We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm and welcoming, fun for Family”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Durham
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hull-O Farms, Family Farm Vacations
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 August 2017

We live in the city and my eight-year old daughter really didn't know a thing about farms and farm animals, so we wanted to introduce her to a lifestyle with which we were [a bit] more familiar. It is one thing to take your child to see animals somewhere, but quite another to introduce the child to the lifestyle of the farm, the necessity to do "chores," to feed the animals, to have that kind of responsibility. This was a great experience for these reasons. The Hull Family was very kind. We did not like the first accommodations and they graciously changed them and then we were so very pleased! My daughter was sobbing when we left, and we all enjoyed our stay very much. We hope to return next summer.

Room Tip: You may not stay in walking distance to the main farmhouse, barn, etc., as there are only two houses...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stacy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cook51, Owner at Hull-O Farms, Family Farm Vacations, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2017

Hi Stacy,
Thank you so much for your lovely post. I am so glad to know that you enjoyed you vacation including the chores.
What a pleasure it was to meet you and your family. It 's folks like yourself who are open to new experiences and have a flair for the adventurous that continue to inspire and motivate us to share our little corner of paradise up here in the Catskill Mountains.
Looking forward to your next visit. Hugs to All !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (135)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 135 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2017

We traveled with our young daughter and family, who also had young children. Everyone (including adults) had an amazing time! Got to experience a little of farm life, with lots of activities for the whole family. We were very busy, and enjoyed breakfast and dinner together, which was tons of food and very comfortable quarters. The owners were very hospitable to us, and we felt like part of the family. A memorable experience and great alternate to the more tradition types of vacations. The kids keep talking about it. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank 207kj1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2017

I always love supporting family owned businesses. This family owned farm is very special along with the family who run it. Real people that put their heart and soul into everything they do. Whether it's cooking family style homemade meals or working along side with them as they take care of their farm and animals. They make you feel welcomed and warm even if you don't have a clue about farm living. I enjoyed the farm, the company and the food. Truly a wonderful experience!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2017 via mobile

We had a great time at this farm. Working with all of the animals and the family makes for a truly special trip. Breakfast is a special treat. Would highly recommend to anyone who wants to connect with nature while spending quality family time. Attractions near by make for even more fun.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Bob R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2017

Hullo-O Farms was amazing from start to finish and offers a great value. It's essentially an all inclusive vacation including food, activities, and a place to stay.

There are countless activities for the family to participate in. Our kids enjoyed playing with the cats, gathering the cows from pasture, milking the cows, swinging on the tire swings, fishing, eating smores by the campfire, hanging out with Jared and the rest of the farm family, running around and playing with the other kids. There are other typical farm activities just depending on the day. There was one sheep that need to be sheered, another day one of the baby calves had escaped. All experiences were genuine and 100% authentic.

In many ways, this was a step back in time to live like we all used to live. It's a lesson on where food comes from and what farming is genuinely like. That experience itself is incredible, but what really makes it tremendous are the hosts and the cooking.

Sherry, the host mother is a remarkable woman. For meals, she cooks breakfast and dinner. The home cooked, farm fresh meals were incredible. Pot roast from farm cow, home made breads, fresh eggs, multiple kinds of french toast and pancakes all made this experience unforgettable. The meals were included in the price, so you need to adjust your thinking on the total cost to account for this.

Jared, Sherry's son and fellow farmer was incredible with our kids. Our kids adored him and I'm sure if you read other reviews, you'll find this is consistently true. It doesn't take long to feel involved with this family.

The options for where to stay were very pleasant. Our kids loved our house. Plenty of space and on a stunning setting.

Wireless works around the main house, but you probably won't have a signal where you are sleeping. I like to be plugged in 24 hours a day, but it was no big deal to walk over to the house to get a signal and pump out a few work emails or make a phone call. Otherwise, I had downloaded some videos ahead of time. The homes have working TVs and ours had 2 bathrooms with one having been completely redone.

In all, for my family, this was an unforgettable experience and the others we met there are felt the same way. A must-do experience.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank BrianL412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Durham
5.8 km away
Captains Inn Point Lookout
2.9 km away
The Country Place Resort at Zoom Flume Water Park
8.9 km away
Michael Dee's Motel / Country Campsites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hull-O Farms, Family Farm Vacations? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hull-O Farms, Family Farm Vacations

Address: 10 Cochrane Rd, Durham, NY 12422-5225
Region: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Durham
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Durham
Price Range: HK$859 - HK$976 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We share our family farm vacations and all-natural meats and produce with people from around the world who want to understand and experience a part of their history. By helping with farming tasks, you can watch your children or grandchildren milk a cow, feed pigs, or collect eggs for the first time. Learning about farm life in rural upstate New York, from a real farmer, is a unique educational experience that many claim to be "€œpriceless!" ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hull-o Farms, Family Farm Vacations Hotel Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing