We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful Place to get to know Africa”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Garonga Safari Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 November 2016

This "camp" is a well kept secret of South Africa. Traveling off the main road for almost 45 mins. is your first clue that your are in for a taste of a vanishing Africa. The staff is as warm and welcoming as you could possibly want and try to anticipate your every need. Garonga is a place that will leave the mark of Africa on your heart. The guides and trackers work very hard for you to see all the animals you have come view, but also take the time to teach you about the land and people. The food is delicious and meal time gives you a chance to get to know what few other guest are there or just have time for yourselves. This was a family trip for us and we all were sad to say good by.

Room Tip: This is a "tent camp". All of the tents have great views of the water and land.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Cindi E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (379)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 62 of 379 reviews

Reviewed 5 November 2016 via mobile

Wow! Garonga is a great safari camp. We have been on safari numerous times and this place hit all the marks and then some. Only 6 "tents" so no more than 12 guests at a time. The tents are actually small, very posh concrete houses with mesh windows and front flap enclosures that make it feel like a luxury tent. Animals come right into the camp as there are two watering holes right below the rooms. Many animals including the Big 5 although the Cape buffalo are sequestered in a protected area to avoid being eaten by lions. A fantastic contraceptive program for the elephants eliminating the need for culling. Leopard and cheetah sightings. Tons of giraffe, zebras, antelope, four herds of elephants, white and black rhinos, multiple lion prides. The trackers and driver guides were incredible. They consistently found animals based on their foot prints. The bonus: a group of wild dogs containing 2 pairs of mating adults and two litters of puppies. OMG! Worth the whole trip! You will not be disappointed. Only one criticism and it's a big one: no A/C and when it's 115 and no place to escape to, that is a problem. If Garonga could add one retreat room with
A/C this place would be flawless. Truly.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Nancy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BERNARDO S, Owner at Garonga Safari Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2016

Thanks indeed Nancy for a very positive feedback. You certainly found the Game. There are no aircons in the Tents, only fans, however all three suites at Little Garonga are fully air conditioned.
It was a pleasure hosting you.
Best Regards
Bernie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2016 via mobile

Staff were very friendly and helpful. The food was so delicious, tents very spacious and comfortable. Had one night on the platform, very windy and we were rained on a few times but a great experience. Our drivers, Josia and Jeff were very good, our trackers Richard and Kazir were extremely good. I don't know how they could find some of the animals as the bush was quite thick. Rena was very helpful and went out of her way to do anything asked of her. I would highly recommend a stay at Garonga.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Rhonda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BERNARDO S, Owner at Garonga Safari Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2016

Dear Rhonda,
Thanks so much for your very kind review. I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay and that the Guides pulled out the stops.
Best Regards
Bernie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2016 via mobile

My friend and I stayed at the Garonga Lodge and I cannot say enough good things about it. The tents were big and clean, the staff was friendly and helpful, and the game drivers/trackers were excellent at what they do. I would recommend this place to anyone. In 5 game drives, we saw all of the Big Five and more! (The bush is very dry at this time of year, but we still had a great time and saw all of the animals.)

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Liz C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BERNARDO S, Owner at Garonga Safari Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2016

Thanks indeed Liz for your positive review. The Game Viewing is certainly awesome now and chuffed the Guides managed to show you what you wanted or expected to see. Luckily we have just had our first rains which should improve the Bushveld and provide much needed sucour to the Animals.
Best Wishes
Bernie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2016

We stayed here for our honeymoon in September, everything was such an incredible experience. The 'tents' are clean, spacious and luxurious along with the view. All of the staff are incredibly friendly and happy to assist with any need. The food was amazing, a different set up each night, steak & chips was awesome! We done the bed in the bush & the bush bath, both are worth doing for the experience, incredible. The game drives were amazing, we had Loderick & Antony (bush Cowboys!!!) they made the drives interesting & fun & we got as close as you could be. We went in September and it is worth taking trousers & a jumper as it's quite cold first thing and into the evening. Rina & Bernie were so welcoming and interested in what we had seen & that we had everything we needed. The bar was amazing, catering for every taste. Definitely recommend a massage, no music needed, you just listen to the wild outdoors. We saw all of the animals across 4 days on the drives, but most of them wandered through the camp at some point also! We could not have had a more perfect start to our honeymoon and we are still talking about our safari experience now! Cannot recommend Garonga highly enough. Thank you to everyone for making our honeymoon so memorable xx

Room Tip: There are only 6 so you will get a good view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BERNARDO S, Owner at Garonga Safari Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2016

Thanks indeed Louise for your very kind words. We are so glad you enjoyed your Honeymoon and met all your expectations. Doing all the additional activities is a big plus, being the Sleepout and the Bush Bath; well worth doing. Also the Guides managing to show you all the Game we have on this Big Reserve.
Best Wishes
Bernie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Makalali Private Game Reserve
21.5 km away
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
#2 of 2 in Balule Nature Reserve
288 reviews
6.2 km away
Makalali Private Game Lodge
Makalali Private Game Lodge
#20 of 103 in Hoedspruit
333 reviews
19.3 km away
Rukiya Safari Camp
Rukiya Safari Camp
#80 of 176 in Kruger National Park
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.7 km away
Bushriver Lodge
Bushriver Lodge
#7 of 103 in Hoedspruit
362 reviews
26.6 km away
Mafigeni Safari Lodge
Mafigeni Safari Lodge
#3 of 6 in Gravelotte
23 reviews
33.1 km away
Blyde River Wilderness Lodge
Blyde River Wilderness Lodge
#33 of 103 in Hoedspruit
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garonga Safari Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garonga Safari Camp

Address: Selati Portion 12, KT 143, Phalaborwa, 1390, Makalali Private Game Reserve 1380, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Makalali Private Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Makalali Private Game Reserve
Price Range: HK$4,071 - HK$8,568 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Garonga Safari Camp 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, South African Hotels and Agoda so you can book your Garonga Safari Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garonga Safari Camp Hotel Makalali Private Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing