We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (696)
Filter reviews
696 results
Traveller rating
558
119
14
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
558
119
14
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe riverthe barnguest houserose budsone nightcape townbreakfast was excellentsmallest roombeautiful gardenhomemade muffinsfew minutes walkonward journeyguinea fowlrestaurants in walking distancegarden routequiet streetan absolute gem
Filter
Updating list...
111 - 116 of 696 reviews
Reviewed 30 October 2017

We booked a cheap room because no other was available anymore. The cheap room is really basic and can use a refreshment. This room did not have a terrace or balcony. The guesthouse does have a beautiful garden! The breakfast was tasteful, very varied with a lot of local produce. I recommend booking a somewhat more expensive room, which all have a private balcony with a view on the garden and surrounding area.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank veroniqued40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aan de O, Manager at Aan de Oever Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2017

Good Morning,

Thank you so much for your kind comments, we're so happy you enjoyed our breakfast!
We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us & thank you for the room mention, we will do our best to improve.

Have a wonderful day,

Best Wishes,
Aan de Oever Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2017

A fantastic stopover in Swellendam for the night on the way to Port Elizabeth. Everything was amazing from arrival, we had clean and comfortable rooms. Great location, close to all the amenities and attractions of the town. Breakfast was amazing and served fresh with a variety of options. Thanks Fienie and team for the outstanding service, we will definitely make this our regular stop when in Swellendam! And we appreciated the wonderful gestures of having car windscreen cleaned in the morning and the delicious cappuccino muffins for the road. Never at Home Crew!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ThamsanqaK2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aan de O, Manager at Aan de Oever Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2017

Thank you very much for the amazing review. We are so pleased you stayed with us and we hope to see you back in the future.

Good luck with the travels and we look forward to following your journey.

Kind regards,
Aan de Oever Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2017

We got an upgrade from the Tinkietinkie room, that was great. Nice big room with own veranda and great view to the garden. Good beds, great breakfast and very nice staff. Own parking place and carwash, great!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank E6821QQjacquelineb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aan de O, Manager at Aan de Oever Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2017

Thank you so much for writing us a lovely review. We are happy you enjoyed your visit to Swellendam and look forward to welcoming you back again in future.

Best Regards,
Aan de Oever Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2017

A really nice accomodation in the sweet Village "Swellendam"
great service, large rooms, awesome garden/terrace and bbq spaces, really good breakfast
well located, good restaurants 10 min. walk
warm welcome

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank lukass596
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aan de O, Manager at Aan de Oever Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2017

Good Afternoon,

Thank you so much for the great feedback. We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and hope that you will return again for future holidays.

Kind regards,
Aan de Oever Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2017

The guesthouse is situated at the border of a little river. We had a stunning view of the back garden and the river. The room was really large, with a comfortable bed and an independent bath tub. Walking distance to several good restaurants.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Els V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aan de O, Manager at Aan de Oever Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2017

Thank you very much for the great review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.
We hope to welcome you back sometime in the future.

Best Wishes,
Aan de Oever Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews