We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still as special as 15 years ago”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Garonga Safari Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 August 2017

We married at Garonga 15 years ago, and waited until our children are old enough to appreciate it before we returned. Once again, it did not disappoint. The drives were excellent, as was the service and the overall experience. Unfortunately, sleeping out on the deck where we were married was somewhat impacted by heavy winds, but we tied ourselves together and laughed our way through the night whilst staying warm under many blankets. It didn't ruin anything though. The kids loved their first experience of safari, and are already asking when we can return. Hopefully, not it another 15 years. Thanks again to all who made our stay special again. We cannot recommend it highly enough - it is a proper, luxury safari experience.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnimalDiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BERNARDO S, Owner at Garonga Safari Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2017

It was so nice to have you back and with your children to show where you "Tied the Knot".
The sleepout is an amazing experience but sometimes "Mother Nature" plays games.
We hope to see you back.
Best Wishes
Bernie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (379)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 379 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2017

Garonga Safari Camp is on the edge of Kruger Park and can be reached by an all-terrain vehicle in a 1 1/2 hours drive through wilderness. At the end of the journey, travelers find themselves surrounded by raw nature, a large water hole occupied at various times by elephants, antelopes, warthogs and other animals. The tents are open to the crisp, clean air, exotic birds and stealthy baboons during the day but extremely comfortable and attractive inside. The sitting and eating lodge, consisting of several terraced levels, is beautiful and invites guests to mingle and socialize over delicious food and beverages. Game drives start at sun rise every morning and are led by local experts whose skills at finding lions, leopards, rhinos, cheetahs, etc. are simply astounding. They are part of the multi-tasking staff of exceptionally well trained and friendly people of all ages. It may be in the middle of nowhere but Garonga Safari Camp feels like a piece of heaven on Earth- a place to return to someday

Stayed: July 2017
Thank Fred K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BERNARDO S, Owner at Garonga Safari Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2017

Very kind of you with your very positive feedback. Thanks.
We hope indeed to see you back one day.
Best Wishes
Bernie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2017

I recently visited Garonga again with my boyfriend and we absolutely loved our stay. We both work in the lodge industry and have been fortunate enough to visit a lot of different lodges in the Kruger area, but in my opinion Garonga is one of the best there is and I cannot recommend it enough. The staff are all so friendly, the lodge and rooms are simply stunning,the food is delicious and we had great game viewing. The lodge/camp experience at Garonga really is a cut above most other lodges I have visited. If you are thinking about visiting Garonga, just go ahead and book it, you will definitely not regret your decision. Thank you to everyone at Garonga!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Lily J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BERNARDO S, Owner at Garonga Safari Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2017

Thanks indeed to you both for such kind words. It was a pleasure hosting you, and so glad you enjoyed your stay at Garonga.
Best Wishes
Bernie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2017

This is a very special place, if your thinking about going, stop thinking and book it. You will not be disappointed. The tents are extremely comfortable. The food and service is perfect. I must say that the manager Charlotte needs a mention she is first rate. Very professional and accommodating. Without being over the top. What a star she is well done Charlotte. Bernardo the owner is very passionate about Garonga, and so he should be. It's fantastic. And all the staff are great. Thank you for a great holiday.

Room Tip: All rooms are good, if you have mobility issues, 3 and 4 are a good choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BERNARDO S, Owner at Garonga Safari Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2017

Thanks indeed for your feedback. Charlotte is indeed a Star.
We are very fortunate to have such great Staff , most of whom have been here since the beginning.
Best Regards
Bernie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2017

We've spend 3 nights at Garonga Safari camp and it was great!!
The tent (if you can call it that.....) is excellent, really good beds, great outdoor shower (and indoor ofcourse), nice touch that they have the electric blanket turned on when you arrive in your tent after dinner.
The game drives were outstanding, Jozia and Richard really went out of their way to show us all the animals!
Besides that all the rangers at Garonga make sure it's not too crowded when you find an animal. It's not like in some other places where there are 8 cars around 1 lion.

Everyone from the staff makes you feel at home.
We've also done the massage and the microflight, both which we can recommend!

It's a small lodge, only 12 people at a time, which makes it really intimate. After the evening game drive you have a drink with the other guests at the fire. Dinner is at a different place at the lodge every evening, toghether with the other guests, with your own party under the stars, at the boma.

All in all we've had a great time at Garonga and would love to come back!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Arentsen_family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BERNARDO S, Owner at Garonga Safari Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2017

Thanks indeed for your very positive feedback.
I am so happy you enjoyed your stay. The Microlite flight is indeed great fun and well recommended.
Best Regards
Bernie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Makalali Private Game Reserve
21.5 km away
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
#1 of 2 in Balule Nature Reserve
289 reviews
6.2 km away
Makalali Private Game Lodge
Makalali Private Game Lodge
#19 of 103 in Hoedspruit
335 reviews
19.3 km away
Rukiya Safari Camp
Rukiya Safari Camp
#82 of 176 in Kruger National Park
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.7 km away
Bushriver Lodge
Bushriver Lodge
#8 of 103 in Hoedspruit
363 reviews
26.6 km away
Mafigeni Safari Lodge
Mafigeni Safari Lodge
#3 of 6 in Gravelotte
23 reviews
33.1 km away
Blyde River Wilderness Lodge
Blyde River Wilderness Lodge
#33 of 103 in Hoedspruit
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garonga Safari Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garonga Safari Camp

Address: Selati Portion 12, KT 143, Phalaborwa, 1390, Makalali Private Game Reserve 1380, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Makalali Private Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Makalali Private Game Reserve
Price Range: HK$4,275 - HK$8,582 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Garonga Safari Camp 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and South African Hotels so you can book your Garonga Safari Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garonga Safari Camp Hotel Makalali Private Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing