We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Olana or Bust”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Croff House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 17 Hudson B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 30 August 2017

My family and I recently stayed at the Croff House in Hudson for a couple of days and it was fantastic! Centrally located just a couple of blocks off the main thoroughfare, the Croff is on a peaceful quiet street close to all the shops, restaurants and bars of Hudson. We had three rooms. All of them were spacious and nicely decorated. The shower with the stain glass window in our bath was very cool. The wifi was stronger and faster than what we have at home. Russ and Duncan were fantastic hosts, providing us with recommendations on where to go and what to see during our brief time in Hudson. Would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: It's a B&B and only has six rooms (I think). We had 3 of them, all good. Don't think you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Papel1895
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russell G, Owner at The Croff House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2017

Thanks for the awesome review - much appreciated! It was great having you all stay with us and we're so happy that you had some quality time together at The Croff House. We're so pleased to hear our new, upgraded high-speed broadband worked so well and that it, along with the decor, location, amenities we provide and everything else you mentioned, helped make your stay so memorable. We'll look forward to having you all back again some time soon, but until then we wish everyone all a wonderful Fall. Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (379)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 25 of 379 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2017 via mobile

From the first moment we arrived Russ and Duncan made us so welcome, they are so warm and friendly. The Victorian house is beautifully restored with so much attention to detail. We only booked one night but I wished I had booked for longer. The room was so comfortable and the shower excellent. There were lovely touches like a scented candle in the room. There is a lovely outside terrace where you can sit after making yourself tea from the wide selection. Breakfast was delicious blueberry muffin, melon and yoghurt and an amazing quiche. Russ and Duncan are so helpful with everything including suggestions for dinner and places to visit. Cannot recommend enough.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Shazzavitali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russell G, Owner at The Croff House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2017

We realize guests have a wonderful selection of lodging options in Hudson and we so appreciate both your choosing to stay with us at The Croff House and for the amazingly terrific review of your stay! Like you, many folks who book a single night only stay usually regret not booking longer. Oh well - that just means you have to come back! It's important to us that the small details don't get overlooked and simple things like comfortable furnishings, fresh local fruit at breakfast, and genuine hospitality are things our guests most frequently remember about their visit with us. We hope when it's time to collect your daughter after her study abroad upstate, you will give us the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Croff House. So until then we thank you so very much for the superlative comments and wish you both all the best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2017

Duncan and Russ have a passion for what they do and it shows! This B and B excels in all things! Duncan's breakfasts were the highpoint of our three night stay. The bed was super comfortable, the towels were thick and luxurious, the toiletries smelled so good, the room was clean, the a/c worked, the location was convenient to loads of shops and excellent restaurants, the parking was easy and free! I could go on and on. Thank you to both of you for allowing us to stay in your magnificent, historic property. I will remember our stay each time I light our citrus candle that you so graciously gifted us.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank hinsdalemom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russell G, Owner at The Croff House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2017

Sometimes "Thank You" doesn't seem sufficient for such a spectacular review, but THANK YOU all the same! You guys had a LOT going on during your stay - P's birthday, your "Plant-stock" weekend, and getting out and seeing all that Hudson has to offer - that we're so happy you were able to also enjoy everything we offer our guests at The Croff House. Starting from our three-course, freshly prepared breakfast all the way to our complimentary evening turndown service we try to think of everything our guests could want to make their time with us exceptional. Based on your comments it seems we were able to accomplish just that. Our hope is that when your travel plans bring you back our way you'll stay with us once again at The Croff House. Until then we hope the candle brings back fond memories of your stay and wish you both all the best! Our sincerest thanks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2017

We spent two nights at the Croff House last week and it exceeded our expectations on many levels. This was our first visit to Hudson and staying with Duncan and Russ enhanced our overall trip experience. Their hospitality was the first thing we noticed when we arrived and we were made to feel welcome from the onset. Their local knowledge is also first rate, and for all first-timers please make sure they show you their "loop" touring route if you're looking to get a feel for the surrounding communities. We stayed in the Traver Room, and while it was beautifully appointed I think we would have been more comfortable in The Esselstyn Suite because it's more spacious. So if you want a larger room go for The Esselstyn Suite. I know we will the next time we're in Hudson. And I would be remiss if I didn't mention Duncan's breakfasts, which were both on the healthier side and delicious. On our second morning we were the only guests in the house and we had a long and interesting chat with Duncan. Clearly a highlight. It was during our conversation we learned they bought their produce at Eger farms, so we checked it our for ourselves and brought home the most delicious fruit we've had all season. And that says a lot given we live in Long Island. Thank you Duncan and Russ for a memorable two days.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank rmb11282017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russell G, Owner at The Croff House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2017

You guys are awesome - thanks for the phenomenal review! First off, we love hearing you're already planning a return visit which means we'll have the pleasure of seeing you again. For us it's important to our guests feel welcome even before they arrive at the inn, and while they are with us to enjoy everything we have to offer - including personalized service and recommendations of what to do and see during their visit. All of our accommodations offer a variety of room sizes, amenities and costs to suit most guests preferences and budgets from the Edmonds Guest Room (our smallest and most affordable) to our Esselstyn Suite (our largest and most fully appointed). We're so happy to hear you are planning a return visit - we'll have the Esselstyn Suite all ready for you! Until then, enjoy the rest of your summer! (p.s. - weren't those melons and peaches unbelievable! : ) )

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017

We spent two nights at the Croff House in early August to attend a wedding and were delighted to find The Croff House so well-situated. The room was wonderful (we were in the suite), with a comfortable king-sized bed and a gorgeous and well-appointed bathroom. The location was perfect since we could walk anywhere in Hudson and yet it was so quiet. Russ and Duncan were great hosts and we appreciated Duncan's suggestion to see the Thomas Cole House across the Hudson from Olana which we truly enjoyed. There was everything in this b and b that you'd find in a 5 star hotel, including docking station, free Wi-Fi, and direct TV and Apple TV.

Room Tip: The suite had the only king-sized bed. This room faced the street but it was only a tiny dead-end la...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank ecf517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russell G, Owner at The Croff House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2017

It was such a pleasure having you both stay with us for your family's wedding weekend and we truly appreciate your fantastic comments about The Croff House. We're so happy your were comfortable in your suite (your eyes actually lit up when you spied the spacious king bed (although we do one in our Traver room)). We think the inn is ideally situated in Hudson: close enough for a short walk to everything downtown has to offer, yet far enough away to provide quiet and relaxation. We're glad you were able to take advantage of all the amenities and touches included in your guest room - including the "tech" most people come to rely on when away from home. We hope that you will return to our area again in the future and, when you do, we will be fortunate enough to welcome you back to The Croff House. Until then thanks so very much and all the best to you both!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hudson hotels
0.7 km away
The Barlow
The Barlow
#2 of 3 in Hudson
102 reviews
1 km away
St. Charles Hotel
St. Charles Hotel
#1 of 3 in Hudson
201 reviews
0.6 km away
26 Warren B & B
26 Warren B & B
#3 of 17 in Hudson
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Wm Farmer and Sons Boarding & Barroom
0.1 km away
Tiger House: The Inn at Hudson
0.3 km away
The Inn At 34
The Inn At 34
#4 of 17 in Hudson
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Croff House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Croff House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 5 Willard Pl, Hudson, NY 12534-2417
Region: United States > New York > Hudson
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Hudson
Price Range: HK$1,938 - HK$2,048 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Croff House Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
So what has made The Croff House the #1 Trip Advisor rated B&B in Hudson for over 9 years? We are proud of our reputation for providing outstanding, personalized service in a welcoming, warm environment with genuine hospitality. The interior spaces of the inn are designed with guest comfort in mind, not on trendy decor or quirky gimmicks. Our three course, freshly prepared breakfasts (using locally sourced ingredients when available) have become a hallmark of a stay with us. Our focus is on attention to detail and the little touches that make a stay at The Croff House exceptional. We think you'll agree with guests who have stayed with us - The Croff House is truly a 5-Star experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The Croff House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Croff House b&b
The Croff House Hotel Hudson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing