We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotels.com
Booking.com
Official Site
Agoda.com
FindHotel
Expedia
View all 7 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,002)
Filter reviews
1,002 results
Traveller rating
374
325
155
83
65
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
374
325
155
83
65
Show reviews that mention
All reviews road noise north fork room suite private deck beautiful view continental breakfast lounge chairs get away hard boiled eggs long island overlooking the water granola shelter island waves shelves summer kitchenette
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 1,002 reviews
Reviewed 3 April 2021

Just our 2nd time in a hotel in over a year, we chose Sound View because we had multiple friends who recommended it. Maybe in the summer when the bars and restaurant are open, the vibe is nice. But our experience was bad. I'm not one to complain to management but I felt this was justifiable because the hotel and room were not as advertised. They gave us a refund on 2 nights & no amenity fees (which no one should pay with the hotel in its current state).

There was a small note in the check in email that there was road work happening but this was full-on construction both on the road and on the property. We were not greeted by employees who should have helped us navigate the construction (maybe even give us a hard hat lol) but instead we were greeted with an excavator working away right in front of our hotel room. Any employees we passed every day didn't even look at us or say hello - felt very unfriendly.

Our room in the 200 building was on the 2nd floor and the advertised "private deck" was NOT private - they tore the walls down. So we saw kids and other couples when we sat outside. In covid times it was a little unsettling that our table in the room was dirty and there was some glass stuck in the rug. The all-glass wall/doors that lead out to the balcony overlooking the water were so dirty and speckled/worn that you couldn't get a clear view when looking through them. Also - the cleaning staff should nicely set up the chairs and table that are out on the deck. When we got there the chairs were just kind of tossed anywhere, on their sides like there was a wild party outside the night before.

Then finally, I'm surprised anyone can stand the noise of the highway. We woke up before 7am every day not by choice. First it was huge trucks driving down the highway starting at 6am, then the construction at 7am.

Maybe if you're in the 300 building (which I think are the most expensive suites) it's not as bad but we won't ever go back nor can I imagine paying even more than we did already to stay there.

Nice towels though.

Date of stay: March 2021
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vrojas331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Front Desk SVG, Guest Services / Front Office at Sound View Greenport, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2021

vrojas331,

We do apologies for the issues you experienced during your stay. Our staff on site should be warm and welcoming to make it feel like a true getaway.

The deck dividers are currently down for the season due to the winter weather.

The construction taking place out front of our property is to make great improvements in the near future, and apologize for any disruption it did cause. We hope we can welcome you back in the future to our wonderful property.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2021

Gorgeous view, very pleasant staff, wonderful accessibility to beach, dog-friendly. Web site did not reflect restaurant availability accurately. Bedding and towels were very comfortable and soft. Room doors were difficult to open and lock. A request for room amenity was acknowledged but not followed through on.

Date of stay: March 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank CBartholomew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Front Desk SVG, Guest Services / Front Office at Sound View Greenport, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2021

We are glad you enjoyed your stay and apologize for the mishap with the restaurant. We hope we can welcome you back in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2021

My daughters and I wanted to get away locally. The Sound View was perfect. The staff was friendly, the rooms were clean. The view of the sound was breath taking. It is conveniently located near many restaurants and cute shops!

Date of stay: March 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank eileenc7124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Front Desk SVG, Guest Services / Front Office at Sound View Greenport, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2021

Thank you for the kind review! We're glad you and your daughter enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you both again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2021

We have stayed at least a few hundred hotels for work and holidays in the world and this was one of the worst experience, which is really shocking, given that we have stayed in very rough places for our work and we were expecting simple nice getaway for the family. We did not expect such bad quality service when paying 600$ for our room per night. No hot water in the evenings. Can’t get through the the reception. Making complaints about lack of hot water but no reply or calls back to fix it. No soap or other essentials provided. Paper thin walls and ceilings, being kept up by loud footsteps above us until 1 am. Roadside construction starting at 7 am despite being told during reserving our rooms that the construction would not start until 9 am. No daily room cleaning. No daily cleaning? For 600$ a night? Really disappointing. Planning to leave earlier than what we had booked for. Awful.

Date of stay: March 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Mikasparkle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Front Desk SVG, Guest Services / Front Office at Sound View Greenport, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2021

Mika,

We do apologize for your experience at our property. The issues you raised to our staff should have been completed and followed up with as soon as we had an answer for you.

In the midst of COVID, our housekeeping stayover services have been a bit limited and should have been shared with you at check in. We do apologize if that was not brought to your attention.

We do apologize again for all of these issues, and I hope discussing a solution in person did help with a few of these issues.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2021

Lovely& serene. The perfect getaway that’s not too far from NYC. The accommodations were spacious and comfortable but also provided privacy. It truly felt like a home away from home. Will certainly visit again!

Date of stay: March 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Diana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Front Desk SVG, Guest Services / Front Office at Sound View Greenport, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2021

Thank you for the positive review! We're glad we could accommodate you comfortably here for your North Fork getaway and we would be happy to see you again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews