We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (401)
Filter reviews
401 results
Traveller rating
380
15
4
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
380
15
4
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsour honeymoonbush bathgame driveswatering holeother gueststhe reservesafari campoutdoor showerdry river bedtree housesouth africawhole experiencean amazing experienceattention to detailhis teamfood was amazingfrom start to finish
Filter
Updating list...
39 - 44 of 401 reviews
Reviewed 29 June 2017

In April 2017 me and my boyfriend stayed at Garonga Safari Camp. What can I say? It was more than breathtaking! The love for detail when it came to the interior, the super friendly staff, delicious food and special features like the sleep-out in the middle of nowhere were an experience I will never forget. I also loved the little Potje-evening we had together with all other guests of Garonga Safari Camp. My highlight? Chilling at the lovely pool when a group of elephants passed by – leaving me and other guest speechless.

Room Tip: All luxury tents are beautiful!
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Maren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BERNARDO S, Owner at Garonga Safari Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2017

It was great to have you here, and thanks for the kind words.
Potjke's are every friday night and really great fun. Every dinner night is very different, sometimes private dining, other times communal.
The Ellies always seem to time it perfectly.
best Wishes
Bernie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2017 via mobile

We've stayed at several lodges/hotels in South Africa and Zimbabwe. While all have been very good, Garonga Safari Camp is in a class of its own. The staff is extremely welcoming and professional. The lodge is fantastic in every way. Game drives offer small groups an intimate experience with nature.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank brianandjeanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BERNARDO S, Owner at Garonga Safari Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2017

That is indeed a great accolade to have - many thanks indeed. We are so fortunate to have such great people working here and providing such a friendly service to Guests.
Best Regards
Bernie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2017

Garonga is a luxury tented camp in the Makalali Reserve. The amenities are very well planned and laid out. There are six suites in the horseshoe bend of the river. Units one or six are the furthest from the main area are they're probably the most private being at the extremities of the camp.
The camp is unfenced so you have to be accompanied to your tent in the dark. Take a good flashlight if you go so that you can see the path. Also, good walking shoes with stiff soles will serve you well.
In the winter, take scarves, beanies, gloves and warm jackets for the game drives. Take up the Bush Bath offer...its an unusual offering where you bathe under the stars in complete privacy.
Our ranger and tracker [the Jeff and Stuart team] were very knowledgeable and they worked well as a unit. We walked to the hippo pool and that was quite a treat, albeit a bit nerve wracking...As to be expected, the food is plentiful and very good. Most drinks are included in the rate - the exception are very specialized brands.
Garonga is well worth a visit, next time we go, we'll sleep out in the hide.

Room Tip: Units one and six at the ends probably offer the most privacy
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Eugene K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BERNARDO S, Owner at Garonga Safari Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2017

Thanks so much for your feedback and great information. We hope to see you back and do the sleepout.
Best Wishes
Bernie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2017

Just returned from a three week visit to South Africa,we spent the whole time on safari, going to various camps for different experiences. Garonga was by far my favourite. It was intimate and friendly. Animal viewings were great, but really it was the overall experience which has made it so memorable, right from the accommodation, through to the food, generosity with the variety of drink and the kindness of staff. Highly recommend this safari camp.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BERNARDO S, Owner at Garonga Safari Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2017

Thanks for such fantastic review; it was such a pleasure hosting you.
Best Regards
Bernie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2017

Just returned from a 10 day break in South Africa. Our first stop was a 5 day break in Garonga Safari Camp. It was amazing. The attention to detail and the quality of accommodation, staff, location, guided tours, cleanliness, food and the hospitality and customer service was outstanding. Nothing was too much trouble. Staff were brilliant from the time we were greeted by Charlotte and Bhule. The guide and tracker we had were CJ and Finneus, who were absolutely brilliant. They looked after us and made sure we saw as many animals and birds that we could. Nothing was too much trouble for any of the staff. The accommodation was superb. The quality and cleanliness of the camp is to a high standard. This holiday lived up to our expectation and beyond.

Room Tip: This is glamorous camping to a high standard. Accommodation, food and staff are 5 star quality,
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sheilacurley57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BERNARDO S, Owner at Garonga Safari Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2017

Thanks indeed for your very positive feedback. It was a pleasure hosting you, and so glad you were well looked after.
Best Wishes
|Bernie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews