We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning Oysters”

Chapter 1 Restaurant
Ranked #9 of 25 Restaurants in Dullstroom
Price range: US$1 - US$17
Description: Outstanding and contemporary artistically prepared dishes are hallmarks of this Fine dining venue located just off the main road through Dullstroom. A favourite venue for discerning and international travellers seeking a small, sophisticated and intimate dining experience. The Hidden Gem of Dullstroom. Outstanding breakfasts - . Elegant evening dining with a varied and regional menu of outstanding cuisine. Open for mlunch n Friday, Saturday and Sunday and public holidays. Bookings essential.
Restaurant details
Description: Outstanding and contemporary artistically prepared dishes are hallmarks of this Fine dining venue located just off the main road through Dullstroom. A favourite venue for discerning and international travellers seeking a small, sophisticated and intimate dining experience. The Hidden Gem of Dullstroom. Outstanding breakfasts - . Elegant evening dining with a varied and regional menu of outstanding cuisine. Open for mlunch n Friday, Saturday and Sunday and public holidays. Bookings essential.
Reviewed 23 February 2021

Just had the Oysters and wow...
The last thing I expected to find in Dullstroom were oysters. I have a great love for all things sea food and when I saw oysters I could not resist. This place just keeps getting better and better.

Date of visit: February 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank TeeVerster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (29)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 29 reviews

Reviewed 23 February 2021

This restaurant just gets better and better - incredible mussels and oysters and a selection of absolutely outstanding and varied dishes. This really is Art in food and worth every penny - incredibly well priced for the quality of food, service and ambience. Sometimes difficult to get a booking but definitely one of the best meals available - anywhere !!!

Date of visit: February 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank dave J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2020 via mobile

From start to finish the food is absolutely amazing. The springbok carpaccio was a lovely starter that soon was well accompanied by a trio of pork dish, this has to be the way pork was intended to be eaten as this is the best pork dish I have had. chef Nick is a magician in his kitchen and this can be seen in all his meal preparations but in the desert as well, a different twist on the creme brulee that was mind blowing. I highly recommend the Chapter 1 Restaurant.

Date of visit: December 2020
1  Thank Travellingporra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2020

So little time. so many words. But I will start with CHAPTER 1..... We have been returning to the Highlander for a couple of years now. On our last visit at the beginning of October, we experienced the Chapter 1 Restaurant. The food was out of this world! The chef puts the most amazing personal touch into every course that he plates. The food is an absolute culinary experience for anyone who appreciates fine dining. The staff as usual are attentive and make you feel as if you are the only people in the restaurant. The ambience is perfect for a romantic evening . I highly recommend Chapter 1 restaurant to anyone visiting Dullstroom.

Date of visit: October 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Loveroadtrip69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2020

We arrived for a Friday dinner, only to be pleasantly surprised with a free whisky tasting... John (The Owner) , very knowledgeable distinguished gentleman, gave us great insights into the various whisky regions and taste profiles.....is it whiskey or whisky...you need to go there to find out. The staff were attentive, sent emails to confirm bookings and they meet you at the door....it felt like a celebration of some sorts.

The FOOD!! was the highlight. ..easy on the eye, flavorful and generous portions. i recommend Chapter 1 to everyone who will be visiting Dullies. Loved it and I will return...SOON!

Date of visit: October 2020
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
1  Thank Camper09389103171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chapter 1 Restaurant also viewed

 
 

Been to Chapter 1 Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Hong Kong. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.