We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Make time for Thyme in the Country!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Thyme in the Country
Ranked #11 of 17 Hudson B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 12 October 2017

Mary was the perfect owner and hostess! The house is very comfortable, with a creative mix of old and new decorations and furnishings. Mary made afternoon and evening snacks, and the breakfast contained fresh and delicious greens, tomatoes, herbs, and other food from her gardens. We ate outside at the picnic table the second morning, which was so pleasant; the whole property is gorgeous. It was fun talking to the guests, as none of us were in a hurry to go anywhere. Also on the property is the chicken coup, the pond, inground pool, the gardens, and the alpaca farm nearby. We really enjoyed our romantic anniversary weekend.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are on the second floor, except for the Eco Cottage
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank familymemory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (79)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 79 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2017 via mobile

What a sweet place! We booked the eco lodge at the last minute without knowing what to expect. What a treat! Amazing casual setting with ' way too good food' fresh from the owners garden. As soon as we arrive we felt at home. I did not want to leave!! Many thanks! We will be back. X

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Ysabel007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017

Just got back from an idyllic trip at Thyme in the Country in Hudson, NY. I chose this B&B as a fun getaway for my sister and me. Mary was lovely, warm, accommodating, and communicative from the very beginning. In spite of being unable to greet us at the door, she made sure that we knew how to get into the home and find our room. We were welcomed by a beautiful basket of fresh apples, and donuts with tea on the kitchen counter. I couldn't think of a more warm, cozy start to our trip. Mary knows what she is doing!

The rooms are clean and quaint. There are two living rooms, one of which is filled with books and a wood-burning fireplace (which we so exquisitely made use of on our second night, with the accompaniment of hot cinnamon tea and freshly baked chocolate cake). We definitely felt the charm of the country life during our stay, which was a perfect break from the business of NYC. There are beautiful farms and orchards all along the drive to Thyme in the Country, making it a beautiful drive up to the B&B, as well as the perfect spot for daytime adventures and hikes. Thyme in the Country is also located right off of the main street, making it an excellent rest point when trying to get to/from Rhinebeck, Kinderhook, Hudson, etc.

On top of all of this, Mary is just a lovely human being. She is so warm and pleasant to be around. She has really enriched her B&B with her aura, and you really feel it from the second you walk in. Please consider staying here if you are looking for a relaxing, humble, nourishing time in rural, upstate NY

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank gtmah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2017

We had a destination wedding in Hudson, NY and did not want to stay in town. Thyme in the Country was one of the recommended places that accompanied the wedding invitation and we had a very pleasant stay. It's no more than 15 minutes outside of Hudson but in farmland area with field crops and lots of apple trees that were loaded with fruit. Temperatures were quite cool for this time of year and Mary told us where the down comforter was if we needed a little more warmth at night (we did!).

We had large evening meals, so breakfast was on the light side for us. Homemade granola, yogurt and the most wonderful tasting peaches that we've had in some while was enough. If you plan on exploring the Hudson River valley, this is a convenient and wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
herbalthyme, Owner at Thyme in the Country, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2017

Thank you so MUCH! for taking the thyme to write that review. I loved meeting you both and our conversations about places and things we have in common. So glad you had a good stay in our area and please come back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2017

I throughly enjoyed my time at Thyme in the Country. It's a great place to come and unwind from the busyness of life. Read by the pool or take a stroll around the property and surrounding area. No matter what you choose to do, I am sure you will enjoy the relaxing, laid back atmosphere of this great b&b.

Mary, the innkeeper, is very friendly and welcoming. The breakfast was very tasty- I even got the recipe to make it at home! The room was clean and comfortable. It was nicely laid out with plenty of room to sit, read, and chill out.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
Thank Jonny D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
herbalthyme, Owner at Thyme in the Country, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2017

Thank you so much for reviewing our property. I do hope you will come again we enjoyed meeting you very much. In the meantime happy travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hudson hotels
7.9 km away
The Barlow
The Barlow
#2 of 3 in Hudson
102 reviews
7.7 km away
St. Charles Hotel
St. Charles Hotel
#1 of 3 in Hudson
201 reviews
8.6 km away
The Croff House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 km away
26 Warren B & B
26 Warren B & B
#3 of 17 in Hudson
165 reviews
8.7 km away
The Inn At 34
The Inn At 34
#4 of 17 in Hudson
63 reviews
8.6 km away
Tiger House: The Inn at Hudson
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thyme in the Country? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thyme in the Country

Address: 671 Fish and Game Rd, Hudson, NY 12534-9105
Region: United States > New York > Hudson
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Hudson
Price Range: HK$774 - HK$1,407 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Six miles east of Hudson, NY, Thyme in the Country Bed and Breakfast is a peaceful retreat to a warm, wholesome and utterly heartfelt style of hospitality. The charming mix of handmade cabinetry, antique furnishings, jugs of flowers, eggs from the hens, farm fresh milk make for a quiet, relaxing, home-away-from home experience. The owners of this 1880‘s Farmhouse are committed to sustainable living and green principles are incorporated into everything we do-"from the food we serve to the electricity we use. The Koches will help you enjoy the historic and scenic Hudson River Valley and reduce your carbon footprint too. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Thyme in the Country reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing