We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (52)
Filter reviews
52 results
Traveller rating
28
17
6
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
28
17
6
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdeluxe roomnewer roomscoffee tableknotty pineguest housebuckwheat pancakesdining roomelectric heatersidespigeonswoodtowndzongguidebhutanduvetvalley
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 52 reviews
Reviewed 18 September 2017 via mobile

Spent 3 nights here recently and loved it.
The owner Ms Deki was kind enough to upgrade us to a deluxe room at a small extra charge as compared to the standard one I had booked.
The room was huge, made completely of wood and had spectacular views from three sides of the beautiful valley.
The bathroom was quite large and had all the amenities. The bed was large and comfortable with a great view of the forested mountain at the back and the valley in the front thru the front and back windows.
There was a wood burning fireplace on the room which we used partially for one night to check it out, though it wasn't very cold.
An electric heater is also provided.
The service from the staff was excellent and Ms Deki and her husband went out of their way to help us out with any requests.
The place itself was very quiet and relaxing.
The guest house is a 20 min walk from Chamkhar town, which we found convenient.
I would definitely stay here again, it was one of our best experiences of Bhutan.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Shyam N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2017

After much debate we decided that this was the nicest place we stayed in our two weeks in Bhutan. Our travel agent ( Bhutan Travel Club) upgraded us to one of the big rooms up the hill a bit and that made all the difference. We were here for three nights and we could spread out and relax. We lit our fireplace every night. Had a great view over the valley. Even better, though, was the delightful service and truly excellent food. Clearly the woman who does the cooking is imaginative and talented. We brought some lovely fresh asparagus from the market and she prepared it perfectly. Breakfast was delicious, despite the ubiquitous Nescafe! Highly recommended, and certainly the bigger/newer rooms are much nicer than the older ones, which seemed quite small.

Room Tip: Go for the newer rooms up the hill. The two on the top have the best views.
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank CuriosityCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2017 via mobile

This hotel, located 20mn by walk from the town center is certainly a good choice. The deluxe rooms are awsome, the service excellent and as everywhere in Bhutan the staff so nice. They gave us the best breakfast we had during our 2 weeks in the country. And the diner is also good.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Minoutaiwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2017 via mobile

It was fantastic food and nice parking area but Wifi should be improved and the internet service should be upgraded for all rooms too. The staff are friendly too. The clean surroundings with cottage housing is so appealing for stay for couple of days really. For me if I am asked which place to put up in Bumthang??? My honest answer would be this lodge really.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled on business
1  Thank narbhutan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2016

My wife and I spent 15 nights in Bhutan during October/November 2016. This was probably our favorite hotel/lodge.

Jakar / Bumthang is beautiful (little Switzerland). The Gongkhar Guesthouse is beautiful -- traditional Bhutanese architecture. We stayed in one of 4 rooms in a larger building just past the individual cottages, and absolutely loved it! The pine floor and paneling gave a beautiful, warm, ski-lodge feel. The wood-burning stove kept the room warm. The staff were friendly and helpful, wifi was free and worked well, and the Red Panda and Druk 11000 were fairly priced. I'd love to stay here again!

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ob3ron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews