We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (394)
Filter reviews
394 results
Traveller rating
371
20
1
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
371
20
1
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews apple tv russ duncan chace suite bed and breakfast turn down service my husband and i wonderful hosts made us feel yogurt modern amenities hudson valley place to stay b bs within walking distance in town warren street breakfast was delicious
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 394 reviews
Reviewed 16 October 2017

We were so pleased to have found the Croff House for an unscheduled two night stay in Hudson, following a last minute cancellation elsewhere.
We arrived later than expected in the evening, due to heavy traffic leaving NYC. There was a welcoming letter from the hosts (they live next door), the house was bright and warm and immediately we stepped through the door our spirits were lifted and we felt at home.
We stayed in the Peck guest room, which was beautifully furnished, the king size bed super comfortable, the bathroom spotlessly clean and well appointed. Although our room was one of the smaller of the five guest rooms, it felt spacious, with high ceilings and double aspect windows.
The three course breakfasts served on both days were amazing. We advised in advance that we were non meat eaters and the hosts adjusted the menu for us without fuss (still not sure about the vegetarian bacon, but it was fun to try).
The hosts, Russ and Duncan are charming, attentive, knowledgeable about the area and should be congratulated on this superbly run B&B.
The large Victorian house itself is a treat to behold. The exterior is painted in five colours, autumnal tones which blend beautifully. Internally, the lounge, library area and dining rooms are classically furnished, but again with a very artistic use of colour.
It was our first visit to Hudson. We had a wonderful stay at Croff House, the perfect base to explore the town and the surrounding area.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Marilyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russell G, Owner at The Croff House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

We so enjoy welcoming visitors from all over the world to The Croff House, and it was such a pleasure hosting you both from the UK! Please accept our utmost thanks for the superlative review! Regular check in is from 3:00-6:30, but guests arriving after 6:30, like yourselves, have told us how our convenient they found our "self check-in" process, finding that it took away the stress arriving late. Due to the special nature of our breakfasts vegetarian diets are the only ones we are able to accommodate and, while we personally love a nice crispy bacon, the "veggie" bacon is okay in a pinch (thanks for trying it!). Thanks, too, for the shout out on the new exterior paint colors - we agree, it looks fantastic. So next time you're "across the pond" again, we hope to be able to welcome you back to The Croff House. Until then thanks so very much and be well!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2017 via mobile

We stayed for three wonderful nights at this incredible bed and breakfast. Russ and Duncan are amazing hosts who make you feel so comfortable from the moment you meet them The highlights were the breakfasts, the comfortable beds and watching Russ and Duncan’s four dogs who live next door run around their yard. We have stayed at many B and Bs and this was definitely one of the best. The attention to detail was amazing! (My husband was blown away by the fact that the postcards were Prestamped )we will definitely be back!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Susan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russell G, Owner at The Croff House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2017

It was so fantastic having you stay with us and sincerely appreciate your glowing review! We strive to make each guests stay special from the simplest things like a warm welcome and a freshly prepared breakfast to the smallest detail like the postcards and our complimentary evening turndown service. For us no detail is too small, because that's what guests remember when they return home. Velma, Zam, Nick and Nora are happy to say "hi" to our guests as they pass by the house next door - they say "thank you" too! So until next time we see you, all the best to you both and thanks a million for the exceptional review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2017

spent a relaxing three days at this charming Victorian B&B..The inn keepers Duncan and Russ could not have been more accommodating..the rooms more charming..the breakfast more amazing..This truly felt like your home away from home..If you are up in Hudson do not miss a chance to spend time here you will not be disappointed..

Stayed: October 2017
Thank j0yces923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russell G, Owner at The Croff House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

We're so happy your daughter treated you to a stay with us and can't thank you enough for the wonderful review! It was great having you stay with us and it's great to hear how much you enjoyed your time with us at The Croff House and glad that you made the inn your home away from home. This weekend saw the first of many pumpkin pancakes for the season, and you guys seemed to really enjoy them! Until next time you're in the area - thanks so much and all the best to you both!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2017

Excellent location, walking distance to many Hudson dining options. Very hospitable owners with good local knowledge. Hudson is great and the Croff House is a great location for exploring it. Fantastic breakfasts!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank foylester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russell G, Owner at The Croff House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2017

Thanks a ton for the super comments! It was great having you guys with us during your tour around New England. So glad you enjoyed The Croff House and Hudson. We hope you guys will venture back our way again. Until then enjoy the rest of your Fall and thanks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2017 via mobile

I've been lucky enough to have been raised all over the world and have stayed in some of the best hotels in the world. As an early birthday gift for my partner, I booked an overnight stay in Hudson New York at the Croff House.

Things I wish I'd known from other reviews: we stayed in the Chace suite but my intention was to book the biggest and most romantic room. As we stayed on a Tuesday, most rooms were open and we got to look at all of them on Wednesday morning after breakfast. They are all more or less the same. All beautiful. You can't go wrong booking any room here.

Russ gave me the idea to have a bottle of champagne delivered to the room prior to our stay. Upon check-in, the bottle was chilling on ice with two champagne glasses next to it and a lovely card. Hospitality is an art that Russ & Duncan have indeed mastered.

The Inn is on a small, cul-de-sac, about a block from town. It would be ideal to visit, even without a car.

Russ and Duncan are beyond hospitable and made us feel so comfortable. Breakfast was a 3-4 course event! I'm a vegetarian and an athlete so next time I stay, I will definitely give them a heads up so that I can have the food that I need. I eat A LOT.

I say next time because we will definitely be going back. Russ and Duncan were able to give me many ideas for an itinerary in Hudson, as I have never visited before. We will definitely be back and would never dream of staying anywhere else other than with these two amazing hosts.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Tourist42836
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 5 October 2017

What an exceptional review - thank you so very much! We're thrilled C's birthday celebration came off without a hitch and that we could be part of it. Recently someone interested in booking The Croff House asked why they should book with us; a challenging question to say the least, since there are so many fantastic places to stay in Hudson. My answer was simply that we try our best not to overlook any detail, because that is what guests - like you - remember: having the champagne iced for your arrival, turning your bed down in the evening, brewing the perfect pot of freshly ground coffee and more. The greatest compliment a guest can pay us, in addition to writing an awesome review like yours, is telling us that plans are already being made for a future stay. To that all we can say is, "We look forward to having you back!" Until then, our sincerest thanks and Best Wishes to C on his "big" birthday. We'll see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews