We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
TripadvisorUS$111
Agoda.com
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (403)
Filter reviews
404 results
Traveller rating
326
69
6
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
326
69
6
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rock pools other guests long table the main house swartberg mountains walking trails interesting people bird table breakfast and dinner dirt road night skies off grid bird life peace and quiet nature lovers buffet style amazing scenery
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 404 reviews
Reviewed 15 May 2021

We stayed at the retreat at Groenfontein for one night on our way back to Cape Town. It was really an amazing place that I’d like to go back to.

Great hikes around the farm and friendly hospitable hosts that made our stay unforgettable.

Thanks to everyone that made our stay so special from Marie’s welcome to all the staff that helped us with luggage and even washed my car. Dinner was quite a festive occasion meeting new people and delicious food.

Date of stay: April 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank JulesJhb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2021

We loved our stay at The Retreat. Our room was comfortable, spacious and most attractively decorated - with superb views across the valley to the mountains. The trails have been thoughtfully and clearly laid out by Marie, including several different levels of difficulty to suit everyone and there is a good map to follow too. Meals were delicious and we very much enjoyed the company of Merle and Ronnie, together with Marie and Grant. We even had a go at rowing -not very successfully - on the dam, while my husband swam several times in the beautiful rock pools along the Nel River and had his toes nibbled by the fish! We loved the silence and the beauty of the surroundings. The Retreat is a very special place.

Date of stay: April 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank JudoK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marie Holstensson, Owner at The Retreat at Groenfontein, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thanks you very much for the very kind review. We're very happy that you enjoyed the room, the meals and the walking trails!
We hope to be able to welcome you for another visit!
With many thanks and kind regards
Marie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2021

What a wonderful setting and so so peaceful. A very friendly welcome, lovely accommodation and excellent food. A pity we could not enjoy the long walks because it rained (in the Karoo?!?!?!) but we did get to the dam and managed to have a quick dip in the pool. Thanks to Grant & Marie and Ronnie & Merle - I recommend this place to anyone looking for peace and quiet!

Date of stay: April 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Widgey222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marie Holstensson, Owner at The Retreat at Groenfontein, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thanks very much for very kind words. We are happy that you enjoyed the room and our meals!
Hope that you lwill be able to visit again and that the weather will allow you to tackle some of our walking trails!
With many thanks and best regards
Marie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2021

The Retreat was a wonderful choice for our getaway trip. It was our first visit and a pleasant stop over en route to Cape Town. The property is absolutely beautiful and the walks are amazing. We especially enjoyed the walks in the mountain where you are completely surrounded by nature and absolute quiet. Dinner was an experience and it was nice to meet new people around one table. Unfortunately the atmosphere was dampened by the animosity between the two owners who seemed to be having a disagreement with one another. Such an unfortunate situation as it caused tension at the dinner table for everyone present. However we were so grateful for the management couple, Ronnie and Meryl for rescuing the mood with superb conversation and outstanding and professional service. Our suggestion would be that the owners, who are well into their golden years, perhaps take a step back and allow the more than capable managers to deal personally with the guests.

Date of stay: April 2021
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Travelingtimers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marie Holstensson, Owner at The Retreat at Groenfontein, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thanks very much for your very kind review. It was a great pleasure to meet you both!
Very happy that you enjoyed our walks and meals!
I am considering your suggestion, and should you visit again, you will find a change.
Hope to be able to welcome you again, should your travels bring you to the Klein Karoo.
With best regards, Marie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2021

We spent a wonderful long weekend at the Retreat. The service was excellent. Staff very friendly and accommodation comfortable and delicious meals. Close to nature. Good for the soul ! I do recommend for nature lovers.

Date of stay: March 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank dscronje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marie Holstensson, Owner at The Retreat at Groenfontein, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2021

Thanks very much, Daan & Hanlé, for your extremely kind words! It was a great pleasure to host you and your charming youngsters. We look forward to another visit!
With best regards, Marie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews