We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A M A Z I N G!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mala Mala Private Game Reserve
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rattray's on MalaMala
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My husband and I just returned from a three week trip to Africa, and our stay at Mala Mala Rattray's was the highlight! A most gorgeous camp with accommodations that are truly extraordinary. At first I didn't think that this property could be a s nice or nicer as an And Beyond property but it was in spades!
The guides were the very best - the service was exemplary and they did everything to make our stay one we will never forget. This is a GEM - don't miss it!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank MindyB920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MalaMalaGameReserve, Marketing at Rattray's on MalaMala, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Many thanks for taking time to write a review on your at Rattray's on MalaMala , and thank you for the endorsement. We thrive on meeting our guests needs , it gives us pleasure to hear you had an amazing time with us .

We do hope to welcome you back once again for another unforgettable safari experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (183)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 183 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

If you are looking to do a wild animal safari this is the one that will tick all your boxes. The rangers, the accomodation, food and of course the animals. My husband and I have been twice and and our expectations were surpassed on our second trip. Your every comfort while out in field is met, be it breakfast overlooking the river to a hot water bottle if you feel the early morning chill. We are looking forward to going again next year. The rangers are well informed on all animal, bird and plant life and ensure that your experience is more than you hoped for.

Room Tip: All accomodation is excellent. You can sit on the deck and watch a herd of elephants wander past as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank _anniemsims
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MalaMalaGameReserve, Marketing at Rattray's on MalaMala, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Many thanks for your continued support and the lovely review on your stay with us at Rattray's on MalaMala. We are pleased we managed to exceed your expectations once again, and hope to welcome you back for the third time very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Our 3 night stay at Rattray's was perfect from beginning to end. Our rooms were beautiful inside and out and very large. The dining areas, bar and library are beautiful as well. All our meals were delicious with very nice choices. You won't go hungry, as they offer food all day long. What really made our stay special was the staff. Everyone is so friendly, helpful and fun. Especially our guide, Joe. Spending 3 days and 5 game drives with Joe was so much fun. His knowledge of the animals, MalaMala preserve and photography really enhanced our experience. We were sad to leave and can't wait to return some day.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leslie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MalaMalaGameReserve, Marketing at Rattray's on MalaMala, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Many thanks for a lovely review on your stay with us at Rattray's on Malamala. We will definitely pass on your glowing compliments to the staff that made your entire stay special and beautiful with special mention to your ranger Joe.

We do hope to welcome you back once again in the near future .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2017 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here as part of a luxury safari trip, for 3 nights, and 5 drives.
The rooms are very well appointed and extremely comfortable. The veranda off the main room offers views of the Sand River with the occasional lion or elephant wandering by. Ours came with a dip pool which we were too busy on drives to use, but it looked comfortable! The breakfast was great, with their chef willing to make whatever was requested, but we actually skipped breakfast to start our morning game drive earlier and would then have a morning picnic instead. Although a lighter option, it was perfect eating wraps, fruit, etc with a coffee in the bush. The evening drive also had the option of a sunset stop to have cocktails while viewing, but we were too busy seeing game to do it! Dinner back at the camp was only adequate however - there were always three options (including a veggie one), and while the food was good, it wouldn't be considered 5 star.
The staff was amazing. Alex and Nerine, the managers of the camp, were exceptionally welcoming, friendly, and helpful. The wait staff and bartenders (Trevor) were also extremely friendly and willing to accommodate any request. Even the grounds staff were always ready with a smile and "good morning".
The guides all seemed great, but ours, Jacques, was spectacular. He was knowledgeable about all the game ( which we expected), but also about any aspect of the MalaMala preserve we could think of. An exceptional photographer himself, he excelled at getting us into the best position to take memorable pictures, as well as positions to experience the game in the best possible way (for example, anticipating a leopards next move and driving us around so it would walk right by us). He was friendly, likeable, professional, and made the experience unforgettable.
The experience we had at Rattray's was everything we could have wanted, and we're already planning another Africa trip which will include a stay there!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank MickChT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MalaMalaGameReserve, Marketing at Rattray's on MalaMala, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2017

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for the amazing review on your stay with us at Rattray's on MalaMala . W e are thrilled to hear you enjoyed every aspect of your stay from the game viewing to the amazing staff and food . We will definitely pass on your glowing compliments to your ranger to Jacques and surely hope to welcoming you back in the near future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2017

From camp managers, Alex and Nerine, ranger Joe, down to all staff, thank you for a wonderful stay. From the warm greeting to the tearful goodbye, Rattray's will remain as a great memory.
The hospitality and service in such a luxurious setting amongst the best of African wildlife astounded us each day.
Game drives with Joe had us in close proximity to so many animals, especially leopards, rhinos, elephants and lions. You will not be disappointed with the game viewing on offer.
Accommodation was unbelievable with his and hers bathroom, huge dressing rooms, your own plunge pool and deck to enjoy the visiting wildlife to the beautiful river below.
And there is still time to enjoy reminiscing about your day at the bar each night, genuine happiness and plenty of laughter !!
What a package. Bundle all this up and be prepared to be blown away.
Thanks to all involved in our perfect stay,
Allan and Robyn
Australia

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AllanMarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MalaMalaGameReserve, Manager at Rattray's on MalaMala, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2017

Dear Allan & Robyn

Thank you so much for the great feedback! We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your time with us, as we truly enjoyed sharing the magic of Rattray’s on MalaMala with you. We have passed your compliments on to Joe and the rest of the team, and we hope you have the opportunity to return in the very near future. Until then, please stay in touch with Facebook and Instagram, where you can still get up close with the animals.

Warmest regards
Alex & Nerine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mala Mala Private Game Reserve
6.8 km away
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge
#2 of 13 in Kruger National Park
400 reviews
12.7 km away
MalaMala Main Camp
MalaMala Main Camp
#1 of 3 in Mala Mala Private Game Reserve
335 reviews
4.0 km away
Sabi Sabi Bush Lodge
Sabi Sabi Bush Lodge
#10 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.2 km away
Dulini Lodge
Dulini Lodge
#1 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
415 reviews
23.6 km away
Inyati Game Lodge, Sabi Sand Reserve
Inyati Game Lodge, Sabi Sand Res...
#1 of 1 in Inyati Private Game Reserve
431 reviews
14.6 km away
Londolozi Private Game Reserve
Londolozi Private Game Reserve
#3 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rattray's on MalaMala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rattray's on MalaMala

Address: P.O. MalaMala, Skukuza, 1353, Kruger National Park 1353, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Sabi Sand Game Reserve > Mala Mala Private Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Mala Mala Private Game Reserve
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MalaMala Game Reserve is the Safari Industry's blueprint to the luxury photographic safari. In existence since 1927, this massive thriving tract of land produces the most exciting wildlife experience this side of the equator. MalaMala Game Reserve is the largest private Big Five game reserve in South Africa. Comprising 13 300 ha (33 000 acres), MalaMala shares a 19 km (12 mile) unfenced border with the world-renowned Kruger National Park, and lies strategically sandwiched between the National Park and the Sabi Sand Reserve. For over four decades, Michael Rattray has remained focused on his objective to preserve and protect the land over which he is custodian. Allowing nature to move to its innate rhythm, guests experience today what the forefathers of the African Safari would have experienced at the turn of the century. This philosophy has paid off, as experienced by a veritable collection of photojournalists and film-makers who have made MalaMala their destination of choice to capture footage of wildlife viewing that would rival any Hollywood production for thrilling and breathtaking animal encounters. MalaMala's Camps (MalaMala Main Camp, Sable Camp and Rattray's on MalaMala) are the embodiment of an authentic safari experience pioneered at a time when the safari was simple - unassuming camps, vast sweeping plains, the African sky and the bush in all its splendour. Wellness was the feeling after a long day in the wild. Cigars were shared without pomp and ceremony. Guests to MalaMala will still spend hours beneath an inky sky in the traditional boma exchanging stories from the wild - a sumptuous meal, good company and relaxed faces warmed by the crackling fire, accompanied by the nocturnal symphony of sound. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mala Mala Rattray`s Camp Hotel Mala Mala Private Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing