We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (59)
Filter reviews
59 results
Traveller rating
19
27
9
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
19
27
9
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews nothing fancy maintained property kaaterskill falls shuffle board game playground seesaw grounds tile mattresses mike
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 59 reviews
Reviewed 29 September 2016

This is a quiet family owned motel with a variety of units on the edge of the Catskill Mountains about 6 miles from the town of Catskill on the Hudson River. However, only the limited number of rooms with kitchenettes have coffee makers, and coffee is not available in the office. The restaurant next door did not open for breakfast until 9:00 AM on Sunday, was closed on Monday, and did not serve breakfast on Tuesday. Those who need to start the day with coffee can drive 2.5 miles to a convenience store at the intersection of Routes 32 and 23A.

Room Tip: We stayed in a second floor room which has a creaky floor for anyone below.
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Lawrence B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MikeyGu, Owner at Red Ranch Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2017

In response to the cutback of morning hours in the restaurant next door, all rooms now have coffee makers in them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2016

Red Ranch is an average roadside motel. It's clean and well kept, although a little bit noisy due to it's proximity to Rt 32. There are not many amenities other than wi-fi and an outdoor pool, but for the price, it's good. There's also a very good Italian restaurant / brew pub right next door.

Room Tip: On the ground floor, it was noisy from people walking around in the room above me.
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Joe K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2016

My family and I just got back from a short trip to the Catskills. The Red Ranch motel is well located,at the crossroads of everything. There's a little farm and produce down the road; a nice looking popular Italian restaurant next door and the motel itself is very quaint and lovely. The red ranch reminds you of a ranch with its bright red color and the landscaping is beautiful- lovely pool; nice grounds with swing sets for the kids and ping pong and shuffleboard and a game room for the older ones. There are lovely shady trees around the property We had a kitchenette with a nice sized kitchen, stocked with whatever you could need; a nice size bathroom and two bedrooms.The owners keep the place immaculate and it shows. The motel is right off a very well traveled road but with the air conditioner on and even without, the traffic noise was not intrusive. The owners are nice and helpful and the only complaint I would have is that the beds were not that comfortable. However, that said, I would still recommend this quaint lovely place in the countryside.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jackie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2016

I have been coming here about once every five years for about 25 years. It has barely changed. They have the same owner and staff. The place is kept VERY clean. It does look old because it is. Beds are comfortable. Great that unlike more modern motels you can park right at your door if you are on the first floor. I like being able to unpack in two minutes then making multiple trips. Good restaurant next door. Convenient to the mountains and Woodstock. Nice, but chilly, pool.

Room Tip: You can park right at your door if your room is on the first floor.
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pennsypete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2015

Was glad to find this motel since there wasn't a lot to choose from in the area. We paid a little extra for more comfortable accommodations, the building in the back. We were happy to see our room, a little dated but no problem with that. Everything seemed to be clean and comfy enough for us. There's a restaurant next door and was promptly told by the proprietor that it was not their restaurant. This motel does not offer any breakfast, microwave or coffee makers in the room. They offer free wifi but is the worst I've ever encountered at a motel that offers it, be prepared to use your own data to get on the internet. With the price we paid for our room I'm not complaining about any of the previous haves or have-nots to give any other rating but 4 or 5 stars. When we first checked in it looked like we were the only ones in this building except for one other vehicle. When we went to the restaurant to eat and came back there were a few more vehicles, no problem. BUT, after a few minutes we heard lots of people dragging chairs to the room next to ours, talking loud with very foul language and lasted until around 1:00 am, maybe later. This was very frustrating and impossible to sleep. There is a sign in the room that says "no loud noises after 10:00 pm" but they surely didn't pay attention to that! The lights in the office were off so we assumed the owners were either gone or asleep. I still would stay here again but I would have to stress that the loud party atmosphere would not happen again anywhere close to us.

Room Tip: There are 3 buildings, the building in the back is where we stayed and read beforehand that one had the best beds.
Stayed: October 2015, travelled with family
Thank CHold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews