We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful, beautiful place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Croff House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 17 Hudson B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 27 October 2017

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Croff House. Great location very close to the main street in Hudson with all the stores and restaurants etc. The inn is beautiful with gorgeous decor, extremely comfortable beds and a brilliant shower! Breakfast is inventive and delicious and the innkeepers are friendly and very attentive with lots of advice for good restaurant choices as well as navigating Hudson. We would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lyddite555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russell G, Owner at The Croff House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2017

Thanks so much for the spectacular review! We were so happy to welcome you guys from across the “pond”, and we’re even more happy that you enjoyed yourselves so much and that The Croff House was all you expected and more. We enjoyed chatting with you about Hudson and hearing about your thoughts on London (can’t wait to try some of the pubs you recommended!). We look forward to seeing you guys again next time you’re back our. Way. Until then thanks so much and cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (379)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 379 reviews

Reviewed 23 October 2017 via mobile

My wife and i stayed at the Croff House this past weekend. If you're planning on visiting Hudson NY (which you should), we would definitely recommend staying here. Nice big rooms with a fireplace in a charming, 140 year old New England-y house that is extremely well maintained.

Russ and Duncun (and Delphina who helps out in the morning) were excellent and very helpful hosts. And count on eating some very delicious breakfast in the morning.

All in all, extremely fun and comfortable stay in a great house in a really terrific town. Our Chace Suite had a fireplace which was a really nice perk!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Sachin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russell G, Owner at The Croff House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2017

Not only "thank you" for the amazing review but for choosing The Croff House to celebrate your anniversary as well! You guys were such a pleasure to have stay with us and we're so happy you loved the Chace Suite so much - fireplace, tub and all! We think each of our rooms are wonderful and unique in their own special way and have a hard time picking a personal favorite. Sorry the foliage wasn't more festive, but it the weather was perfect for Fall, getting ready for Halloween. We hope to see you guys back again soon (that fireplace is even better with the snow falling outside!). Until then thanks so much and all the best to you both!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2017 via mobile

Based on TA reviews we recently stayed at this lovely B&B and we were very pleased. Russ is a wonderful host, the home is beautiful, there are nice sitting areas on the first floor, and the breakfast was delicious!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank aterg1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russell G, Owner at The Croff House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2017

Thanks for the great review! We're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate your taking the time to share your experience with future visitors. Next time you're in Hudson we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back. Until then, thanks so much!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2017

We were so pleased to have found the Croff House for an unscheduled two night stay in Hudson, following a last minute cancellation elsewhere.
We arrived later than expected in the evening, due to heavy traffic leaving NYC. There was a welcoming letter from the hosts (they live next door), the house was bright and warm and immediately we stepped through the door our spirits were lifted and we felt at home.
We stayed in the Peck guest room, which was beautifully furnished, the king size bed super comfortable, the bathroom spotlessly clean and well appointed. Although our room was one of the smaller of the five guest rooms, it felt spacious, with high ceilings and double aspect windows.
The three course breakfasts served on both days were amazing. We advised in advance that we were non meat eaters and the hosts adjusted the menu for us without fuss (still not sure about the vegetarian bacon, but it was fun to try).
The hosts, Russ and Duncan are charming, attentive, knowledgeable about the area and should be congratulated on this superbly run B&B.
The large Victorian house itself is a treat to behold. The exterior is painted in five colours, autumnal tones which blend beautifully. Internally, the lounge, library area and dining rooms are classically furnished, but again with a very artistic use of colour.
It was our first visit to Hudson. We had a wonderful stay at Croff House, the perfect base to explore the town and the surrounding area.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Marilyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russell G, Owner at The Croff House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

We so enjoy welcoming visitors from all over the world to The Croff House, and it was such a pleasure hosting you both from the UK! Please accept our utmost thanks for the superlative review! Regular check in is from 3:00-6:30, but guests arriving after 6:30, like yourselves, have told us how our convenient they found our "self check-in" process, finding that it took away the stress arriving late. Due to the special nature of our breakfasts vegetarian diets are the only ones we are able to accommodate and, while we personally love a nice crispy bacon, the "veggie" bacon is okay in a pinch (thanks for trying it!). Thanks, too, for the shout out on the new exterior paint colors - we agree, it looks fantastic. So next time you're "across the pond" again, we hope to be able to welcome you back to The Croff House. Until then thanks so very much and be well!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2017 via mobile

We stayed for three wonderful nights at this incredible bed and breakfast. Russ and Duncan are amazing hosts who make you feel so comfortable from the moment you meet them The highlights were the breakfasts, the comfortable beds and watching Russ and Duncan’s four dogs who live next door run around their yard. We have stayed at many B and Bs and this was definitely one of the best. The attention to detail was amazing! (My husband was blown away by the fact that the postcards were Prestamped )we will definitely be back!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Susan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russell G, Owner at The Croff House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2017

It was so fantastic having you stay with us and sincerely appreciate your glowing review! We strive to make each guests stay special from the simplest things like a warm welcome and a freshly prepared breakfast to the smallest detail like the postcards and our complimentary evening turndown service. For us no detail is too small, because that's what guests remember when they return home. Velma, Zam, Nick and Nora are happy to say "hi" to our guests as they pass by the house next door - they say "thank you" too! So until next time we see you, all the best to you both and thanks a million for the exceptional review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hudson hotels
0.7 km away
The Barlow
The Barlow
#2 of 3 in Hudson
102 reviews
1 km away
St. Charles Hotel
St. Charles Hotel
#1 of 3 in Hudson
201 reviews
0.3 km away
The Wick, Hudson, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
26 Warren B & B
26 Warren B & B
#3 of 17 in Hudson
165 reviews
0.6 km away
Wm Farmer and Sons Boarding & Barroom
0.1 km away
Tiger House: The Inn at Hudson
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Croff House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Croff House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 5 Willard Pl, Hudson, NY 12534-2417
Region: United States > New York > Hudson
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Hudson
Price Range: HK$1,938 - HK$2,048 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Croff House Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
So what has made The Croff House the #1 Trip Advisor rated B&B in Hudson for over 9 years? We are proud of our reputation for providing outstanding, personalized service in a welcoming, warm environment with genuine hospitality. The interior spaces of the inn are designed with guest comfort in mind, not on trendy decor or quirky gimmicks. Our three course, freshly prepared breakfasts (using locally sourced ingredients when available) have become a hallmark of a stay with us. Our focus is on attention to detail and the little touches that make a stay at The Croff House exceptional. We think you'll agree with guests who have stayed with us - The Croff House is truly a 5-Star experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your The Croff House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Croff House b&b
The Croff House Hotel Hudson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing