We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Bhutanese food”

Lobesa Village Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 14 Restaurants in Punakha
Restaurant details
Reviewed 27 June 2018

This was undoubtedly the best meal we had in Bhutan - a fixed lunch of Bhutanese specialties like ema datshi (chilli cheese curry), jashi maro (chicken), a yummy local bread, red rice, a delicious cabbage stir fry, spinach stir fry, ice cream, Chinese tea et al. Good service, nice ambience and very good value for money. I believe the vegetables are all organic as well. Don't miss it.

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank itinerant2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (45)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 45 reviews

Reviewed 10 April 2018 via mobile

Lovely view, great food (one of the best azey I had in Bhutan).

I cannot fault them for anything. Service and food is amazing.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank padfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2017

We had buffet lunch here. The food were trully authentic farm cooking dishes, I personally love all and enjoyed very much. Very pleasant decor and natural cool breeze atmoshpere. The staff was friendly and smiling all the time.

Date of visit: October 2017
Thank sy3717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2017

Our guide of the Bhutan travel recommended this unique location for on way dinner where the approach was divine with a gurgling stream, stylised foot over-bridge, and a vibrant flush of colourful flowers and vegetation and the entry was royal. The Bhutanese tradition was resplendent. At the reception kiosk, we noticed the Reward Certificate from the Trip Advisor and we were convinced that we had reached the rightest place and this was some place where our family can have peaceful and meditative dinner.

Our hitch was whether we would get good quality of pure vegetarian food. The lady on the counter confirmed positively but since they prepare food only against order, she took our order and suggested that for about an hour or so, we could explore the most charming surrounding. We did that, we enjoyed lavish photography and came back at the appointed hour.

Our dinner in the most relishing taste and style was ready. The place was more or less isolated and offered perfect peace. Family joy was the achievement of the evening.

Thank you Bhutan and thank you Lobesa Village Hotel for making our experience memorable.

Date of visit: September 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank profpmlakhotia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2017 via mobile

Our guide suggested us to try their buffet lunch which is not elaborate (about 4-5 dishes) but certainly something we will enjoy ..plus they have a good vegetarian options...

We landed up at 1.30pm to an fairly occupied lunch hall and they gave us a nice place to sit (overlooking paddy fields)..

They have some nice decor that you will find it interesting...

The food is very simple yet delicious..they infact went one step ahead and prepared a nice vegetarian sidedish for us as well (no extra charge).

In Punakha unlike thimpu or Paro you won't find many restaurants and this is certainly a great option for a buffet...

The WiFi is not that great

Date of visit: September 2017
Thank Vijays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lobesa Village Restaurant also viewed

Punakha, Punakha District
Punakha, Punakha District
 
Punakha, Punakha District
Punakha, Punakha District
 
Punakha, Punakha District
Punakha, Punakha District
 

Been to Lobesa Village Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing