We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Braeside Guest House
Ranked #16 of 39 Swellendam B&B and Inns
Reviewed 19 November 2015

Alain very welcoming host. Our bedroom was great and just like photo online with many African curios. Super breakfast served on lovely outside terrace. Within easy walking distance to restaurant in evening. Great place to stop half way from Cape Town to Garden Route.

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank marilynb960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (262)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 51 of 262 reviews

Reviewed 18 November 2015

Very nice garden!
Old, recently renovated traditional building!
Excellent breakfast!
Friendly, professional and communicative owner!
Good dining restaurants within walking distance!
Conveniently located!

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank 326petarg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2015

Owner Alain had just returned from his native Ssitzerland when we stopped for one night at Braeside while touring South Africa and made us extremely welcome. The guest house is spectacularly situated above Swellendam but still within walking distance of good restaurants. Our rooms were clean, comfortable and packed with African art and artefacts. Our breakfast table -- on the verandah -- was a work of art, and breakfast itself was probably the best we had during a two-week holiday in South Africa. The eggs were free range fresh from Alain's small clutch of chickens in the garden. As well as a comfortable lounge, Braeside offers an inside dining room, a balcony with stunning views of the nearby mountains, a plunge pool in the rear courtyard, and Alain's impressive collection of ostrich eggs displayed through the house. Anyone looking for comfortable accommodation with a warm and attentive welcome in Swellendam will not be disappointed with Braeside Guest House.

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Inchcaper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2015

Lovely house, we had the mountain and garden view room ( a very large room), not the best mountain view - the trees have grown, but you can still see them and a lovely garden view complete with chickens and ducks. Their eggs were delicious for breakfast the next morning and don't worry about the cockerel Alain moves it away for the night and doesn't let it out until about 10am. Lovely old colonial style room with "antique" furniture and modern amenities and updated bathroom. Alain was very friendly and helpful, booking restaurants etc. Breakfast was fantastic home made jams, bread and muffins, and full cooked, served in the morning sun on the terrace. Very handy for restaurants at the east end of town all walking distance. 2 nights went so fast, hope to be back one day, fully recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Snaphappy2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2015

Very nice house with a wonderful garden (and chickens!). The rooms are spacious and clean and well decorated. Alain is a great host and made sure everything about our visit was perfect. We're looking forward to returning and enjoying the area.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swellendam hotels
0.3 km away
A Hilltop Country Retreat
A Hilltop Country Retreat
#10 of 39 in Swellendam
189 reviews
0.6 km away
Babette Bed and Breakfast
Babette Bed and Breakfast
#4 of 39 in Swellendam
158 reviews
2.4 km away
Arumvale Country House
Arumvale Country House
#5 of 39 in Swellendam
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 km away
Bloomestate
Bloomestate
#1 of 39 in Swellendam
632 reviews
0.3 km away
Aan de Oever Guesthouse
Aan de Oever Guesthouse
#3 of 39 in Swellendam
534 reviews
0.5 km away
The Hideaway
The Hideaway
#17 of 39 in Swellendam
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Braeside Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Braeside Guest House

Address: 13 Van Oudtshoorn Road, Swellendam 6740, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Swellendam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Swellendam
Price Range: HK$602 - HK$875 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Braeside Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Now under new ownership this Beautiful Cape Edwardian house set in a large garden with views over the Langeberg Mountains and the Marloth Nature Reserve was built in 1901, Braeside has a lot of charm and character and is a haven of tranquillity with 5 very nice individually styled en-suite bedrooms. We are situated in a very peaceful and safe area of the picturesque town of Swellendam, in the Western Cape province of South Africa. We are a 4-Star graded property (Tourism Grading Council). We offer gracious, personal service in a beautiful setting. Our breakfast consists of a continental buffet composed of cereals, yogurt, fresh fruits, various local cheeses, cold meats, fruit juices. We also pride ourselves in serving several homemade products such as: freshly baked organic breads, orgnanic cake, organic sweet and savory muffins, jams and marmalade. The cooked part of our breakfast will be made on request. It will consist of our fresh free range eggs either fried, scrambled, poached, or boiled; we can also provide very nice omelettes with several seasonings, bacon, mushrooms, sausage and grilled tomatoes Braeside is the ideal place to spend a couple of days exploring the Overberg region from visits to the coast to the beautiful winelands, all within easy reach. Or you can just spend a day relaxing by the pool, in the lovely gardens or beautiful patio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Braeside Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing