We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (356)
Filter reviews
357 results
Traveller rating
294
43
10
5
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
294
43
10
5
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews master suite rooftop room de kelders whale watching walker bay bring your own bottle fabulous breakfast nespresso coffee machine fantastic views mini bar perfect hosts thank you so much sauna kate lodge bathtub whales
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 357 reviews
Reviewed 21 September 2018

My partner and I stayed in the Master Room which was very luxurious and tastefully decorated. We could watch whales from our window and terrace!
There is a nice walk along the cliffs around the bay very close by. Blessed, Kate and the team were all friendly, polite and catered for our every need. I would wholeheartedly recommend this place and would happily stay there again.
Blessed kindly booked a table at a nearby restaurant, Tyme at Rosemarys, which was a fabulous meal (great vegetarian platter) which I would also highly recommend.
If you would like to relax in luxury with great service in a sweet town- then this is the place for you!

Room Tip: The Master Room had the best views of the ocean being up a bit higher.
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Seana W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seastar1, Manager at Sea Star Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2018

Dear Seana

We do hope you traveled well. Thank you for taking your time to send a lovely review of your stay with us. We are happy that you loved the overall look of the house. A big thank you for the staff compliments we really feel encourage to keep doing our very best.

We do hope to welcome you once again in the future.

Kind regards
Blessed, Kate & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2018

Excellent service from Blessed and his team. Lovely establishment, beautiful views and friendly on hand service. Will gladly refer and go back ourselves one day. Nice and quiet and added extra touches like a glass of wine at sundowners or afternoon muffins. Blessed is such a humble and hard working manager and will go out of his way for his guests at all times. Tks again.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank mgende903718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seastar1, Manager at Sea Star Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2018

Dear Sea star Guest

Thank you for choosing to stay with us, it was a great pleasure to meet you and your present was heart warming. We are very much delighted and encouraged that you enjoyed the service and your stay in General. We wish you well and hope to welcome you once again in the future.

Kind regards
Blessed,Kate & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2018

The perfect place to watch whales and sunset even from your room, or from the hotel´s terrace, the view is truly amazing. The staff is really nice and always happy to support you. The hotel is really beautiful and nicely decorated, always very clean, and even has a sauna and a couple of gym equipment. The breakfast is just amazing; there is no dinner available in the hotel but a clear wide offering nearby and lots of recommendations, pay attention to opening times and need for reservation; there are some pastries available in the afternoon at the hotel.Hermanus is about 45 min drive also really nice place and a bit bigger than Gansbaai with further offerings for view and restaurants, bars etc. In both places you have companies offering shark diving and Whale watching experiences.We would go back to this hotel the next time we visit SA.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank CHetzD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seastar1, Manager at Sea Star Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2018

Dear Hetz

We really thank you for taking your time to send a lovely review of your stay with us. We are pleased that you liked the decor, Breakfast and the service as a whole.
We are certainly encouraged to do more, we aim to offer the best service in Bed and breakfast for a memorable stay.
We hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday and hope to see you once again in the future.

Kind regards
Blessed,Kate & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2018

Location - Great. View - Fantastic, Room amazing. Host couple Blessed and Kate - Wonderful professional people.The room was way beyond our expectation and the attention to detail was truly amazing. The breakfast in the morning was 5 star. Even has a Sauna and massage chair! Great value for money.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank rdeane561836
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2018 via mobile

A * for location, view, whales, room, personal service, smiles and breakfast. What’s more to say?

Breathtaking room views will bring you back to nature. A short walk to Kloeks@home (bring your own bottle) will sort your empty tummy and a 2 minute drive to Walkers Bay will sooth your soul. It’s a real hidden gem here. Well done to the SeaStar team for making our three days so enjoyable- you obviously work very hard to make it so special. Supersonic!

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
Thank jonathanharrismoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seastar1, Manager at Sea Star Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2018

Dear Jonathan

It was a great pleasure to host you and your family. We greatly appreciate you for sending an honest review of your stay with us and we are happy that the surrounding made your stay even more special. We really feel encouraged to do more while enjoying what we do everyday.
We strive to deliver quality service to all our guest for a memorable stay. We hope to welcome you once again in the future.

Kind regards
Blessed,Kate & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews