson, you will find more suitable lodging at one of the many other fantastic options in town.
As for the Hotel itself, The Barlow is not a Marriot or Best Western and has the historic character of a building built in the 1920's. Most guests appreciate the charm. Sorry you weren't one of them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2017 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at the Barlow on an unseasonably perfect February weekend. We booked a king suite because this was a winter getaway so a fireplace and a bath tub were both required. We arrived early but our room was prepared so we checked right in.
Check in was actually the only encounter I had with any staff over a 48hr period. The whole place has a very laissez faire vibe to it. This was fine for us, but expect there to be no one around. The place is cashless, has a online reservation system, and has surveillance cameras everywhere. I'm thinking this is a side gig for the owner.
The king suite is a nice size room with a lounge area and a spacious bathroom. The Kurig had an absurd amount of choices, with good reason and cocoa. Attention was also spent on picking high end toiletries. The king bed was firm and comfy, with great feather pillows. The bathtub was great for one, not so much for two. The car wash shower was impressive to look at, but a bit vulgar, I mean really a bit much.
Housekeeping seems to do a good superficial cleaning, but cleanliness could be improved. There were crumbs in the couch cushions, stains and burns on the rug, and the tub needed a scrubbing before I filled it. The electronic fireplace didn't quite work right either. I called down and the guy just agreed that the fireplace was a bit flaky.
The Barlow was pretty much exactly what expected overall. The room was unapologetically​ expensive, and the service was nonexistent, but the location was perfect, and the style was right on.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank vinluccisano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russell G, Owner at The Barlow, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2017

No. Not a side gig - we're definitely involved. Our thought is that people stay with us to get to know Hudson, not our staff. We're genuinely sorry to hear about the crumbs and the tub - I've spoken to our Housekeeping staff and sincerely apologize. That is not ever acceptable. As for the rug, I looked into it with our General Manager. Someone clearly dropped a hot curling iron onto the rug and melted it (it's a synthetic material). Slightly visible but hopefully not enough to ruin someone's stay. Good location and style but flaky fireplace, vulgar shower, unapologetically expensive and non-existent service. Well, we thank you for the 4 stars just the same.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hudson
0.3 km away
St. Charles Hotel
St. Charles Hotel
#1 of 3 in Hudson
201 reviews
16 km away
Best Western New Baltimore Inn
Best Western New Baltimore Inn
#1 of 2 in West Coxsackie
272 reviews
20.8 km away
Catskill Mountain Lodge
Catskill Mountain Lodge
#1 of 1 in Palenville
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
The Croff House Bed and Breakfast
0.7 km away
Tiger House: The Inn at Hudson
1.1 km away
26 Warren B & B
26 Warren B & B
#3 of 17 in Hudson
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Barlow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Barlow

Address: 542 Warren St, Hudson, NY 12534-2826
Region: United States > New York > Hudson
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Hudson
Price Range: HK$1,251 - HK$2,135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only locally owned and operated boutique hotel The Barlow is located in the heart of Hudson's historic business district and offers 16 fully appointed guest rooms and suites all with en-suite spa bathrooms. Guest room amenities include Keurig coffee brewers, personal safes, refrigerators, 32" flat screen televisions with DirecTV, and electric fireplaces. The renovation of the 1920's building has retained much of the historic charm while providing modern amenities today's traveler expects. The hotel's central location makes it a perfect base from which to explore all that Hudson has to offer. Our Privileges Partner program offers guests of the hotel discounts at most shops, restaurants, galleries and entertainment venues, making a stay at The Barlow and even better value. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your The Barlow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing