We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much more than a stopover”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Aan de Oever Guesthouse
Ranked #3 of 39 Swellendam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 May 2017

Although we only stayed two nights we could have stayed much longer. The manager is fun, helpful and does all she can to make your stay memorable. The location is great, in a leafy road, very secure and in walking distance of some great restaurants, Our room/balcony overlooked the mountains and the gardens which are beautifully laid out. The room is well sized and comfortable. The staff are a real asset and can't do enough for you, they are friendly and professional. Breakfast was excellent, wifi is good and parking is easy and secure.

Room Tip: Ask for a mountain/garden view, well worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank geedeebee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aan de O, Manager at Aan de Oever Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2017

Good Afternoon,

Thank you so much for the amazing feedback. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again on your next trip through Swellendam.

Best Wishes,
Aan de Oever team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (542)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

53 - 57 of 542 reviews

Reviewed 26 April 2017

Amazing guest house with very accomodating hosts, moving beds from one room to the other so that we has our kids with us for the night! Beautiful setting, walking distance to many exquisite restaurants.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank AurelieH77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aan de O, Manager at Aan de Oever Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2017

Wow. Thank you for the nice review. We will pass on the comments to our team.

We hope you will stay with us again in future.

Best Wishes
Aan de Oever team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2017

We stayed for two nights, and enjoyed the charm of the place : Fantastic view from the large room, overlooking the mountains and the lovely garden with the pool. The hostess was very helpful, with kind attentions. Good breakfast with fresh food. We recommend this stay.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank irenea25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aan de O, Manager at Aan de Oever Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2017

Thank you so much for your lovely review of our B&B. We are glad to hear you enjoyed it and we hope you will return in future.

Best Wishes
Aan de Oever Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2017

We knew nothing about Swellendam when we arrived at the Aan de Oever but after one night we wish we had booked a longer stay. Swellendam is charming and the Aan de Oever (it means "at the bank of the river" in Dutch) is a perfect place to enjoy the town's charms. Our room was apparently the smallest in the guesthouse and, though we might have chosen a larger room had we known, it was a lot more than adequate. We didn't drink or eat anything from the nicely stocked fridge but it was good to know it was there. We did buy from the front desk a bottle of one of the local wines to enjoy after dinner. There are a couple of restaurants within walking distance of the guesthouse and, though we were only there one night and cannot vouch for both, the one we ate out was surprisingly upscale for such a small town. The Aan de Oever has free wifi, which worked well in the room, and a lovely outdoor space to take in some sun or down some wine. The breakfast was also quite nice and the staff friendly from check-in to check-out. They even let us leave our car at the guesthouse after we checked out so we could enjoy a stroll around town before driving off to our next destination. As noted, we would have gladly stayed a second night (and perhaps a third) had we known in advance that Swellendam was so swell.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pjmboston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aan de O, Manager at Aan de Oever Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2017

Good Afternoon,

Thank you soooo much for taking the time to write such a lovely detailed review for us. We really appreciate it and will make sure it is passed on to all staff members.
We are glad you enjoyed your visit "Aan de Oever" and we hope that you will stay with us again if ever you find yourself back in Swellendam

Best Wishes,
Aan de Oever Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2017

Was on our way on the route 62. Unfortunately we only stayed one night; Great atmosphere, great Location with the view on the mountains; very friendly and helpful host; very good service; nice room; beautiful garden;

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 738juttas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aan de O, Manager at Aan de Oever Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2017

Good Afternoon,

Thank you for your lovely review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your visit and hope that you will be back and stay for longer next time.

Best Wishes
Aan de Oever team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swellendam hotels
0.3 km away
Schoone Oordt Country House
2.7 km away
Arumvale Country House
Arumvale Country House
#5 of 39 in Swellendam
391 reviews
0.6 km away
Babette Bed and Breakfast
Babette Bed and Breakfast
#4 of 39 in Swellendam
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 km away
Bloomestate
Bloomestate
#1 of 39 in Swellendam
638 reviews
3.3 km away
Rothman Manor
Rothman Manor
#2 of 39 in Swellendam
466 reviews
1.8 km away
Marula Lodge
Marula Lodge
#7 of 39 in Swellendam
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aan de Oever Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aan de Oever Guesthouse

Address: 21 Faure Street, Swellendam 6740, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Swellendam
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Swellendam
Price Range: HK$531 - HK$984 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Aan de Oever Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aan de Oever Guesthouse is nestled on the banks of the Koornlands River, in a garden boasting many species of bird life. Aan de Oever combines picturesque views and excellent service. Enjoy a relaxing swim in the saltwater pool or watch birds. All rooms are spaciously laid-out and feature chic furnishings. We look forward to welcoming you to our special place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Aan de Oever Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing