We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Braeside Bed and breakfast Swellendam”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Braeside Guest House
Ranked #14 of 39 Swellendam B&B and Inns
Reviewed 15 September 2015

Rooms are well equipped with newly decorated 5 star decor. Charming old world house with lovely garden. Braeside is centrally situated. The owner Alain made us feel very welcome and breakfast was excellent. We highly recommend a stay at Braeside.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Retief2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (262)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

54 - 58 of 262 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2015 via mobile

We only stayed here one night on our way from Cape Town to Oudtshoorn, but we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. Lovely little guesthouse set in a beautiful garden. Delicious breakfast, one of the best we had during our visit to South Africa! Great rooms and good location to the little town of Swellendam. A very enjoyable stay.

Stayed: March 2015
Thank Travel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2015

In April 2015 I stayed at Braeside for the 3rd time in 9 years. Although the ownership and management had recently changed it was as fantastic as ever. Alain, the new owner was welcoming and continued with Fiona, to provide the attentive service that makes this house so special. Immediately on arrival fresh tea is made, served with biscuits and brought to the room even though there are tea making facilities.

The house in comfortable, beautiful, set in stunning gardens. The Lavender Room is spacious and private as it is at the rear of the house and the bathroom is huge. There is also space to sit in armchairs instead of perching on the bed.

Breakfast is the very best I have experienced anywhere on my travels in Cape Town and the Western Cape. A full selection of all you could possibly want at the beginning of the day, beautifully presented and served on the verandah. White tablecloths, pretty cutlery, jams and butter in dishes. Nothing prepacked here!

Good luck to Alain! But I hope he continues to provide the good old fashioned service and comfort. If so, I will be back next time. No one could fail to be impressed with a stay at Braeside.

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sonia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2015

We stayed in a beautiful old house with gorgeous gardens. The Lady of the house was very friendly and gave us a very good recommendation for a restaurant in town. Breakfast was delicious. Unfortunately we coud only stay one night!

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Elisabeth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2015

We were made exceptionally welcome by Alan who provided an interesting tour of the house. The room was spacious and comfortable with all amenities. Excellent, large choice of breakfast was provided. Wonderful value for money. Braeside is highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Graham C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swellendam hotels
0.3 km away
A Hilltop Country Retreat
A Hilltop Country Retreat
#10 of 39 in Swellendam
189 reviews
0.6 km away
Babette Bed and Breakfast
Babette Bed and Breakfast
#4 of 39 in Swellendam
157 reviews
2.4 km away
Arumvale Country House
Arumvale Country House
#5 of 39 in Swellendam
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 km away
Bloomestate
Bloomestate
#1 of 39 in Swellendam
631 reviews
0.3 km away
Aan de Oever Guesthouse
Aan de Oever Guesthouse
#2 of 39 in Swellendam
534 reviews
0.5 km away
The Hideaway
The Hideaway
#16 of 39 in Swellendam
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Braeside Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Braeside Guest House

Address: 13 Van Oudtshoorn Road, Swellendam 6740, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Swellendam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Swellendam
Price Range: HK$601 - HK$866 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Braeside Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Now under new ownership this Beautiful Cape Edwardian house set in a large garden with views over the Langeberg Mountains and the Marloth Nature Reserve was built in 1901, Braeside has a lot of charm and character and is a haven of tranquillity with 5 very nice individually styled en-suite bedrooms. We are situated in a very peaceful and safe area of the picturesque town of Swellendam, in the Western Cape province of South Africa. We are a 4-Star graded property (Tourism Grading Council). We offer gracious, personal service in a beautiful setting. Our breakfast consists of a continental buffet composed of cereals, yogurt, fresh fruits, various local cheeses, cold meats, fruit juices. We also pride ourselves in serving several homemade products such as: freshly baked organic breads, orgnanic cake, organic sweet and savory muffins, jams and marmalade. The cooked part of our breakfast will be made on request. It will consist of our fresh free range eggs either fried, scrambled, poached, or boiled; we can also provide very nice omelettes with several seasonings, bacon, mushrooms, sausage and grilled tomatoes Braeside is the ideal place to spend a couple of days exploring the Overberg region from visits to the coast to the beautiful winelands, all within easy reach. Or you can just spend a day relaxing by the pool, in the lovely gardens or beautiful patio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Braeside Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing