We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and warm deko styled guest House.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Braeside Guest House
Ranked #18 of 39 Swellendam B&B and Inns
Reviewed 3 September 2017

Beautiful situated House with different rooms in romantic style. Warm welcome through the host, with drinks and fruit. We haven`t used the Pool, it was to cold outside.
The Breakfast was very good, there were self made pancakes and Marmalades, delicious!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 950johannav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (257)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 257 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2017

What a stunning place. Tastefully decorated, strong wi fi(always a important feature these days)The owners are warm, caring and attentive without being pushy. A hearty breakfast after a great night's rest, btw we came home after dinner with a hot water bottle tucked into the bed, what hospitality! In the words of the Terminator "We will be back"

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank bartlett58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BraesideGHS, Owner at Braeside Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2017

Good day John,
Thank you so much for taking the time to rate us and for your very kind review. We hope to be seeing you again very soon. Like I said on the day of your departure: 'It was an enriching experience."
Best wishes to you both!
Marianna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2017

Although we were only able to stay for one night, we thoroughly enjoyed Braeside. Marianna and Nico were the consummate hosts, helping us get settled, calling a friend to give us recommendations, and preparing an amazing breakfast the included the biggest omelettes ever. They recently took over the place and it is clear that they take great pride in the place and will continue to rejuvenate it over time.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank SaMoTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braeside_7, Manager at Braeside Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2017

Good day,

We would like to thank you for the kind review and we are so happy that you have enjoyed your stay at our home. We would also like to thank you for being such kind guests and that we can now be fulfilled for making you feel welcome - as it is one of our biggest missions at Braeside Guest House.

May you have a lovely trip further and we hope to see you soon !

Nico & Marianna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2017

We stayed one night at Braeside and were sorry that we were not able to stay longer in this lovely house to enjoy more of Marianna and Nico's wonderful hospitality. The standard of service was exceptional and the best we received during our two week stay in South Africa. It was clear that a lot of thought had gone into making the rooms as comfortable as possible and we particularly appreciated the delicious breakfast after a great night's sleep! We also discovered that our car had been washed which came as an unexpected surprise - another indication of the attention to detail which makes Braeside stand out in terms of customer service.

We wish the new owners every success going forward. We think that they have a winning formula and we look forward to making a return visit one day!

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank MC2105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braeside_7, Manager at Braeside Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2017

Good day,

Thank you for the kind review. We are so happy that you were satisfied with the service and rooms. We would like to thank you for being such kind guests. It is because of guests like you that we at Braeside Guest House enjoy what we do even more.

We will warmly welcome again you on your next visit.

Nico Nelissen
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2017

The beautiful Braeside Guest House is a romantic place to be. A real English country garden, a house like and old castlel. But most of all: the service of Marianna and her staff make you feel like you're the most important person in the world. They take care of everything. Perfect breakfast, great room and nice swiming pool. I cannot think of a better place to be!

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 860jeanninel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braeside_7, Manager at Braeside Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2017

Hi Jeanine,

Thank you so much for the kind review. You were fantastic guests to entertain. We hope to see you again.

Nico,
Braeside Guest House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swellendam hotels
0.3 km away
Aan de Oever Guesthouse
Aan de Oever Guesthouse
#3 of 39 in Swellendam
527 reviews
0.2 km away
Cypress Cottage
Cypress Cottage
#7 of 39 in Swellendam
246 reviews
3.2 km away
Swellendam Country Lodge
Swellendam Country Lodge
#9 of 39 in Swellendam
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
De Companjie Guesthouse & Restaurant
0.6 km away
Babette Bed and Breakfast
Babette Bed and Breakfast
#4 of 39 in Swellendam
151 reviews
3.2 km away
Bloomestate
Bloomestate
#1 of 39 in Swellendam
627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Braeside Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Braeside Guest House

Address: 13 Van Oudtshoorn Road, Swellendam 6740, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Swellendam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Swellendam
Price Range: HK$625 - HK$851 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Braeside Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Now under new ownership this Beautiful Cape Edwardian house set in a large garden with views over the Langeberg Mountains and the Marloth Nature Reserve was built in 1901, Braeside has a lot of charm and character and is a haven of tranquillity with 5 very nice individually styled en-suite bedrooms. We are situated in a very peaceful and safe area of the picturesque town of Swellendam, in the Western Cape province of South Africa. We are a 4-Star graded property (Tourism Grading Council). We offer gracious, personal service in a beautiful setting. Our breakfast consists of a continental buffet composed of cereals, yogurt, fresh fruits, various local cheeses, cold meats, fruit juices. We also pride ourselves in serving several homemade products such as: freshly baked organic breads, orgnanic cake, organic sweet and savory muffins, jams and marmalade. The cooked part of our breakfast will be made on request. It will consist of our fresh free range eggs either fried, scrambled, poached, or boiled; we can also provide very nice omelettes with several seasonings, bacon, mushrooms, sausage and grilled tomatoes Braeside is the ideal place to spend a couple of days exploring the Overberg region from visits to the coast to the beautiful winelands, all within easy reach. Or you can just spend a day relaxing by the pool, in the lovely gardens or beautiful patio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Braeside Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing