We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (394)
Filter reviews
394 results
Traveller rating
371
20
1
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
371
20
1
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews apple tv russ duncan chace suite bed and breakfast turn down service my husband and i wonderful hosts made us feel yogurt modern amenities hudson valley place to stay b bs within walking distance in town warren street breakfast was delicious
Filter
Updating list...
36 - 41 of 394 reviews
Reviewed 23 August 2017 via mobile

From the first moment we arrived Russ and Duncan made us so welcome, they are so warm and friendly. The Victorian house is beautifully restored with so much attention to detail. We only booked one night but I wished I had booked for longer. The room was so comfortable and the shower excellent. There were lovely touches like a scented candle in the room. There is a lovely outside terrace where you can sit after making yourself tea from the wide selection. Breakfast was delicious blueberry muffin, melon and yoghurt and an amazing quiche. Russ and Duncan are so helpful with everything including suggestions for dinner and places to visit. Cannot recommend enough.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Shazzavitali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russell G, Owner at The Croff House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2017

We realize guests have a wonderful selection of lodging options in Hudson and we so appreciate both your choosing to stay with us at The Croff House and for the amazingly terrific review of your stay! Like you, many folks who book a single night only stay usually regret not booking longer. Oh well - that just means you have to come back! It's important to us that the small details don't get overlooked and simple things like comfortable furnishings, fresh local fruit at breakfast, and genuine hospitality are things our guests most frequently remember about their visit with us. We hope when it's time to collect your daughter after her study abroad upstate, you will give us the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Croff House. So until then we thank you so very much for the superlative comments and wish you both all the best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2017

Duncan and Russ have a passion for what they do and it shows! This B and B excels in all things! Duncan's breakfasts were the highpoint of our three night stay. The bed was super comfortable, the towels were thick and luxurious, the toiletries smelled so good, the room was clean, the a/c worked, the location was convenient to loads of shops and excellent restaurants, the parking was easy and free! I could go on and on. Thank you to both of you for allowing us to stay in your magnificent, historic property. I will remember our stay each time I light our citrus candle that you so graciously gifted us.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank hinsdalemom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russell G, Owner at The Croff House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2017

Sometimes "Thank You" doesn't seem sufficient for such a spectacular review, but THANK YOU all the same! You guys had a LOT going on during your stay - P's birthday, your "Plant-stock" weekend, and getting out and seeing all that Hudson has to offer - that we're so happy you were able to also enjoy everything we offer our guests at The Croff House. Starting from our three-course, freshly prepared breakfast all the way to our complimentary evening turndown service we try to think of everything our guests could want to make their time with us exceptional. Based on your comments it seems we were able to accomplish just that. Our hope is that when your travel plans bring you back our way you'll stay with us once again at The Croff House. Until then we hope the candle brings back fond memories of your stay and wish you both all the best! Our sincerest thanks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2017

We spent two nights at the Croff House last week and it exceeded our expectations on many levels. This was our first visit to Hudson and staying with Duncan and Russ enhanced our overall trip experience. Their hospitality was the first thing we noticed when we arrived and we were made to feel welcome from the onset. Their local knowledge is also first rate, and for all first-timers please make sure they show you their "loop" touring route if you're looking to get a feel for the surrounding communities. We stayed in the Traver Room, and while it was beautifully appointed I think we would have been more comfortable in The Esselstyn Suite because it's more spacious. So if you want a larger room go for The Esselstyn Suite. I know we will the next time we're in Hudson. And I would be remiss if I didn't mention Duncan's breakfasts, which were both on the healthier side and delicious. On our second morning we were the only guests in the house and we had a long and interesting chat with Duncan. Clearly a highlight. It was during our conversation we learned they bought their produce at Eger farms, so we checked it our for ourselves and brought home the most delicious fruit we've had all season. And that says a lot given we live in Long Island. Thank you Duncan and Russ for a memorable two days.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank rmb11282017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russell G, Owner at The Croff House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2017

You guys are awesome - thanks for the phenomenal review! First off, we love hearing you're already planning a return visit which means we'll have the pleasure of seeing you again. For us it's important to our guests feel welcome even before they arrive at the inn, and while they are with us to enjoy everything we have to offer - including personalized service and recommendations of what to do and see during their visit. All of our accommodations offer a variety of room sizes, amenities and costs to suit most guests preferences and budgets from the Edmonds Guest Room (our smallest and most affordable) to our Esselstyn Suite (our largest and most fully appointed). We're so happy to hear you are planning a return visit - we'll have the Esselstyn Suite all ready for you! Until then, enjoy the rest of your summer! (p.s. - weren't those melons and peaches unbelievable! : ) )

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017

We spent two nights at the Croff House in early August to attend a wedding and were delighted to find The Croff House so well-situated. The room was wonderful (we were in the suite), with a comfortable king-sized bed and a gorgeous and well-appointed bathroom. The location was perfect since we could walk anywhere in Hudson and yet it was so quiet. Russ and Duncan were great hosts and we appreciated Duncan's suggestion to see the Thomas Cole House across the Hudson from Olana which we truly enjoyed. There was everything in this b and b that you'd find in a 5 star hotel, including docking station, free Wi-Fi, and direct TV and Apple TV.

Room Tip: The suite had the only king-sized bed. This room faced the street but it was only a tiny dead-end lane with no traffic.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank ecf517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russell G, Owner at The Croff House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2017

It was such a pleasure having you both stay with us for your family's wedding weekend and we truly appreciate your fantastic comments about The Croff House. We're so happy your were comfortable in your suite (your eyes actually lit up when you spied the spacious king bed (although we do one in our Traver room)). We think the inn is ideally situated in Hudson: close enough for a short walk to everything downtown has to offer, yet far enough away to provide quiet and relaxation. We're glad you were able to take advantage of all the amenities and touches included in your guest room - including the "tech" most people come to rely on when away from home. We hope that you will return to our area again in the future and, when you do, we will be fortunate enough to welcome you back to The Croff House. Until then thanks so very much and all the best to you both!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2017

My husband and I spent two nights at the Croff House mid-week in July. It was our first time in Hudson and the Croff House was the perfect place to stay. Less than a 5-minute walk to the main street (Warren) with all of the shops and restaurants. Russ & Duncan made our stay comfortable and they were very welcoming hosts. The breakfasts were amazingly delicious and kept us full all day long. The only recommendation I would make is to provide coffee in addition to the tea offered in the afternoon... after walking all day, we needed a pick-me-up. Thank you Russ & Duncan for a great stay in Hudson!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Esselstyn Suite which was spacious and comfortable with a large bathroom.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank NewJerseySmh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russell G, Owner at The Croff House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2017

Thanks so much for the superb review! It's always great to hear how much our guests enjoyed their stay with us, including everything The Croff House offers to make their stay memorable from our multi-course breakfast, to our in-room amenities, to the service we provide. We agree that the inn is ideally located to all the Hudson has to offer yet quiet and peaceful for a relaxing and comfortable stay. As for coffee in the afternoon: we certainly couldn't compete with all the amazing places in town for that afternoon caffeine "fix" you were looking for (Moto, Rev, Patisserie Lenox, Verdigris, Nolita, and more). Next time you're in Hudson you need to give at least one of them a try - you'll agree! So until then, many thanks and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews