We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Bloomestate(Swellendam)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rothman Manor(Swellendam)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Hideaway(Swellendam)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (41)
Filter reviews
41 results
Traveller rating
37
4
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
37
4
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstayed one nightpool areastayed longerthe ownergarden routemarianna
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 41 reviews
Reviewed 17 March 2018

Location, facilities and hospitality first class. We did not want to leave. Next time it will be for longer to enjoy the relaxation and peacefulness of the lovely garden and setting. Easy location for access to restaurants.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank aglass680657
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2018

Spent one overnight in this lovely guesthouse, where the rooms were beautiful and the bed so comfortable we wanted to take it home with us. Stunning views of the mountains, great breakfast with a tremendous selection of breads and a charming hostess. If and when we come back to South Africa, Braeside will, without a doubt, be on our list, but for more than one night

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank amcfar947654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BraesideGHS, Owner at Braeside Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2018

Hi,

Thank you so much for this great review of Braeside. I have been trying to find out who wrote this but to no avail. This however does not take anything away from the fact that I am extremely grateful for your kind words.
Warm regards,
Marianna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2018

From the moment we arrived Marianna could not have been more helpful. We were welcomed like old friends and treated like family during our three night stay. All the rooms and in fact the whole house is like a beautiful heritage home. Our room with its garden and mountain view was excellent and we were able to enjoy the tranquillity on the huge veranda. The food and service could not be faulted (Cain even cleaned our car). Breakfast buffet with home made breads, lots of choices and items cooked to order was lovely and what a delight - Marianna bakes delicious cakes everyday for guests to have with afternoon tea. On arrival she recommended a great restaurant for dinner and had thoughtfully booked an option on a table for which we were most grateful as it was very busy in Swellendam that week. She also organised for a meal to be delivered to the house one evening and we ate outside. Marianna is so accommodating she even set up a table and gave us plates and cutlery with instructions not to wash it all up as she would take care of it. We will always have happy memories of Braeside.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank candgparsons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BraesideGHS, Owner at Braeside Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2018

Hi C and G,

I really missed your presence at Braeside the moment you left here. You were so kind and friendly and always right there on the veranda. May you have a wonderful and blessed life together and maybe one day Braeside (and me) will again be blessed by your visit.
Take care until we meet again.

Warmest regards,
Marianna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2018

A absolutely grand place. One could not ask for better consideration with accommodation. Close to nice eating establishments. A most enjoyable place to just relax, which is exactly what we did. And definitely the finest kind of person as hostess.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank bcarru934010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BraesideGHS, Owner at Braeside Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2018

Hi there Barry and Pam,

I wish you could have stayed longer at Braeside. It means a lot to know that my guests have enjoyed and appreciated Braeside.Maybe our paths will cross again some day.You will always be welcome here.

Warm regards,
Marianna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2018

Beautifull house, feels like Home . Marianne is a lovely women and the atmophere is great. Swellendam looks and feels like a Dutch village 100 years ago. We will come again to this super intermezzo between Capetown and the Gardenroute!

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank bkrom341971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BraesideGHS, Owner at Braeside Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2018

Hi Bert,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. I am very grateful that you enjoyed your stay and hope that you will choose Braeside again on your next visit to Swellendam.

All the best to everyone.

Marianna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews