We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (742)
Filter reviews
744 results
Traveller rating
600
125
14
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
600
125
14
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the river the barn guest house one night cape town beautiful garden breakfast was excellent onward journey garden route homemade muffins walking distance quiet street electric blankets lovely room car wash an absolute gem views of the mountains
Filter
Updating list...
186 - 191 of 744 reviews
Reviewed 26 April 2017

Amazing guest house with very accomodating hosts, moving beds from one room to the other so that we has our kids with us for the night! Beautiful setting, walking distance to many exquisite restaurants.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank AurelieH77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aan de O, Manager at Aan de Oever Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2017

Wow. Thank you for the nice review. We will pass on the comments to our team.

We hope you will stay with us again in future.

Best Wishes
Aan de Oever team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2017

We stayed for two nights, and enjoyed the charm of the place : Fantastic view from the large room, overlooking the mountains and the lovely garden with the pool. The hostess was very helpful, with kind attentions. Good breakfast with fresh food. We recommend this stay.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank irenea25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aan de O, Manager at Aan de Oever Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2017

Thank you so much for your lovely review of our B&B. We are glad to hear you enjoyed it and we hope you will return in future.

Best Wishes
Aan de Oever Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2017

We knew nothing about Swellendam when we arrived at the Aan de Oever but after one night we wish we had booked a longer stay. Swellendam is charming and the Aan de Oever (it means "at the bank of the river" in Dutch) is a perfect place to enjoy the town's charms. Our room was apparently the smallest in the guesthouse and, though we might have chosen a larger room had we known, it was a lot more than adequate. We didn't drink or eat anything from the nicely stocked fridge but it was good to know it was there. We did buy from the front desk a bottle of one of the local wines to enjoy after dinner. There are a couple of restaurants within walking distance of the guesthouse and, though we were only there one night and cannot vouch for both, the one we ate out was surprisingly upscale for such a small town. The Aan de Oever has free wifi, which worked well in the room, and a lovely outdoor space to take in some sun or down some wine. The breakfast was also quite nice and the staff friendly from check-in to check-out. They even let us leave our car at the guesthouse after we checked out so we could enjoy a stroll around town before driving off to our next destination. As noted, we would have gladly stayed a second night (and perhaps a third) had we known in advance that Swellendam was so swell.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pjmboston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aan de O, Manager at Aan de Oever Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2017

Good Afternoon,

Thank you soooo much for taking the time to write such a lovely detailed review for us. We really appreciate it and will make sure it is passed on to all staff members.
We are glad you enjoyed your visit "Aan de Oever" and we hope that you will stay with us again if ever you find yourself back in Swellendam

Best Wishes,
Aan de Oever Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2017

Was on our way on the route 62. Unfortunately we only stayed one night; Great atmosphere, great Location with the view on the mountains; very friendly and helpful host; very good service; nice room; beautiful garden;

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 738juttas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aan de O, Manager at Aan de Oever Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2017

Good Afternoon,

Thank you for your lovely review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your visit and hope that you will be back and stay for longer next time.

Best Wishes
Aan de Oever team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2017

It is a very well maintained and managed save place in Swellendam. The breakfast is excellent and the room was very comfortable incl. a well working air condition. There is a locked parking available for the guests.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 361raimundk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aan de O, Manager at Aan de Oever Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2017

Thank you very much for writing such a lovely review. We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Best Wishes
Aan de Oever team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews