We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little disappointed...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wm Farmer and Sons Boarding & Barroom
Ranked #2 of 17 Hudson B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 October 2017

We really wanted to like this place. And it was not bad, but.....we both ended up with sore backs and necks after sleeping on a the bed. The mattress that was like more like a hammock. Zero support whatsoever.

When you got on the bed, you basically sank down several inches, slumping into the middle. Not good. Made for a very poor night's sleep.

Overall, the room was nice and well appointed. Especially the mini bar, which is very well stocked with a wide assortment of beverages, including pints of various top shelf liquors.

But at the end of the day, a good night's sleep is what you really want. And a decent quality mattress and pillows are key to achieving that goal.

I would have mentioned this on the way out, but there was no one around when we "checked out".

This room was on the top floor of the main building. Unfortunately, the a/c units and industrial fan (kitchen range hood fan?) are all outside the back windows. Some may find the noise from these units annoying. When we checked in, the receptionist ( who was very friendly) went up to the room first to ensure it was ready, and turned on the radio before we were taken up. That did seem to mask the noise. After the kitchen closed, the noise seemed to decrease. I think this is unique to this room only.

Small point: No hooks in the bathroom to hang towels. Second small point: Yes, it is an old building, so it is not surprising that the floor is not level. But it would be helpful to level the bed. If you look, the right side slopes down a few inches. The bed frame bar indicates this clearly. But this was hardly noticeable as the sagging mattress kept you on a sinking slope regardless of the level of the bed frame.

I would stay here again, but only if I was reassured they had invested in a new mattress for this room (we stayed in the Lee Wendell).

The bar and restaurant looked great, but we had plans to dine elsewhere, so we did not get to try them out.

A lot of rooms/suites to choose from, and they are all decorated in a unique style.

I would have rated the property very good had the bed and pillows been of a higher quality.

Room Tip: Check the bed for firmness!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank flycycletravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFarmer2015, Manager at Wm Farmer and Sons Boarding & Barroom, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2017

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I am sorry to hear that our mattress did not provide you a good night's sleep. I can assure you that our mattresses and pillows are of the highest quality, though, as you mentioned, our mattresses are on the softer side. This information will be very useful to others looking to book with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (239)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

23 - 27 of 239 reviews

Reviewed 23 September 2017

Having not been in Hudson for more than 25 years, this was a delightful experience. The hotel was charming and very well appointed. The staff was pleasant and helpful. The restaurant was amazing. The food was excellent, the staff professional, and the atmosphere vibrant. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tricia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFarmer2015, Manager at Wm Farmer and Sons Boarding & Barroom, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2017

Thank you for your kind words. Wm. Farmer and Sons is honored to have been your home base for your Hudson visit! We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your entire experience. Thank you for sharing!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2017

The staff and Wm Farmer and Sons is wonderful. We had a fabulous room and could see the harbor from our window. The bar was lively after 5:00pm (was not open until 5:00pm). The food was good, although I am not a fan of smelt! We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank beehappy1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFarmer2015, Manager at Wm Farmer and Sons Boarding & Barroom, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2017

We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay in the hotel and meal in the barroom. Thank you for taking the time to share!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2017 via mobile

This place has such a great vibe. Beautifully appointed and great food. Had wonderful cocktails. The fried smelt appetizer and stuffed clams were delicious. 3 of us had the trout which was perfectly prepared with lovely vegetables. The other entree was lasagnette which was a deconstructed lasagna dish with lamb, preserved lemon and ricotta cheese. Not nearly as heavy as it sounds not that my friend would give me a bite!

Our server Emma was patient and advised my friend that the tonic was different than conventional tonic which my friend appreciated.

Can't go wrong here!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank kathleen s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFarmer2015, Manager at Wm Farmer and Sons Boarding & Barroom, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2017

Thank you for your kind review! We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your meal in our Barroom. If you find yourself in Hudson again, please consider also staying in one of our guest rooms for the full Wm. Farmer and Sons experience!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2017

We have traveled around the world and this is one of the very best hotels we have ever had the pleasure of staying in. The accommodations were spectacular, the staff friendly, the food amazing. We are looking forward to visiting again!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheFarmer2015, Manager at Wm Farmer and Sons Boarding & Barroom, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2017

World class accommodations, thank you for the compliment! We are happy to hear that you were able to enjoy all that Wm. Farmer and Sons has to offer. We are looking forward to seeing you on your next visit to Hudson!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hudson hotels
1.2 km away
The Barlow
The Barlow
#2 of 3 in Hudson
102 reviews
0.3 km away
The Wick, Hudson, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel
1.5 km away
St. Charles Hotel
St. Charles Hotel
#1 of 3 in Hudson
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
The Croff House Bed and Breakfast
0.1 km away
26 Warren B & B
26 Warren B & B
#3 of 17 in Hudson
165 reviews
0.6 km away
Tiger House: The Inn at Hudson
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wm Farmer and Sons Boarding & Barroom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wm Farmer and Sons Boarding & Barroom

Address: 20 S Front St, Hudson, NY 12534-3123 (Formerly Front Street Guest House)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Hudson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Hudson
Price Range: HK$2,166 - HK$2,181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wm Farmer and Sons is an intimate, thirteen room hotel located in the heart of historical Hudson. We offer devilishly attractive rooms at unpretentious prices. Known for our eclectic charm and comfort, our 1830’s Inn now features a restaurant and barroom: authentic farm-to-table cuisine and craft cocktails served up daily. We admittedly make it hard to rouse your self in the morning – luxury beds, 500 thread count sheets, and big fluffy pillows conspire against you, while in-room flat screen TVs and free WiFi scratch your digital itch. When you do rise, we’re just steps from Hudson’s local galleries, hip boutiques, and growing music scene. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Wm Farmer and Sons Boarding & Barroom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing