We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely kick-off for a long Hudson Valley weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wm Farmer and Sons Boarding & Barroom
Ranked #2 of 17 Hudson B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 November 2017

We stayed in the Chandler - and it was lovely. The room was beautiful, as was the downstairs common area, and the restaurant next door. Our meal was outstanding, and the staff was incredibly helpful and kind (Thanks, Sarah!). We can't wait to go back, and highly recommend.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFarmer2015, Manager at Wm Farmer and Sons Boarding & Barroom, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2017

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are so glad you were able to enjoy both the Boarding and the Barroom! We will be sure to pass your kind words on to our staff! Looking forward to seeing you on your next Hudson adventure!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (239)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

14 - 18 of 239 reviews

Reviewed 13 November 2017

Came to Hudson to escape the City and thoroughly enjoyed staying at Wm Farmer and Sons. The staff was welcoming and their attention to detail was amazing. Even had a dog bowl in our room for our pet! Felt like I was at home. They were helpful in giving ideas of places to visit in the area and other places to eat (they have no food service on Mondays). Don't miss their restaurant. Food was delicious, well presented and service was great. Can't wait to go back!!!

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mimistinson1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFarmer2015, Manager at Wm Farmer and Sons Boarding & Barroom, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2017

We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your Wm. Farmer and Sons experience! Making sure everyone feels at home, including our four-legged guests, is something we pride ourselves on. Thank you for taking the time to share! We hope to see you in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2017 via mobile

My boyfriend and I️ came for lunch last week and loved this spot. Great wine and food in a beautiful rustic industrial interior that feels both modern and in touch with local roots. Will definitely be back - worth the trip from Manhattan! Also, management could not have been nicer or more hospitable. I️ was in a work snafu and had to take a conference call, and they set me up in a quiet spot with WiFi, which totally saved my butt and made the glass of red wine after even more enjoyable!

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Alison L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFarmer2015, Manager at Wm Farmer and Sons Boarding & Barroom, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2017

Thank you for your kind words! We are so glad you enjoyed your lunch with us. It's the little things, like making sure a guest can get some work done in order to be able to enjoy the rest of her afternoon, that we love the most! Hope to see you again, and maybe you'll be able to extend your stay and take in the full Wm. Farmer and Sons experience!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2017

During our wedding weekend in Hudson, we used Wm Farmer as the base hotel for our closest friends -- we could not have been happier with the choice.

Shannon and the Wm Farmer team were extremely accommodating in the build-up, receiving packages, dropping welcome baskets in the rooms before our guests arrived and getting us space in the bar for drinks on Friday night.

When renting out all the rooms, Wm Farmer becomes the optimal mix of a hotel and house; the rooms offer the comforts associated with hotels, and the shared spaces are huge and comfortable for hanging out in groups.

My wife and I stayed in The Fawkner @ the Merchant House, which provided ton of space, great views and the charming design found throughout all their rooms. Our friends all raved about their individual rooms, and everyone who ate at the restaurant had similarly good things to say.

Thinking back on the wedding weekend, some of the best memories took place at the hotel. Wm Farmer & Sons will always have a special place in our hearts, and we'll be visiting again soon.

Room Tip: Merchant House is great for groups, also for pre-wedding photos
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teschbacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFarmer2015, Manager at Wm Farmer and Sons Boarding & Barroom, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2017

Thank you for sharing your Wm. Farmer and Sons experience! We are so glad you chose us as your home base and are delighted to hear that you and your guests felt comfortable and taken care of! Knowing that we'll live on in your memories is an honor. We look forward to seeing you and your wife in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2017

We stayed at the end of September on a Sunday night for one night in the Abigail Suite. The bed was large and very comfy. The aesthetic of the room was superb. Lovely getaway (we were traveling from Boston,) from city life. Hudson has great restaurants and the surrounding area is very charming. It was so nice to have dinner (also fantastic) and cocktails and then just walk upstairs to our room. The streets right by the restaurant/hotel are a bit run down but you are only steps away from the main street with restaurants/shops/cafes.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Eleni_Stavrou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFarmer2015, Manager at Wm Farmer and Sons Boarding & Barroom, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2017

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience! We are glad you enjoyed both your stay in The Abigail and your meal in the Barroom. In regard to our neighborhood, the beauty of Hudson is its revitalization and one of the aspects we are most proud of is the mixed demographic. In fact, Hudson is a recent recipient of a Governor Cuomo's Downtown Revitalization Initiative, which will be focusing on the Bridge District, where Wm. Farmer and Sons is located! It's an exciting time in Hudson!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hudson hotels
1.2 km away
The Barlow
The Barlow
#2 of 3 in Hudson
102 reviews
1.5 km away
St. Charles Hotel
St. Charles Hotel
#1 of 3 in Hudson
201 reviews
0.6 km away
The Croff House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
26 Warren B & B
26 Warren B & B
#3 of 17 in Hudson
165 reviews
0.6 km away
Tiger House: The Inn at Hudson
0.5 km away
Batterby House
Batterby House
#7 of 17 in Hudson
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wm Farmer and Sons Boarding & Barroom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wm Farmer and Sons Boarding & Barroom

Address: 20 S Front St, Hudson, NY 12534-3123 (Formerly Front Street Guest House)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Hudson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Hudson
Price Range: HK$2,166 - HK$2,181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wm Farmer and Sons is an intimate, thirteen room hotel located in the heart of historical Hudson. We offer devilishly attractive rooms at unpretentious prices. Known for our eclectic charm and comfort, our 1830’s Inn now features a restaurant and barroom: authentic farm-to-table cuisine and craft cocktails served up daily. We admittedly make it hard to rouse your self in the morning – luxury beds, 500 thread count sheets, and big fluffy pillows conspire against you, while in-room flat screen TVs and free WiFi scratch your digital itch. When you do rise, we’re just steps from Hudson’s local galleries, hip boutiques, and growing music scene. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Wm Farmer and Sons Boarding & Barroom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing