We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
MalaMala Main Camp(Mala Mala Private Game Reserve)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
MalaMala Sable Camp(Mala Mala Private Game Reserve)
SUN1 Pretoria(Pretoria)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Manhattan Hotel(Pretoria)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (197)
Filter reviews
197 results
Traveller rating
181
11
3
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
181
11
3
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmala malasand riverplunge poolmain campgame viewingheated floorsseparate bathroomsover the topthe reservelarge verandataking turnsvisiting wildlifekruger national parkcape buffaloguide michaelwill stay with me forevera special trip
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 197 reviews
Reviewed 21 September 2017

If you are looking to do a wild animal safari this is the one that will tick all your boxes. The rangers, the accomodation, food and of course the animals. My husband and I have been twice and and our expectations were surpassed on our second trip. Your every comfort while out in field is met, be it breakfast overlooking the river to a hot water bottle if you feel the early morning chill. We are looking forward to going again next year. The rangers are well informed on all animal, bird and plant life and ensure that your experience is more than you hoped for.

Room Tip: All accomodation is excellent. You can sit on the deck and watch a herd of elephants wander past as you sip a refreshing gin and tonic.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank _anniemsims
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MalaMalaGameReserve, Marketing at Rattray's on MalaMala, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2017

Many thanks for your continued support and the lovely review on your stay with us at Rattray's on MalaMala. We are pleased we managed to exceed your expectations once again, and hope to welcome you back for the third time very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2017

Our 3 night stay at Rattray's was perfect from beginning to end. Our rooms were beautiful inside and out and very large. The dining areas, bar and library are beautiful as well. All our meals were delicious with very nice choices. You won't go hungry, as they offer food all day long. What really made our stay special was the staff. Everyone is so friendly, helpful and fun. Especially our guide, Joe. Spending 3 days and 5 game drives with Joe was so much fun. His knowledge of the animals, MalaMala preserve and photography really enhanced our experience. We were sad to leave and can't wait to return some day.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leslie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MalaMalaGameReserve, Marketing at Rattray's on MalaMala, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2017

Many thanks for a lovely review on your stay with us at Rattray's on Malamala. We will definitely pass on your glowing compliments to the staff that made your entire stay special and beautiful with special mention to your ranger Joe.

We do hope to welcome you back once again in the near future .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2017 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here as part of a luxury safari trip, for 3 nights, and 5 drives.
The rooms are very well appointed and extremely comfortable. The veranda off the main room offers views of the Sand River with the occasional lion or elephant wandering by. Ours came with a dip pool which we were too busy on drives to use, but it looked comfortable! The breakfast was great, with their chef willing to make whatever was requested, but we actually skipped breakfast to start our morning game drive earlier and would then have a morning picnic instead. Although a lighter option, it was perfect eating wraps, fruit, etc with a coffee in the bush. The evening drive also had the option of a sunset stop to have cocktails while viewing, but we were too busy seeing game to do it! Dinner back at the camp was only adequate however - there were always three options (including a veggie one), and while the food was good, it wouldn't be considered 5 star.
The staff was amazing. Alex and Nerine, the managers of the camp, were exceptionally welcoming, friendly, and helpful. The wait staff and bartenders (Trevor) were also extremely friendly and willing to accommodate any request. Even the grounds staff were always ready with a smile and "good morning".
The guides all seemed great, but ours, Jacques, was spectacular. He was knowledgeable about all the game ( which we expected), but also about any aspect of the MalaMala preserve we could think of. An exceptional photographer himself, he excelled at getting us into the best position to take memorable pictures, as well as positions to experience the game in the best possible way (for example, anticipating a leopards next move and driving us around so it would walk right by us). He was friendly, likeable, professional, and made the experience unforgettable.
The experience we had at Rattray's was everything we could have wanted, and we're already planning another Africa trip which will include a stay there!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank MickChT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MalaMalaGameReserve, Marketing at Rattray's on MalaMala, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2017

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for the amazing review on your stay with us at Rattray's on MalaMala . W e are thrilled to hear you enjoyed every aspect of your stay from the game viewing to the amazing staff and food . We will definitely pass on your glowing compliments to your ranger to Jacques and surely hope to welcoming you back in the near future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2017

From camp managers, Alex and Nerine, ranger Joe, down to all staff, thank you for a wonderful stay. From the warm greeting to the tearful goodbye, Rattray's will remain as a great memory.
The hospitality and service in such a luxurious setting amongst the best of African wildlife astounded us each day.
Game drives with Joe had us in close proximity to so many animals, especially leopards, rhinos, elephants and lions. You will not be disappointed with the game viewing on offer.
Accommodation was unbelievable with his and hers bathroom, huge dressing rooms, your own plunge pool and deck to enjoy the visiting wildlife to the beautiful river below.
And there is still time to enjoy reminiscing about your day at the bar each night, genuine happiness and plenty of laughter !!
What a package. Bundle all this up and be prepared to be blown away.
Thanks to all involved in our perfect stay,
Allan and Robyn
Australia

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AllanMarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MalaMalaGameReserve, Manager at Rattray's on MalaMala, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2017

Dear Allan & Robyn

Thank you so much for the great feedback! We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your time with us, as we truly enjoyed sharing the magic of Rattray’s on MalaMala with you. We have passed your compliments on to Joe and the rest of the team, and we hope you have the opportunity to return in the very near future. Until then, please stay in touch with Facebook and Instagram, where you can still get up close with the animals.

Warmest regards
Alex & Nerine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2017

I need a new dictionary. My wife and I went to Rattray's at Mala Mala with six lifetime friends. They kidded me about "running out of superlatives" (I must have said it 100 times) but that is what happens when you spend time there.
The staff is superb in every way, with a special nod to Trevor. The lodges (really a mini-home) are so wonderful that you could spend days lounging around without leaving. Except you will not because the elephants roaming in the river bed below Rattray's beckoned us to begin exploring right away. Our guides--Jacques and Gary--were world class. We saw everything up close in this conservation jewel--lion, elephant, rhino, leopard, giraffe, hippo, zebra, Cape buffalo and much more. Oh, and the stargazing is as special as any place you will ever visit. Moreover, we were deeply impressed with both the knowledge and care Jacques and Gary showed every day around the wildlife. We were in their world and these gentlemen showed that respect to our natural heritage in every action and word. What a blessing and I only hope future generations will have the same opportunity.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SouthernCross0017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MalaMalaGameReserve, Marketing at Rattray's on MalaMala, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2017

Many thanks for a such a lovely review on your stay at MalaMala Game Reserve. It gives us pleasure when our guests only have positive things to say about their safari experience with us and it looks like we also need to have a new dictionary to describe your dream experience!We will definitely pass on your glowing compliments to all the staff.

We really look forward to welcoming you once again for another dream photo safari.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews