We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, terrible room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Aan de Oever Guesthouse
Ranked #3 of 39 Swellendam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 October 2017

This was a really lovely hotel in a beautiful setting but the room we were given was terrible. It was tiny, probably too small for one person let alone a couple, which we were. Also there weren’t enough plug sockets and the WiFi signal was very weak so pretty useless. Building work was going on right next door and the workmen started banging and crashing at 7.00 am, which was unacceptable. Overall nice hotel, terrible room

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Geoff018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aan de O, Manager at Aan de Oever Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Good Morning,

This is so very sorry to hear, but thank you so much for bringing this to our attention.

Must just stay that Tinktinkie is the room you booked, it was not given to you, all the information about it is on the booking agent you booked through, size, pictures and more.
It does say it's our smallest room.

We definitely apologize about the building next door, but that is something we can do nothing about & we did our best to make sure the builders only start from 8am......

We are very sorry you did not enjoy your experience here, these are not comments we are used to and can only hope to improve.

Hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday though.

Best Wishes,
Aan de Oever Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (542)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 542 reviews

Reviewed 30 October 2017

We booked a cheap room because no other was available anymore. The cheap room is really basic and can use a refreshment. This room did not have a terrace or balcony. The guesthouse does have a beautiful garden! The breakfast was tasteful, very varied with a lot of local produce. I recommend booking a somewhat more expensive room, which all have a private balcony with a view on the garden and surrounding area.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank veroniqued40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aan de O, Manager at Aan de Oever Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Good Morning,

Thank you so much for your kind comments, we're so happy you enjoyed our breakfast!
We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us & thank you for the room mention, we will do our best to improve.

Have a wonderful day,

Best Wishes,
Aan de Oever Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2017

A fantastic stopover in Swellendam for the night on the way to Port Elizabeth. Everything was amazing from arrival, we had clean and comfortable rooms. Great location, close to all the amenities and attractions of the town. Breakfast was amazing and served fresh with a variety of options. Thanks Fienie and team for the outstanding service, we will definitely make this our regular stop when in Swellendam! And we appreciated the wonderful gestures of having car windscreen cleaned in the morning and the delicious cappuccino muffins for the road. Never at Home Crew!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Thamsanqa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aan de O, Manager at Aan de Oever Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2017

Thank you very much for the amazing review. We are so pleased you stayed with us and we hope to see you back in the future.

Good luck with the travels and we look forward to following your journey.

Kind regards,
Aan de Oever Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2017

We got an upgrade from the Tinkietinkie room, that was great. Nice big room with own veranda and great view to the garden. Good beds, great breakfast and very nice staff. Own parking place and carwash, great!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank E6821QQjacquelineb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aan de O, Manager at Aan de Oever Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2017

Thank you so much for writing us a lovely review. We are happy you enjoyed your visit to Swellendam and look forward to welcoming you back again in future.

Best Regards,
Aan de Oever Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2017

A really nice accomodation in the sweet Village "Swellendam"
great service, large rooms, awesome garden/terrace and bbq spaces, really good breakfast
well located, good restaurants 10 min. walk
warm welcome

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank lukass596
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aan de O, Manager at Aan de Oever Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2017

Good Afternoon,

Thank you so much for the great feedback. We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and hope that you will return again for future holidays.

Kind regards,
Aan de Oever Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swellendam hotels
0.3 km away
Schoone Oordt Country House
2.7 km away
Arumvale Country House
Arumvale Country House
#5 of 39 in Swellendam
390 reviews
0.6 km away
Babette Bed and Breakfast
Babette Bed and Breakfast
#4 of 39 in Swellendam
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 km away
Bloomestate
Bloomestate
#1 of 39 in Swellendam
638 reviews
3.3 km away
Rothman Manor
Rothman Manor
#2 of 39 in Swellendam
466 reviews
1.8 km away
Marula Lodge
Marula Lodge
#7 of 39 in Swellendam
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aan de Oever Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aan de Oever Guesthouse

Address: 21 Faure Street, Swellendam 6740, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Swellendam
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Swellendam
Price Range: HK$531 - HK$984 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Aan de Oever Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aan de Oever Guesthouse is nestled on the banks of the Koornlands River, in a garden boasting many species of bird life. Aan de Oever combines picturesque views and excellent service. Enjoy a relaxing swim in the saltwater pool or watch birds. All rooms are spaciously laid-out and feature chic furnishings. We look forward to welcoming you to our special place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Aan de Oever Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing