We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (500)
Filter reviews
500 results
Traveller rating
462
37
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
462
37
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hot tub africa suite loft suite garden route large pond cape town one night attention to detail swimming pool would highly recommend a stay here german couple coffee machine enormous bathroom beautiful grounds guest house lovely pool overnight stop
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 500 reviews
Reviewed 2 May 2018

You arrive and your "yes" becomes "OH YES"!. Fabulous accommodation, grounds and breakfast superb. Attention to detail incredible. Little flower heads placed on towels, beautiful bowls with floating petals - amazing touches Absolutely faultless happy, friendly service by Andreas and Franziska The modern artwork ans sculptures everywhere and "style" was incredible. Awesome lake and grounds. Tranquil and friendly. We absolutely loved our stay, albeit far too short. I attach some photos that don't do it justice and there is a limit to how many I am allowed to download unfortunately. Go there!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Esprit Suite - Private Balcony overlooking the most glorious large Lily pond. Very peaceful
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Annie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2018 via mobile

We have stayed in three different places in Swellendam over the years and the Rothman Manor is the best by far. We stayed 5 nights. It has beautiful grounds where you can sit and relax and read a book or watch the Zebras and Springboks. The attention to detail and cleanliness of the whole place is outstanding. I don’t recall ever having such a perfectly prepared room. Breakfasts were amazing with a huge choice of different foods for every taste. The staff and owners were very friendly and couldn’t do enough to make our stay perfect. There are two restaurants a few metres away so eating out in the evening is easy.

If we go to Swellendam again, this is where we will stay.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank LDreviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

We went to Rothman Manor on a recommendation from friends, and it lived up to our expectation.
The Manor is made up of several small buildings, all with character and all beautifully laid out. The grounds are lovely, with lots of spots to relax - the pool area, the hot tub or watching the animals in the reserve.
Breakfast is a good mix. The options for a hot breakfast seemed a bit limited.
We stayed in suite Africa which I'd recommend. A separate bedroom and sitting area, an enormous bathroom and close to the pool.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seawall1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2018

We stayed at Rothmans Manor for 2 nights on our way to Hermanus. Our suite was very cosy and well appointed with lovely touches such as fresh rose heads on the towels.
Breakfast was buffet style followed by a choice of hot dishes and was delicious. Coffee was good ! Gluten free granola and bread were provided.
The zebras and springbok at the bottom of the garden were a lovely surprise. Unfortunately it rained for most of our stay but did not spoil our enjoyment of this delightful guesthouse.
The owners were also very welcoming and recommended 2 restaurants to us - both of which were excellent.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Sue A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2018

Large rooms, lovely gardens (even zebras and springbok at the garden fence),and charming people. The breakfast is extensive and all tastes are catered for. Nothing is too much trouble for the charming hosts. I can thoroughly recommend Rothman Manor if you want to visit Swellendam and a visit is more than worthwhile for the excellent country museum and the super Dostry restaurant.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank wisborough1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews