We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (474)
Filter reviews
474 results
Traveller rating
430
33
6
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
430
33
6
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews on stilts game drives three nights our honeymoon guide chris a hot water bottle the reserve rain shower safari experience wine selection nespresso machine luxury tents mini bar fire pit amazing trip bush walk african bush
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 474 reviews
Reviewed 10 September 2018

The camp is over the top nice. The staff is friendly, the service and food is outstanding. Chris was our guide and he has been working in Kapama Private Reserve for years. We saw lions, leopards, hippos, elephants, giraffes, rhinos, hyenas, cape buffalo and of course impalas - lots of impalas. We'd get started each morning at sunrise - after a quick coffee and snack - and after three hours of seeing something amazing every morning we'd come back for a big breakfast. We'd head back out a few hours before sunset and again saw animals in there active state. After sunset we see animals that only come out at night. We'd get back for an over the top excellent dinner. We stayed three nights, we should have stayed more.

Date of stay: August 2018
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2018

My wife and I stayed here for a honeymoon safari and were blown away by the entire experience. The rooms, the food, the staff, and the wildlife are top notch. If you're looking for the perfect Safari experience you don't really need to look anywhere else.

First for the Safari bits:

You'll be matched up with a ranger and a driver for the entire stay, which means they get to know you, learn what animals you like most, track what you have and have not seen, and will do everything in their power to make sure you see everything you can in the time you are there. We were paired with Hancho and Vusi who were absolutely incredible. Hancho was an excellent driver/ranger with a ton of wildlife knowledge and a great easy going personality. Be sure to ask him to show you his dance moves when you stop for cocktails in the evening - it's somehow even more incredible than the wildlife. Vusi was a legend of a tracker who helped teach us how to recognize animal tracks and direction of travel and found every single thing we could possibly have wanted to see (multiple baby lions, rhino, giraffe, elephant, buffalo, leopard, hyena, zebra, kudu, eagles, monkeys, and even a couple Impalla!!!) We loved every moment of our drives with them, and also enjoyed the fact that a few of the dinners were arranged so that the rangers sat down to eat and socialize with the passengers in their vehicles (although we wish the trackers were also invited :( )

The Food: Be careful here. There will be more food than you can possibly stand to eat, so be ready to pace yourself. When you wake up there are 'light' breakfast snacks, halfway through the first drive...more snacks, after the drive - breakfast. Then a quick nap before lunch, then high tea (aka more snacks) before the evening drive where you stop halfway through for even more snacks before finally returning to the camp to eat dinner. The main problem with all this is that everything is incredibly delicious so deciding what to skip during the day is quite difficult

The Rooms: Incredibly nice. Balconies overlooking the reserve, animals walking up right outside your rooms (blocked from the walkable areas by fences of course) great amenities, extremely clean and comfortable.....One word of warning if you are on a honeymoon though: The rooms are tents, and are a bit close together. Even normal conversations can be heard from one room to the next...and they are up on pretty high stilts. Lets just say that it's not difficult to find yourself in a situation where the tent is rocking considerably back and forth...

The small touches: We went in the winter months, and it was quite cold. Each safari vehicle came with nice warm panchos as well as heated water bottles that kept us plenty warm. The little breaks during the drives to move around a bit and have a cocktail are always set in the most beautiful areas on the reserve, and the fact they keep the vehicles as sparsely populated as possible all helped take this stay up from a wonderful experience to an unbelievable one.

Overall Buffalo Camp was an absolutely wonderful experience and far exceeded our expectations for a safari stay!

Some really small notes to management:
It would be wonderful to have the trackers invited to dinners as well.

It seems like the majority of the staff are very focused on super high end 'white glove' treatment of the guests. Maybe that's the vibe this place is going for, but it would be wonderful to be able to sit down and have a beer with some of the staff when time permits.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Devon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2018 via mobile

Beautiful experience staying at this wonderful location. Returned this year as we had previously visited and loved this place. All staff from Managers, Game Park Guides, Wait Staff and Cleaners are absolutely fantastic and nothing is too much trouble for them. Two by three hour Game Drives are provided every day, all meals and bar service (excluding “exotic” drinks) and mini bar are all included in the price. Can honestly say this is the best place I have stayed in.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2018 via mobile

We spent three nights at Buffalo Camp and were lucky to see the big five during this time. We were very fortunate to see a leopard eating a buck he had caught ...truly magic to see the big five!! For those looking for a luxury experience as the tented camp is very luxurious with the opportunity to see the big five this is a great opportunity !! enjoy !!

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
2  Thank jenniwster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2018 via mobile

My wife and I spent 5 nights at Buffalo Camp before heading onto the Greater Kruger, if I could give it more than 5 stars I would. Our stay at Kapalua Buffalo Camp was the best week of holiday we have ever had and could only be described as “incredible”!
We saw the Big 5 six times over the week, baby hippo, baby lions, baby elephants an aardvark and a pangolin, just to name the highlights... WOW
Despite the sightings, the service we received was also first class from Hahnkoo (our Guide) and Vusi (our Tracker). We spent a month in Africa (8 locations) and these guys were the best people we met, it was so sad to say goodbye but we will be back. If your heading here I would highly suggest putting in a request for Hahnkoo and Vusi :) these two will not be forgotten
Food was excellent, best of any lodge we stayed at.
Vehicles were very comfortable and had a maximum of 6 people in them, so no overcrowding or looking past anyone for a view.
Location was terrific, we had monkeys, mongoose and impala all going past our room (in fact one monkey tried to get my sneakers haha)
Rooms were rustic but extremely comfortable, which had you feeling like you were out in the bushveld not in a motel. Waking up to lions roaring on our first day was an experience I will never forget in my lifetime.
The dinners were very romantic, great service, right beside thr fireplace and the friendly porcupine who regularly waddled in to say hello had us in fits of laughter before we went to bed each night.

It was the most amazing 6 days.. right from collection at the airport up to departure.. my wife had tears when it was time to go!

Do yourself a favour, stop looking around and book here!

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank JoelSD_86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews