We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Safari for Mind, Body and Soul!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Garonga Safari Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 February 2007

My husband and I began our South Africa honeymoon at Garonga in January of this year. We found Garonga to be truly magical. In addition to fantastic game drives where we spent time tracking animals in the company of brilliant guides, Garonga really allows you to relax. Sleep in a hammock on the deck of your tented suite or by the pool, glance up from your book occasionally to notice an elephant has come to say hello! Bernie and his staff go to every effort to make sure your stay is perfect in every way. The sleepout comes highly recommended!

  • Stayed: January 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (372)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

329 - 333 of 372 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
London, England
124
Reviewed 19 January 2006

Garonga Safari Camp was the first place mum and I stayed on our first visit to South Africa... and what a start! We had no idea what to expect, neither of us having been on safari before and whilst the brochure and website capture something about the place they really don't do it justice.

We flew from Jo'burg to Hoedspruit which takes about 45 minutes and were collected from this tiny airport and transferred to the camp. Upon arrival, we were greeted with drinks and introduced to a couple of others who were 'in residence'.

The accommodation (tents) were wonderful (there are six) - really authentic and reminded me of something out of The Flintstones! The centrepiece of the room is the magnificent draped 4 poster bed and of course the outdoor shower - a little strange to start with! There are some really lovely touches in the room and often notes doused in aromatherapy oil left by the laundry ladies.

Most food and drink is fully inclusive - park fees, tourist levy and massage/aromatherapy if you want it are extras. Each evening, we were treated to a culinary delight and most evenings it was with the rest of the group which is great fun and an opportunity to discuss everything you've seen during the day. We met some really lovely people, some of whom had stayed in other parks and camps, and all agreed that Garonga was the most relaxing.

The safari side of things start at the crack of dawn - don't come here if you're expecting to see the Big 5 at each turn. Our guide, Lawrence, who is (sadly) and may well have already left the camp to work in the Kruger was wonderful and searched out so much for us - his absolute love and adoration for everything living was extraordinarily contagious. We even did an emergency stop one day for a trail of ants crossing the path! We saw all of the Big 5 that there is to see in this Game Reserve (there are no buffalo) plus loads more.

During the day we chose to either relax on our private balcony with hammock or by the pool, eat/drink, picnic in the treehouse or have a massage before heading off for our afternoon drive - we were totally and utterly pampered!

Just one word of warning - with the rain (we had just one night of it) comes the insects and they are huge (and generally flying!).

Also remember to take binoculars and lots of film.

Would recommend this place for everything and also suggest a stay of at least 3 nights.

  • Stayed: November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
24  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Sjoerd W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BERNARDO S, Owner at Garonga Safari Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank karstenm464
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BERNARDO S, Owner at Garonga Safari Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Eric P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BERNARDO S, Owner at Garonga Safari Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Makalali Private Game Reserve
21.5 km away
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
#2 of 2 in Balule Nature Reserve
273 reviews
16.1 km away
Naledi Bushcamp and Enkoveni Camp
Naledi Bushcamp and Enkoveni Cam...
#3 of 21 in Balule Nature Reserve
1,077 reviews
6.2 km away
Makalali Private Game Lodge
Makalali Private Game Lodge
#19 of 104 in Hoedspruit
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.7 km away
Bushriver Lodge
Bushriver Lodge
#7 of 104 in Hoedspruit
355 reviews
19.3 km away
Rukiya Safari Camp
Rukiya Safari Camp
#79 of 175 in Kruger National Park
60 reviews
26.9 km away
Muweti Bush Lodge
Muweti Bush Lodge
#1 of 5 in Grietjie Nature Reserve
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garonga Safari Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garonga Safari Camp

Address: Selati Portion 12, KT 143, Phalaborwa, 1390, Makalali Private Game Reserve 1380, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Makalali Private Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Makalali Private Game Reserve
Price Range: HK$2,326 - HK$8,592 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Garonga Safari Camp 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, South African Hotels and Booking.com so you can book your Garonga Safari Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garonga Safari Camp Hotel Makalali Private Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing