We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (297)
Filter reviews
297 results
Traveller rating
268
23
4
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
268
23
4
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews all ages year after year splash pad sunny hill resort extended family family vacation monster truck family style paddle boats every summer kids and adults fire engine dining hall whole family columbus day weekend catskill mountains disney world
Filter
Updating list...
37 - 42 of 297 reviews
Reviewed 1 October 2017

Often I hear people say this course is too 'short.' Truth is it is not a long driver course, but that makes it a challenge. Don't have a good short game? You will be punished. The greens are in good shape, fast and sloped. Most are elevated to add another level of difficulty. There are very few hazards, but that doesn't make it any easier to get that little ball into the hole.
And then there are the views of the magnificent Catskill escarpment. East to west panorama.

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Tom C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GailNicholsen, Owner at Sunny Hill Resort and Golf Course, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

Thanks for the great perspective. Hopefully our course didn't punish you Tom and glad you took the time to take in those spectacular mountains.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2017

Never disappointed! Sunny Hill is a gem! Family owned and operated, this "oasis" takes you back to the "old days" of vacationing in the Catskills, but with modern twists!
Spotless rooms, casual/family style meals, and excellent internet connection! . All meals are "family-style" - not fancy, but plentiful and tasty (gotta say, I LOVE their Monday meatloaf!!), with numerous choices & alternatives. On their play & stay package. we enjoyed unlimited golf on TWO courses, Sunny Hill (Par 66) and Thunderhart (Par 72).
Aside from golf, in the summer. this is a wonderful, safe family resort, with plenty of activities and attractions for children and teens.

Room tip: Austland has a great veranda with excellent views (either floor), next to the dining room (our favorite!). We stayed on the upper floor.
Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank jharkin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GailNicholsen, Owner at Sunny Hill Resort and Golf Course, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2017

So glad you had remarkable weather as well during your stay. Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. I'll be sure to pass along your compliments to our staff as well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2017

Our sixteenth family visit on this same weekend. Our waitress, Donna, was better than ever with her welcome and perfect service.
Highlights have changed with a grown family. The Nicholsen Viking obstacle course, golf and basketball took priority. Nights with the live DJ and Bingo on Sunday were fun.
It's always difficult to leave our "bit of heaven".

Room tip: Make your reservations well in advance.
Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank maher2311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GailNicholsen, Owner at Sunny Hill Resort and Golf Course, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2017

So glad that we are able to keep the experience fresh for your family as you grown and expand. Thank you for your patronage... and we'll pass along the great review to Donna as well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2017

We just came back from Sunny Hill and were so impressed with the entire weekend that we can't wait to go back. The staff was so nice and helpful. The views from the resort are just terrific with the mountains and immaculate property. All you could eat family style meals, golf and cart included, comfortable room, entertainment at night including dancing and monster truck rides, surrey rides and many more fun rides around the property. The golf courses were among the most enjoyable we have played. We saw deer and turkeys out on the course each day plus the mountain views. We had a very pleasant ride from central ma (2 1/2 hours only). They had a huge game room that had a fun miniature golf course, bocce court, ping pong tables and more. Huge outdoor pool and kids pool were still open in Sept. We had a fun cookout on Sat night with all you could eat steamers and steaks. There is a nice lake with watercraft and fishing. Lots to do other than golfing but we loved the golf. I can't say enough about all this place has to offer and the unbelievable rates. We spoke with people that have been going here for 40 years for a family vacation. I don't know how anyone could not have a great time here! We went for the golf but enjoyed our entire stay.

Room tip: we had a small room which was fine but we checked out bigger ones for next time
Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank WhalefromWorc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GailNicholsen, Owner at Sunny Hill Resort and Golf Course, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2017

Thank you for joining us and taking the time to review your stay. The weekend isn't long but it sounds like you had no problem enjoying many of the amenities we have to offer. Fall golf in the Great Northern Catskills is spectacular. Hope to have you back with us again next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2017

I had the pleasure of going to Sunny Hill for the first time. Had no idea what to expect. What a resort! Golf, tennis, pool, food, food and more food! Our package was all - inclusive. Staff was very informable for places to drive to and sites to visit. Golf was just perfect on Sunny Hill, the Thunderhill looked nice as well. Nice entertainment for all ages.
This weekend was the Steak and Steamers. Yummy. At night they have all different vehicles that can take you for a fun ride through the terrain. Monster truck is a definite must to try. Families came back from being there when they were kids. Great to have a family reunion there. Can't wait to go back!

Room tip: Our room was fine, if you're tall you might want to ask for a room with a king bed.
Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BoylstonTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GailNicholsen, Owner at Sunny Hill Resort and Golf Course, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2017

Thank you BoylstonTraveler. So nice to hear that your first experience with Sunny Hill was a memorable one. Would love to welcome you back to our Spring Free Golf and Steak Roast weekend as well. Why wait til next Fall?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews